We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at the Bay Club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2006

We stayed at The Bay Club in June with our daughter and son-in-law. We'd been to the Big Island before, and had a great time. We booked our stay through the HGVC. We found the condo to be spacious and well appointed. Since we eat gluten free, it was great to have a place where we could cook our meals, especially breakfast since the gluten free offerings in most hotels are limited to eggs of some sort. We did have to drive a bit to get to a grocery store, but we understand that a Whole Foods Market is going to be built near the Kings Shops, so that will make food shopping easier.The condo was well maintained, and the only complaint we had was that the huge master bedroom tub had not been cleaned between occupants and still had a ring. We were aware that we'd have to drive to a beach, as we had stayed at the Waikaloa Village in the past. We were happy enough with our experience that we decided to buy a time share at this location. We especially appreciated the low key sales presentation at this site. We've been to several before and they always put on the pressure--not here. All in all, we had a great vacation and look forward to many more trips.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Mamashu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 978 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2006

Can't fault the Hilton Grand Vacation Club at Waikoloa beach resort. Beautiful rooms with a massive onsuite bathroom. The ground floor units walk right out to the golf course. The resort is very quiet with some great pools. Minimal beach which is down at the Hilton hotel. Friendly staff and a fun Mahalo night - singing and hula.


  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank canadakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2006

We stayed at the Bay Club in May through Hilton Grand Vacations. Our original reservation was for a new HGV unit, but we were "relocated" to the Bay Club due to construction delays. We were a little apprehensive after reading reviews here, but followed the suggestion to request a remodeled unit. And it was great! Very large, especially for we four adults. It was freshly painted, and most of the furniture seemed pretty new, too. The two bedrooms are separated by the living area, providing more than adequate privacy. We were in a corner unit on the top (third) floor, and our large, L-shaped lanai was wonderful. (Lots of beautiful birds thought so, too. We always kept binoculars with us!) We faced the golf course, and also had a wonderful view of the mountains.

The negatives were minor compared to the comfort of the condo:
- Sticky Kitchen cabinets (I felt compelled to wash my hands each time I opened a cabinet or drawer)
- The king bed in the master bedroom was past its useful life (it sagged)

We would definitely return here. May was a great time as occupancy seemed pretty low so it was quiet. (A minor irritant: mid-stay an occupant next door on the lower floor was smoking a cigar on the lanai in the mornings, so we had to close our windows to prevent the smoke from entering our condo, especially our bedroom. Yuck!) These condos are older & larger than the new HGV condos, and the lanais are also much larger. We all preferred Bay Club!

If you want beach to walk on, it's not around here. (Too much lava.) The Hilton resort is huge & interesting, kind of like a tropical Disneyland. It was a 10-minute walk from our condo, so an easy diversion.

One more thing: the snack bar by the main pool made the best MaiTai I had on the Big Island!

16  Thank TrishD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JohnsonsEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco
136
Reviewed April 19, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2006

Stayed: May 2005
12  Thank tiffnmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank johnners987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.3 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.5 mi away
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.1 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Paniolo Greens Resort
Paniolo Greens Resort
#2 of 13 in Waikoloa
826 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.5 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Address: 69-450 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort is a spectacular hotel on the Big Island of Hawaii and is designed to be an ideal Hawaiian haven in the heart of Waikoloa. Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of the Bay Club resort provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hawaii visitors staying at the Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort will enjoy spacious one- and two-bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. The suites offer all of the convenience of home including separate living and dining areas, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer and dryer and private lanai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Bay Club Waikoloa Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing