We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay. The facility was immaculate and everyone was very friendly. The staff was very informative about the area and gave us lots of good ideas on what to do.

There are grocery stores within the resort area so you don't need to find a store in Kona before traveling to the resort.

The kitchen was very well stocked and staff was always available if something was needed. Beach towels are available in the rooms as well as all the normal towels. It also had a washer and dryer if needed.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and were were able to walk from our patio to the grounds. However...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
There are newer reviews for The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 957 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

Large one bed room units only a block from the Hilton hotel which is a MUST see resort that has a dolphin interactive pool and exquisite art work. Evening entertainment at the Bay Club pool several nights and $5 drinks if you buy the glass. Although the bar is not open every day. Definitely will go back in a heartbeat. You need a car to take advantage of trips to the Kona coffee farms, macadamia nut factory, and Volcano National Park. Also Costco is near the airport so stock up on food and Kona coffee ($20 per pound instead of $30+) before driving to the resort.Ask the consierge for recommendation on which coffee farms to visit. One even lets you roast your own beans for a fee but it was worth it along with the coffee lesson.

Room Tip: Building 1-4 if you want to walk to the Hilton Hotel otherwise there is a timely shuttle about every...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I read reviews on the Bay Club before heading on my vacation and I was nervous. When I arrived I was pleasantly surprised to see a quiet, serene property with no construction going on, modern updated rooms and very accommodating. There is entertainment at the pools in the early evening and deals on Mai Tai drinks. An easy walk to the Hilton Waioloa. Great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank HulaHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The condos have been rennovated and are just beautiful with big wrap-around lanai. The pools are heated. They have free entertainment in the evenings with drink specials. Would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fredandval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed at The Bay Club in mid November 2011 in a 2BR, 2 B unit in building one. The unit was well appointed with a comfortable bed. Our second floor place has nice decks overlooking open space and golf course. One of the feral kitties feeding stations was also right outside our building. We enjoyed watching them and being entertained by their antics. But don’t feed them, for your sake and theirs - at check-in you will be warned about a $250 fine!
Check in was smooth and we were able to get in early. Everything in the unit had been recently updated. The unit kitchen was odd - no drawers and limited cabinets but still sufficient. A washer /dryer were located in a small alcove off the kitchen. Both baths were large and well stocked with towels, shampoo, soap, etc. Nice large deck and plenty of free parking.
The resort had several pools but we didn’t utilize any of them.
The downside was no beach but that seems to pretty common on the Big island. A car is definitely needed. We drove to Mauna Kea Beach located a few miles north of the resort. Beautiful beach that is not crowded (limited public parking), clean, and has restrooms/outdoor shower available. We rented beach chairs from the store in Kings Village (Motorcycle place) – very reasonable. Costco is located south of the resort closer to the airport. The grocery store in Queens Village shopping area is also nice and offers lots of choices.
Nice eating place – Quinn’s Almost by the Sea in Kona across from King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. A little drive from the resort but worth it.
They offer nightly/daily activities - ice cream social, happy hour, etc. We did have several calls about ‘activities’ but we just ignored them. Aside from not being interested we wanted to avoid any potential sales pitch.
We did a timeshare exchange so I can’t comment on the value of the rental rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the parking lot and, an upper floor. There are elevators.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank travelkidPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This property is on the western (dry) side of the Big Island of Hawaii, about 18 miles north of Kona. I spent 12 days at this resort and loved it for a number of reasons. My two-bedroom unit was very large. The master bath had a spa tub and separate shower and was attached to the bedroom, but there was another bathroom adjacent to the 2nd bedroom. This allowed two couples to stay here with a lot of privacy. The kitchen was small but well appointed with a full kitchen - microwave, range, full size refrigerator, garbage disposal, etc. All of the kitchen utensils and some appliances such as toaster, coffee maker and rice cooker were provided. We prepared Thanksgiving dinner there with no problem. The balcony is spacious with a great view of the golf course, palm trees and in the distance the ocean. I was told (don't know if this is true) that the Bay Club was originally built as condo units and so the units here are larger than the timeshare units at the Hilton Grand Vacations Club next door or Kingsland just up the road. There is a pool and several hot tubs available to guests.

We only had one minor problem - a frozen ice maker in the fridge - which was promptly fixed by housekeeping. This unit is an easy walk to the beautiful grounds of the Hilton Waikaloa Hotel and short drive (or walk if you like) to shops, markets and restaurants within Waikaloa.
It is also an easy drive (2-3 miles) to several beautiful beaches, including Hapuna Beach which Conde Nast Traveler has rated as the best beach in the United States. All beaches in Hawaii are public beaches. We found this a perfect anchor point for exploring the rest of island. It is isolated when you want away, but convenient to many other points of interest.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank barger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our family of four (kids 5 and 9) had a great stay in the Bay Club during the Christmas break. I highly recommend checking out all the beaches along the Kohala coast.
The interior is tastefully renovated, but the old appliances, e.g. microwave and dishwasher, sadly remains. The room is much larger than the two HGVCs in Waikoloa. Lanai is generously sized, and our room has golf fairway views.
As we are also working from the room (in the morning/evening), the internet is frustratingly slow! As a comparison, when we checked into King's Land after the Bay Club, the speed is much, much faster.
As we stayed on the first floor, the footsteps on the second floor is clearly audible, i.e. partition is not good at all. Frustrating when there's a young family upstairs, esp when they wakes up and start running from room to room at 6am.
Bay Club shares a pool with HGVC's Kohala Suites ( and have NO access to Hilton's pool), and although tastefully designed, the pool is rather small.

Room Tip: Pick a second floor room, which HGVC deem "premium".
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeffreyT_7293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.0 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Address: 69-450 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5706
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort is a spectacular hotel on the Big Island of Hawaii and is designed to be an ideal Hawaiian haven in the heart of Waikoloa. Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of the Bay Club resort provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hawaii visitors staying at the Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort will enjoy spacious one- and two-bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. The suites offer all of the convenience of home including separate living and dining areas, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer and dryer and private lanai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Bay Club Waikoloa Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing