We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Eudora, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in unit 6C for a week. It was beautiful, but the owners also had all the comforts at home from pizza pans to a cooler we could take to the beach. They also had a cupboard with some of the necessitites like sugar, oatmeal, spices, etc... All of this was much much more than we ever expected! Beautiful ocean view!!! The pool was amazing and the unit was so clean and amazingly well equipped. If we are ever fortunate enough to come back to this beautiful island again,this is where I will stay!!! Thanks to the owners for ,making our stay feel like a home away from home! Aloha!!!

Room Tip: Unit 6C is the BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky3851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    77
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
235
98
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
417 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This 21or so buildings clustered with 8 upstairs and downstairs homes ( some a combo of both) is next to the hilton condos but seems very secluded. Behind artsy metal gates at the beginning of Waikoloa Beach Drive, you are greeted by very,very friendly and helpful staff at the small office just inside the gates( hang a very sharp left). Your unit is owned and of course the decor, upgrades , bedding, amount of towels and beach equipment is determined and supplied by the individual owners. Our 17 c unit, a ground floor two bdrm two bath ( master suite and second bdrm, which had two twins that had to be pushed together for the second of two adult couples) was well furnished with colorful island decor , artwork and island flora photographs) washer/ dryer was a great plus ( apparently a staple as these are homes inhabited what seems to be more rather than less byntheir owners) There were two beach chairs, two boogie boards and no beach towels, but it got us started ( 6 or so mile drive to Hapuna beach yielded a rental location for addl chairs and beach umbrella). Hali'i Kai had very much a residential community feel rather than a vacation resort.. Well more like a residence with benefits. Very, very quiet during this September month ( bar/grill restaurant on site staff said October would bring the Ironman competition crowds (HQ Kailua-Kona nearby-ish, and of course the holiday crowds starting in November thru the first of the year) But in this definitely non - fall fall, we had most of the place to ourselves. The pool/ bar/grill and lounge area is small and intimate with graduated levels of 3' only deep water meant for lounging only. The open sided workout room is adjacent and has gorgeous views ( would definitely take your mind off of working out) immaculately landscaped and manicured grounds ( that soft spongey grass you dont find anywhere else) made this a very relaxing spot.

Room Tip: Only a few buildings actually border the ocean. Although building 17 faced an interior "road&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wdee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were traveling as a family of 6 (2 couples and 2 teenage girls) so chose Halii Kai because the accommodation fit our needs so well. We had booked a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment but when I called in advance to get the entry codes (we were arriving too late in the day to check in at the office) we had been upgraded to a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom townhouse, a great surprise.

The townhouse was wonderful and was the perfect place for us. The townhouses are on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the building and have a deck on each level, the main deck off the living/dining area and a second deck off the master bedroom. The master bedroom and 3rd bedroom (which in our unit had two single beds, perfect for the 2 teenage girls) are upstairs and the other double bedroom is on the main floor. Having 3 bathrooms was also great especially when we came back from the beach. The unit has a nice tiled entry way, a full size laundry room and a large open plan kitchen, dining area and lounge. The whole place was very well equipped, with 6 beach towels, 2 beach chairs, some beach mats, beach toys for younger kids as well as a good selection of snorkel gear. The only thing we had to buy was a cool bag for taking food and drinks to the beach (we left that behind for the next guests). The kitchen was also well equipped with pretty much anything you need and there was a full size grill on the balcony which we used several times. Everything worked perfectly and seemed well maintained and the decor was beautiful. The whole resort is quiet and beautifully maintained with lush landscaping. 18F is about half way along the resort and we felt it was the perfect building because it was next to the tennis courts (so no other building on that side) and also didn't have another building directly opposite, instead there was a view across the golf course to the Hilton. It was a lovely walk to the beautiful ocean club to use the gym and/or the pool area. You need an access card to get into the ocean club (the same card opens the front gate of the resort or you can use the code number, the unit also has a keycode lock so we didn't have to worry about carrying keys) which keeps it private. Near to the ocean club there is a path which with a short walk leads along the edge of the golf course to the Hilton.

Overall we had a fabulous vacation with the perfect home from home. We can't wait to go there again .

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyHop_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

this was our first stop on my wife and my honeymoon island-hopping adventure. we got there later than they were open (8pm), so they gave us all the codes to get to our unit. it was BEAUTIFUL. while it was way more than we needed (2 br, 2 bath), it was like moving into a brand new condo. not only is the inside beautiful, but the outside location was great as well - while you're in the touristy area of waikoloa, you're at the very end of the road, so it seems very secluded and quiet in comparison to the rest of the road. the pool area was fantastic, as well, with some beautiful views of the coast. everything just seemed so new and well-kept. we almost didn't even want to leave the unit to go see the big island (don't worry, we did anyway)!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattison30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here (a family of eight). We had a three bedroom condo and it worked out great. The shopping is close by for food and general necessities. The check in place was a little difficult to find (it's just as you pass the security gate). However, overall a great experience and the staff was quick to respond to needs. We would diff innately stay here again (although we might request to be closer to the pool - we were in 4E.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlsa0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent 4 weeks in 13B. It was dirty and in ill repair (broken dishwasher and barbecue, mold in shower and refrigerator, piles of moldy and outdated foot in refrigerator.) The linens and towels were old and very stained. We purchased a new set of king sheets from Macey's on our 2nd day. We also purchased light bulbs and cleaning supplies out of pocket. The mold in the shower will require a company experienced in removing mold as the mold poses a health risk. The tile floors and carpet were disgustingly dirty. The owners ignored our early concerns. They also ignored our request for the refund of our $250 security deposit. We advised them we were filing a complaint with the Hawaii Office of Consumer Protection which we have done. They now say a check is in the mail. Not holding our breath.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Vhonchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 with a family of 3. We booked a two-bedroom condo and when we checked in and got to a our room we had a three-bedroom (no complaints here!) We requested a condo close to the pool and we stayed in building 16- really close to the pool! It was great. And in the closet there were beach chairs and snorkel gear and beach towels etc etc, that was honestly fantastic. We didn't have to worry about snorkel gear at all during our short stay on this island, and who doesnt love a good beach chair? The rooms were a good size and the bathrooms and kitchen were beautifully upgraded. Having a lanai just outside the living room with a BBQ was GREAT! We grilled up food every night (which attracted a mongoose and a stray cat- that we did not feed) This property was really quiet and comfortable which i LOVED. The pool is beautiful with great ocean views- my only complaint was that the pool was a lot smaller than I expected and therefore a bit crowded with lots of kids.Overall this is definitely somewhere I would recommend to stay- Thanks Halii Kai!

Room Tip: Request a room close to the pool- the property is very loooong and if you stay further away you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
21.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
6.6 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
1.7 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
2.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach

Property: Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
Address: 69-1029 Nawahine Pl, Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halii Kai at Waikoloa is a recently developed 29-acre oceanfront resort, stretched along Waikoloa's Beach Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean. Spacious two- and three-bedroom villas and townhomes are luxuriously furnished. Amenities include a cascading pool, private restaurant, fitness cabana, walking trails, and a basketball/tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Vacatia, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halii Kai Resort At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing