We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved, loved, loved the luau!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Sunset Luau

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Sunset Luau
Book In Advance
Book Now
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gather as the sun sets over 'Anaeho'omalu Bay and delight in classic Polynesian entertainment featuring live music, imu ceremony (the unveiling of our main course from our underground oven), traditional dances of the South Pacific and a delectable selection of contemporary and Hawaiian fare with a full open bar. Held every Saturday and Wednesday. The festivities begin at 5pm.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“loved, loved, loved the luau!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The music was great, outfits soooo colorful. Beautiful show, with great food and drinks. perfect timing with the sunset and the fire show. Gorgeous performers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    56
    37
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hawaii”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We loved this. Got a lot of information and history of Hawaii and the Hawaiien culture. It was lots of fun and the host is just so nice and funny.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank olgaprins_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed ourselves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had a great time at the luau. We paid extra for the premium package, so we got flower leis, front seat tables, appetizers, and first to the buffet. Only thing was- not that many people paid extra, so we sat alone at the table- which in a way was nice, but in a way not.

The drinks were good- I had a Blue Hawaiian and some other delicious orange drink, and my husband had a Mai Tai. Lines do get long there, so prepare to wait- try to get there first and order all your drinks at once!

The food was good- rather average, like every other luau I've been to. You can definitely stuff yourself full; dessert was tasty as well. If you sit on the right side of the luau, you'll have better views of the ocean- the sunset while we were there was amazing.

The entertainment was great- watching the pig get shoveled out was fun, and the show was great. The fire dancer did lose his fire baton a couple times- but despite the few messups, the show was still good. We were entertained! You are out of there by about 7pm as well- which we liked. Get there early as well to walk the grounds- they are beautiful! (Oh- and it seemed that parking was free during that time as well.)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary4613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City CO
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food and Good Performance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We recently attended the Sunset Luau at the Marriott and had a very good experience. The evening started with an open bar with virtually any type of mixed drink and beer that the hotel served. This was nice, as sometimes at these types of shows, they will only serve the standard Mai Tai's and whatever type of cheap drink that goes along with the theme, but that was not the case here. The food was excellent and prepared well, and the orderly fashion in which they served everyone was great. They were able to get all of the guest served in a short amount of time, which was impressive.
The show was good and they did a nice job of explaining the Polynesian customs. The entertainment was nicely done and the costumes seemed very realistic.
I would not hesitate to recommend this luau to anyone staying in the Waikoloa area, who is looking to attend a luau during their stay.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoHiwayBuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
425 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Watching For Free”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We are staying at the Marriott and attending the Luau right now from our beach front balcony. We did not have any food, but it looks like people are enjoying the food and of course the open bar! The music is good and so far the hula dancers are very good. Watched the flame throwers practice, he dropped some in practice, hopefully he catches the right end of the stick later! Looks like a good time and we are enjoying for free from up here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anette H, Manager at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Sunset Luau, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott. Not only were you able to view the sunset from your balcony, you were able to see our wonderful Luau. What a great way to spend your evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikoloa Beach Marriott Sunset Luau also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Sunset Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing