We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Nice digs, but Cold Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2009

This is an upscale condo complex. We stayed for one week, with 5 year old twins. They look forward to swimming pools: unfortunately, my only beef with Hawaii is that many many places choose not to heat their pools. This pool was freezing. We never saw any adults swim, only children. And they had chattering teeth after only 15-20 minutes, so we spent most of our time in the hot tub (children under 8 not officially allowed, but it was the only place to warm up). It really doesn't matter that it is 80 degrees outside. We also visited the nearby Waikaloa Hilton, and spent the day in their pools, also freezing (all adults we met there were not happy with that either). I think we're a bit grumpy about this. The other problem is that this part of the big island is windy.
The good things: beautiful beach (A-bay) easy walking distance, beautiful condo, right on the grass where the kids could run and play while we relaxed on the lanai. You can see how beautiful the insides of the condos are from pictures online. THe grounds are well maintained. Pretty. I imagine it is really busy in the summer (pretty quiet for us).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 240 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2008

Just returned from a one-week stay at Kolea, a resort located in between the Marriot and the HIlton in the Waikoloa beach resort area in Kona. These are privately owned condos and houses, many available for rent via vrbo.com, koleavacations.com, etc. We used koleavacations.com. The properties available on that site are owned by a lady named Eileen.

We rented villa 2d and were extremely happy with everything about our stay. Eileen is an interior decorator and decorated our villa herself...just absolutely beautiful, tasteful decor. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained and we had a slight partial ocean view from our lanai. There were 6 adults, 2 young kids (on air beds) staying in this condo, and we had plenty of room. The top-of-the-line appliances, BBQ, cookware, etc. made it very easy for us to cook for all 8 of us, including 2 picky children and we saved hundreds of dollars by not having to eat in restaurants constantly. The beds in every room were super comfy, blow dryers and shampoo in every bathroom, beach towels provided, ice chest to take on day trips, plenty of regular towels...we were able to pack light.

I chose this place because I was trying to please 8 people with different needs, ages 4 through 70. It turned out to be perfect, as I had hoped. The grandparents were able to enjoy quiet time hanging out on the lanai or taking short walks down to the beach. A 15-min walk down the beach path one direction takes you to the Hilton, which is a 64-acre property and there are lots of paths to walk there, a tram or boat to take if they got tired. A 5-min walk down the sidewalk instead of the beach, also got them to the Hilton grounds. A 3 min walk down the beach or sidewalk the other direction took us to the Marriot, where we enjoyed their Luau (aloholic drinks included) without having to worry about driving home. There was a short, glass-bottom boat tour available on our beach, 40 minutes in length, $21.50 adults, $10.50 children, so grandma, grandpa and the 4-year-old were able to go out and view the sea turtles, plentiful fish, etc. without having to snorkel.

The Kolea beach club, (a 1 min. walk from villa 2d) is the pool area/beach access for guests staying at Kolea. There is a shaded area with tables for people working on lap tops or just looking for shade, a small sand-bottom wading pool with a waterfall for young kids and a bigger pool for everyone else. Lots of loungers and towels readily available. This pool area is set back from the ocean, less than 1000 feet so your view from the pool area is of the ancient fish ponds, lots of trees and the ocean. A 30-second walk down the beach path and you are on the beach.

The other adults and the 9-yr-old in our party spent most of our time hanging on the beach and snorkelling. Rental was only $14 for 4 hours, very reasonable. I ran into 3 sea turtles while snorkelling and saw lots of bright, colorful fish. Since the condo was only a short walk, I enjoyed the convenience of being able to walk back to the condo to refill drinks, etc., didn't even bother bringing the cooler down to the beach. Also saw several sea turtles while snorkelling as well as a few resting on the beach here and there.

A 10-min walk gets you to the King's and Queen's shops. Food court at the Queen's offers reasonably priced quick food and there are several restaurants and a big convenience market which was very handy.

6 of the people in our party took a trip down to the active volcano and were disappointed, as it is very difficult to actually see anything you see in the fabulous pictures when you go in by car. They saw lots of puffs of smoke, but our understanding now is you can't see lava flowing unless you're there on the right day or take a helicopter/boat tour.

The highlight of my trip was the $130 dolphin swim we did through "Sunlight on Water", HIGHLY recommend this company if you want to jump into the ocean wearing snorkel gear and literally swim with the Hawaiin spinner dolphins. It was one of the most exciting things I've ever done and the best $150 (including a tip) that I've ever spent.

8  Thank LDJCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

We recently stayed at Kolea for part of our honeymoon from Nov 14-19. I wanted to write a thorough review of the experience since there are not a lot of reviews/info on the property. First, we booked through Outrigger - they only manage 3 units at this property. The rest are privately owned or rented through agencies. We found that booking directly through Outrigger was extremely easy - basically you pay 30 days in advance and pick up the keys at the Kings Shops in Waikoloa and that's it. Also, there had been mention of construction noise in the past - the construction is done on the villas - there is no noise to deal with.

When we arrived we found that Kolea was the ONLY condo property right next to the beach. Kolea and the Marriott share the beach at Anaeho'omalu Bay (A-bay - fantastic beach - more on that later)...the rest of the Waikoloa properties are further back and off the water. We had booked a 2 bedroom condo (15M) and found it to be extremely well furnished and turned out. There is a very large kitchen with brand new appliances, a large living room with a sliding glass door (more like a wall) that opens up to a fully furnished lanai, two very large bath rooms (both with separate walk in showers), small laundry, and then two large bedrooms. The lanai was gorgeous and included Viking grill and range, a wine fridge and small wet bar.
15M is on the 4th floor overlooking the Marriott and other Kolea units - very nice but not any ocean views...

We were about a 1 minute walk through the property to the pool area. The pool consists of a nice sized infinity pool, kids pool (sand bottom with waterfall), a workout area and a large lanai for barbequing (although every unit has a bbq so no one was using the one at the pool area). The pool area is right next to A-bay and the historic fish ponds that sit in front of A-bay. There is a small path that runs from the pool through the lava rock to A-bay. The views are amazing overlooking A-bay and the path runs to the Marriott and then North to the Hilton Waikoloa - this walk is not to be missed at sunset...

A-bay was fantastic - it is a mostly calm inlet that is fantastic for snorkeling/swimming - the beach is very large and there is plenty of room in the bay to also do other water sports - but it was never crowded. There is a rental hut right there for snorkel gear, boat tours, etc...the place is loaded with sea turtles that come up to sun on the beach. When snorkeling you will see them in the shallows also. The bay also offers some of the best sunsets on the island - the Kohala coast is on the west side and sunsets on the bay are not to be missed.

I have stayed at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel and the Islands at Waikoloa (condo) previously and this was by far the nicest property on the Big Island I have stayed at. I was a bit concerned before arriving as there was not many reviews of Kolea and the Outrigger website definitely does not do it justice. I have visited the Big Island three other times and have stayed in both hotels and condos - this was by far the nicest property I have stayed at and it is the nicest property in Waikoloa. You will spend more than staying at the Marriott, Hilton or up at Hapuna but it is definitely worth it.

Please view the attached photos for more.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nwated07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

My family just returned from a weeks stay at Kolea. Our travel party consisted of 4 adults and 3 children ages 14, 4, and 2. This is our second condo stay in Hawaii, and our first on the Big Island. We learned from our first stay at Wailea Beach Villas that a “super premium” condo is far and away a better value than renting the necessary 2 rooms at a high end hotel.

Kolea is an outstanding property. We stayed in a 3 BR gound level unit that offered plenty of space for our entire party. We called ahead and had a crib and 2 tubs of age appropriate toys waiting for us. The area is a secure gated community close to amenities and restaurants at the Queen and King shops. The landscaping is well maintained and showcases local plant varieties.

If you have a ground floor unit be prepared to encounter a large number of feral (stray) cats. They are quite friendly, and will hang out in the vicinity if they sense that a snack is on the way.

The pool area is adequate. The pool ranges from 3 feet in the shallow end to 4 feet in the “deep” end. Very kid friendly! There are perhaps 20 comfortable lounge chairs poolside with another 10 or so in the periphery. It was very slow during our stay yet a time or two the area and pool seemed full. It may be an issue during a busier time of the year. Pool towels are provided.

The sand bottom kid pool is excellent. There is a large grassy area adjacent for parents or nannies to sit and watch the action.

The workout room is an open structure next to the pool with 2 ellipticals, a treadmill, and a recumbent bike. No weights.

A Bay is a short trail away. There are plenty of beach chairs from the Marriott to use, and an activity center with tours, kayaks, etc. is available. There are lots of sea turtles to view daily.

Now on to 10d.

We booked this unit based in part on its designation as “partial ocean view”. In fact, it is not. It is directly in front of the pool building. Attached is a picture from our patio.

There is water visible if you look just below the gazebo roof in the second picture. In my mind, this is a garden view unit. However, both ground floor units in building 8 just a few feet away offer views across the pool area and to the beach. Building 7 has nice views directly to the water as well, as long as Lot 6 remains vacant and unbuilt.

The interior of 10d is nicely appointed. It has a carpeted floor, while most other units have tile. The beds were comfortable. Additionally, there are snorkel sets (1 adult, 2 child), boogie boards, and pool/beach toys in the garage that appear to have been donated by prior tenants.

There are only 2 issues regarding this unit. 1. The televisions provided were tiny (26”). In this day an age I think a 42” is minimum. The set in the master bedroom (no attached dvd player) was nonfunctional during our stay. 2. The reason we and perhaps others choose a condo is to take advantage of the kitchen. This kitchen was supplied with generally substandard cooking utensils. We had to call the management company to request decent pans, since the one (yes one) we had was bowed at the bottom and would not heat on the Viking flat top cook top. The steak knives were dime store variety. We broke 2 through normal use, and the corkscrew broke into several pieces. Again, the management company was OUTSTANDING. Once contav\cted, they went out and bought 2 new calphalon pans for us. We made them aware of the other issues. It is likely they have been rectified.

We are looking forward to returning to Kolea in the future. All in all, 10d is an outstanding unit with a very convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank beeclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

We stayed at the Kolea from September 26th to October 2nd.
This was a beautiful unit (16H). It had a partial mountain view.
Very spacious and upscale. Beautiful decorated. I recommend it.
I booked this property thru Waikoloa Vacations Rental Mgt. When we were there the many of the other units were empty. I loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank walnut123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We booked through Abbey Vacation Rentals. We stayed in Kolea 7B, which had a great view of the pool, and the "A" Bay. If you can, try to book in building 9, since right across the street, that lot is vacant, and you have an even better view of the water. The appliances in this place are all Viking, top of the line, granite countertops, the pocket wall was fabulous!!! Clean and very comfortable. We felt at home the moment we got there. If you go, be sure to spend some time at the Hilton, which is in walking distance, and use their pool too! Although we enjoyed the pool at Kolea much much more!!! the kids loved it as well. The Beach was great, saw so many sea turtles, and the snorkeling was good too. Loved the private elevator and the private entry hall!!
I would go there again in a heartbeat and recommend it to everyone. There was so much space to put all your things, plenty of hangers, and the showers were amazing!!! LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! check out the luau at the Marriott, you can watch it Sun or Wed nights, and not pay, but we did go one night for the food. Highly recommend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just a warning, don't stick your hands in any holes in the tidal pools, my son did, and got bit badly by a moray eel. needed stitches!! thankfully, it was at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank grandislandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Girls gone Wild! 5 of us stayed in Kolea. Ages 23 to 50.
The place is wonderful. In between the Hilton and the Marriott.
You can walk to both Hotels and live in a beautiful villa.
Would do it again ....for sure!

Thank KathyFCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikoloarentals, Manager at Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2009

Just to clarify the villa number, it is Kolea 3E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.5 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.2 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Address: 69-1000 Kolea Kai Cir, Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-6720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $358 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolea Beach Villas, the only villa resort with direct beach access in the exclusive Waikoloa Beach Resort is reserved for those seeking privacy and privilege while on vacation. Resort amenities include an infinity pool, jet spa, mini-lagoon pool for the kids, Health Hale fitness cabana, and the Kolea Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Expedia so you can book your Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolea At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Outrigger Waikoloa
Waikoloa Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing