We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort unit 15K”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Spent the first week in October 2011 in this outstanding place - safely placed in a gated community. High ceilings, rich woods, radiant stove tops, comfortable 3 bedroom two bath ground floor unit. Unit is in perfect condition, very clean. Every day was 85 degrees or more, rain cloud showed up all around but the breeze blowing in from the ocean through the pass between the volcanoes kept the rain at the complex away. The grounds are superb - these condos were million dollar+ 3 years ago, and the grounds are kept up to par to reflect this kind of value.

The clubhouse is beautiful with a fitness centre, towels, wonderfully luxurious chaise lounges, always cool pool - water was so clean.

The beach is separated from the condo complex by a fence and an ecological reserve, but is a 3 minute walk from the pool. Turtles on the beach. Very protected cove so very little to no surf.

I really went to scuba dive and was delighted by the quality of the diving there. Caribbean diving requires deeper dives to get to undamaged coral - tough to dive deeper than 45 feet at Kolea - but it didn't matter. Undamaged, untouched coral starting at 15 feet, with swim throughs, sharks, eels, a zillion fish, clear, warm (82 degrees - the temp all year round) no current, very little swells or chop, and because the there is lots to see at shallow depths, your dive computer is almost unnecessary - you'll run out of air before you run out of time. The dive operator right on the beach is not cheap - $135 for two dives - but very friendly, relaxed but pro dive company. Would dive with them again. This place is especially appealing to beginning or nervous divers - no real technical diving possible. Not the place for deep or wall dives, but the coral and ocean life is great. Turtles, rays, some unique fish.

Beach provides easy access to excellent snorkeling - the bay contains a lot of fish.

Great upscale restaurants and shops 10 minutes from the front gate. The Marriott next door has excellent food - a big luau most nights, and a very friendly bar with a spectacular view of the grounds. The Sheraton the other way - a 20 minute walk along a spectacular ocean view in front of multi-million dollar homes - is so large it has its own canal and boats, and its own airconditioned transit system.
There is a dolphin encounter and show facility, huge gardens, lots of pools, a lot of restaurants.

Golf courses close by, and huge miniputt at the Sheraton.

This whole area is a quiet, safe, upscale and beautiful paradise. Great for a couple of guys to leave the family at home to golf, play tennis, dive. A great family place for kids of all ages (the lanai has its own little yard) and safe.

Kona features big box stores, other diving venues, a funky beach village and bazaar. Most of the stores seemed to be having trouble so cheap shopping. The island does not have the intensity of Honolulu - a lot of the shore line is iron shore and jagged volcanic stone, so not the huge attractions that the other islands with big beaches have. Kona coffee is very good.

An excellent quieter type of vacation in paradise.

Room Tip: upper rooms have elevators. Try the ground or upper floor - avoid the middle floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fletch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 242 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

What a great place. This condo is nicely furnished with everything you'll need. Christopher, the owner, was so hospitable. The ammenities are great--outdoor Grill w/ kitchenette, laundry, parking super close, pool area with towels. We snorkeled with turtles every day right outside of the pool area (on A Bay). Peek a boo view of the ocean from the living room and deck. Can't say enough great things!!

Room Tip: I believe that all of the front buildings with unobstructed views are 3 BR. We didn't have that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed in 14M for a week, and it was perfect! Great view of the ocean from the lanai of this penthouse unit, very nicely decorated, and a very well stocked gourmet kitchen. Having the equipment (including a Viking grill on the lanai), spices, oils, vinegar, etc. on hand made it easy to cook when we wanted and enjoy meals and drinks on the lanai. Comfortable beds, great linens and towels, marble bathrooms and wifi in this 2 + 2 unit. It's a 2 minute walk to the beach club with a beautiful infinity pool, children's sand pool, and spa. In addition to the chaise lounges, there was a cabana and a outdoor covered area with several tables and another seating area with couches for socializing. A gate from the beach club leads to the beach at A-bay as well as a walking trail that stretches from the Marriott to the Hilton. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50waystogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I am not certain about all the places my daughter stayed in a ground floor unit and it was good but we have stayed in two of the top floor units and they are fabulous. Our first stay was in 2F a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom and it was awesome. We came with my daughter and her family. When my wife and I came by ourselves we stayed in a 2 bedroom 11F and it was also awesome. Would recommend both of these units depending on the size of your party. Both are well cared for, up to date, and have everything you could have want for. The owners of 11F were probably a bit more helpful but I think 2f is now done by a rental company so not certain what you would find there now. Ya, I would definitely not stay anywhere else for sure. My wife and I will be back again; love the 2 bedroom you can't beat it, seriously.

Room Tip: I would say top floor all the way but that is what we prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHawaiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Renter 6E from Abby Vacation Rentals - condo is outstanding 3 bedroom (all masters) 3.5 bathrooms, 2100 sq feet of absolute luxury. 2 minute walk to pool and ocean, quiet side of resort. Gourmet kitchen with EVERYTHING you could ever want. Agency went out of there way to make this a absolute holiday. Highly recommended. Private elevator to second level.

Room Tip: Picked away from the pool, not as much walking traffic or noise, however all vehicles a inside compo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdf254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Kolea 12B is absolutely the best vacation rental our family has ever stayed in. The unit is 3 Bedroom and 3 baths that almost made it feel like we were staying in our own home. The sizeable lanai over looks Anaeho'omalu Bay and has a Viking is grill which made for wonderful dinners at sunset. We arrived at night, and without asking, Eileen at Kolea Vacations made sure there were flowers, fresh fruit and wine upon our arrival. The unit was fully stocked with great cookware and other amenities. Separate washer and dryer room allowed us to do our laudry at night without being disturbed.

The unit was 50 yards from the Kolea Beach club and 200 Yards from the beach where we watched sea turtles and snorkeled nearly every day. This was probably the most relaxing vacation we've had and unit 12B served as our perfect home away from home.

We decided on this vacation late and Eileen at Kolea Vacations made the booking process simple and convenient. I highly recommend using her while staying at Kolea.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at Kolea in Waikoloa for a little over a month and were happy to be able to stay in two different condos during our stay, both owned by the same nice couple. The first condo was unit 16A, which was a ground floor 3 bedroom, 2 bath unit and just perfect for our party of five. Our 6 year old daughter loved running around on the quiet grassy area, playing with neighbor kids during our visit. We loved listening to the luau music from the Marriott next door and playing cards outside, while grilling in the amazing outdoor kitchen. In the middle of our stay we moved over to unit 1E, a 3 bedroom, 3 and a half bathroom unit on the second floor with an elevator that takes you right into the living area! This was perfect for us, as my mom came to visit for a week and it was so spacious, especially with the 550 ft lanai. It was decorated so beautifully, just like the first unit, and had the most amazing views of the ocean and the sunsets were absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely recommend both of these condos to anyone who is looking for an amazing vacation with the luxury of being able to stay home and cook in an amazing kitchen and sleep in the best beds around. We didn't want to leave!!

Room Tip: 16A is perfect for a small family and 1E is wonderful for a single family or two couples looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanettegp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.5 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
0.2 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.9 mi away
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
2.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Address: 69-1000 Kolea Kai Cir, Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-6720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $168 - $917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolea Beach Villas, the only villa resort with direct beach access in the exclusive Waikoloa Beach Resort is reserved for those seeking privacy and privilege while on vacation. Resort amenities include an infinity pool, jet spa, mini-lagoon pool for the kids, Health Hale fitness cabana, and the Kolea Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolea At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Outrigger Waikoloa
Waikoloa Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing