We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Our 2 bedroom/2 bathroom condo did not have an ocean view - this really was not an issue as the complex had its own infinity pool/lava rock hot tub and beach access. Quiet location, easy walking distance from King and Queen shopping centre in Waikoloa. The condo was extremely spacious with a wonderful lanai - bbq kitchen - where we spent most of our time. We would go back to the same spot in a heart beat. The whole complex is well designed and thought out.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haphappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 242 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

I really miss Hualalai, or for that matter, Mauna Kea. We ventured out of our comfort zone and stayed at Kolea (Waikoloa) being that Hualalai involuntarily canceled our reservations because of the tsunami, a situation I completely understand. Travelling with a family of 5, we needed either 2 hotel rooms, a suite, or a condo/townhome. We found an awesome deal at Kolea ($199/nt. WITH taxes, cleaning and taxes WAIVED)!

With a deal we could not refuse, we took a leap of faith with Kolea, which was billed with high-end amenities and direct access to A-Bay. I guess I'm just not a Waikoloa fan. Although we average 3-4 trips per year to the Kona-Kohala Coast I haven't stayed in any Waikoloa property for over 5 years. Staying here at Kolea, I now know why.

Waikoloa, even the "high end" part of it that is supposed to be Kolea, has a mass market, high density feel, a victim of its own success. The interior of the Kolea condos seem nice enough with upscale materials, trim, and appliances. Yet with several units on each of three floors complete with elevators, the vibe is that of a high rise rather than a luxury condo. Sure, high density does not disqualify a development from being luxurious, but this is the Big Island, which is larger than all the other Hawaiian Islands put together. With buildings situated so close together, you can literally see into other units and lanais. You might as well be in Kaanapali or Waikiki. Nothing wrong with either, but I come to the Big Island for country and privacy. If this is what you crave, then Waikoloa may not be the best choice.

Kolea's other "trump" card over the other Waikoloa condos seems to be its proximity to the beach and shoreline. For sure, no other condo can claim direct beach access. A-Bay is literally a minute's walk from Kolea's pool across ancient fishponds, making the walk itself quite interesting. However, you must beware of two factors.

First, very few Kolea condos are as proximately located to the shoreline as the pool. The pool is as closest it gets. In keeping with the spectacular rate we scored, our condo was a good 5 minute walk to the pool and then another minute to the beach. If beach access is important, make sure you study Kolea's layout and find out which building the unit is location.

Second, the 10 p.m. curfew for the pool means 10 p.m. I would not care much if the pool was off-limits, but the most convenient path to the beach is via the pool complex. Surely, A-Bay, a public park should be accessible beyond the normal pool hours. The "luxury" of being able to walk to the shore and gaze at the stars that illuminate the Big Island's dark skies is something that is definitely hard to find. Many times, late nights after the kids go to bed is the only time I can partake in what I consider a most relaxing activity. Nothing like stepping out of your Hualalai bungalow and finding yourself at the water's edge in literally 10 steps - at ANY hour. (Or better yet, hopping into your personal golf cart and driving to the shoreline.)

Rules are rules, but they should be disclosed so consumers can make an informed choice. The 10 p.m. "curfew" makes Kolea a horrible choice for those who like to venture out at that time.

At $199/night, I'm still very happy. At $300/night, however, I don't know that I would. Final words of advice: know the layout of the buildings, know the location of your unit, and know the details of the unit you intend to rent (furniture, A/V, pots/pans, toiletries, etc.).

Hualalai - I miss you!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank hiloboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigisland-rob, Manager at Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

Sorry your stay at Kolea was not what you expected. I just wanted to clarify a few items for future readers.
1) I agree that you want to study the layout prior to booking at Kolea. A lot of the items that seemed to be issues for you (proximity to beach, view, etc) were due to being in one of the "back" buildings, which is also why you got the great rate of $199/night inclusive. The buildings closer to the front over 180 degree views and are about a minute to the pool and another minute to the beach, but are also more expensive.
2) The pool does close at 10 pm, but there is another beach access, which is on the left side of the property by the first private home, which is open 24/7. This access would have probably been more convenient for you any time you were going to the beach due to where you were at within the complex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

After a lot of searching a great family holiday we found the Kolea villas thru "kolea luxury vacations" We have stayed at Kapalua villas in Maui before but we were looking for a more relaxing type of self contained holiday and we found it at Kolea. At the time we were travelling with a 4 year old and another family with all the same age.
The KLV website had an extensive viewing of different villas for you to choose from. After looking at the prices for a normal run of the mill hotel room at the Hilton or Marriott for $500 US we fount the 2 bedroom villa a steal at $280 an night. We hired a basic small car from the airport, turn left at the airport and drive up the road 15 min and your there at Waikoloa. A magical little place that has 2 great golf courses, shopping for the ladies and good places to walk to eat.
Kolea has a great pool which is max 5 min walk from anywhere in complex.....shred beach with Marriott, but well worth it...turtles are so easy to see from water or breakwall. Golf for me was great, 2 differing style courses and 2 more up the road 10 min(Mauna Lani)
Overall, Kolea offered us the best 2 weeks self contained vacation that we have had in the pacific.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mum_Dad_and_Zahra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Once we decided on Waikoloa Beach Resort, I spent hours comparing condo developments before chosing Kolea. Our primary reasons for choosing Kolea was that they had outdoor kitchens on the lanais, the proximity to the beach, and how beautiful the condos were. Kolea was everything I expected and more. We rented through Abbey Vacation Rentals and they were great to work with. It was just my husband and I on our trip.

Kolea is gated, and access codes are required for the front gates and to access the beach club. Each condo is individually owned, but from what I saw online they are all well decorated. Our condo was spacious, beautifully furnished, with a fabulous lanai. The doors to the lanai slide into the wall so the lanai becomes part of the living space. The building and grounds are well-maintained. The beach club was a short walk. It had a small pool, a sandy bottom kids pool, a really nice lava rock adorned hot-tub with ocean view, an exercise room, and a covered patio area and sitting area. There is no food or beverage service at the beach club, but we were able to bring a small cooler in with beer and water. You can access the beach through the beach club. We enjoyed going to A-Bay daily to see the turtles and watch the sunset. There's a company on the beach there that rents beach gear and offers boat cruises.

The Marriott and Hyatt are on each side of Kolea. The Marriott has a luau twice a week, and the Hyatt has some very nice restaurants. You can purchase a pass to use the Hyatt pools and lagoon for $80 for 4 people. They also have a dolphin adventure there. The Hyatt, though, is a long walk or short drive. There is a gate from Kolea to access the Marriott and it's a short walk or you can access it through the beach. Having the Kings Shops and Queens Marketplace nearby were great! You could easily walk there. We went to the gourmet deli (owned by ABC) almost daily to get incidentals. The Kings Marketplace has upscale stores: Macys with resort wear, Louis Vuitton, Coach, Tommy Bahamas, etc.

When we went, we estimated Kolea was about 25-30% occupied. We stayed for 7 nights. When we arrived at the Beach Club each morning, we often had the place to ourselves. Late morning or after lunch, families would arrive to use the pool. The kids were well-behaved and the parents attentive.

We highly recommend Kolea. We loved it so much, we are planning a trip there again this fall.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenaeInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We rented a condo through www.luxuryretreats.com. They were extremely helpful and our unit was great! The appliances were high end, the decor was pleasing - and the condo even had a book exchange! The owner had books on the area with highlighted attractions of interest. The resort was wonderful - we were within steps to the pool, hot tub, gym and beach! There were 2 shopping centers that had a grocery store, specialty shops and restaurants. The unit also had an amazing 400 SF lanai which is where we spent a good amount of time if we were "home".

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tysMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom162, Manager at Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

The staff at South Kohala Management is very pleased that you enjoyed your stay through our travel partner, Luxury retreats. Our staff works very hard to make sure your stay is a magical experience. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

The beach at this condo is fantastic. The beach is shared by the nearby Marriott, but it's big enough for everyone to enjoy a piece. During our stay, many of the west-coast beaches were closed due to strong shore-break, but this beach right by our condo remained calm and safe. The waves break several hundred yards offshore, so the bay is protected. The quality of sand and swimming was excellent. We enjoyed some good snorkeling off to the north end of the beach area. There was no shortage of turtles to watch either (from a distance).

There is wheelchair access, via an interconnecting path to the Marriott, to the beach. This leaves you about 25 yards from the water. Our elderly family member was able to shuffle the last little bit and get into the water.

Our ground-level unit at Kolea was a dream. It's very large, had a wonderfully-equipped kitchen, really nice furniture, and TVs in every room. The place was in excellent condition, and the housekeeping did a nice job of making it sparklingly clean. Parking was ample and we were always able to park 20 feet from our door. There was minimal traffic and it was peaceful to sit outside and enjoy a drink in the evening.

We had no issue with bugs and saw a pest-control professional visit the property during our stay. The grounds were kept in pristine shape, just like the inside of the condo.

There's a small, well-maintained pool and a small collection of exercise equipment half way between the condo and the beach. We spent a lot of time there. It's ideal for families with smaller children or for those who lack the mobility of moving on a sandy beach.

This place is ideal for those who want a hassle free vacation in Hawaii. This is my fifth trip to Hawaii and this is the best location by far.

The only negative is that this gated community has no true Hawaiian culture. You can hear the drums from the Luau at the Marriott on the occasional evening, but to get a true taste of Hawaiian culture, you must leave the gates and explore.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calgary_Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

WE LOVED Kolea--our unit was beautiful and the close beach was a plus. Abbey Rentals, however, were totally inflexible and not accomodating on any request. We spoke with people at the pool who agreed and had a much better experience with Outrigger Realty--I will work with them next time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamaica04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.5 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
0.2 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.9 mi away
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
2.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Address: 69-1000 Kolea Kai Cir, Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-6720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $168 - $915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolea Beach Villas, the only villa resort with direct beach access in the exclusive Waikoloa Beach Resort is reserved for those seeking privacy and privilege while on vacation. Resort amenities include an infinity pool, jet spa, mini-lagoon pool for the kids, Health Hale fitness cabana, and the Kolea Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolea At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Outrigger Waikoloa
Waikoloa Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing