We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Beach at the Beach course but found lots of sand!”

Waikoloa Beach Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A par-70 Robert Trent Jones Jr. design golf course along the spectacular views of the Kohala coastline.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“No Beach at the Beach course but found lots of sand!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We purchased a three round package for this and the Kings course that bought the price to about $90 dollars a person, we ended up golfing this course twice. The practice area and driving range are good areas to shake off the cobb webs from your flight and is well maintained. The start of the courses is very well controlled and allows you to tee off with out an audience. The course has been altered from its original layout as the old club house is at the convergence of hole 4, 148 and 13 which makes 18 a very blah hole to end your day with. We both enjoyed the challenge of #1 and 2 which make you shoot over water but that is mainly due to the fact we both managed to make these shots successfully! The fairways, rough and greens are well maintained but the sand needs to broken up as it is rock hard in many traps. There is no turn on this course and the club house between 9 and 10 is not really accessible but the bathrooms are well located. Each round we only saw the beverage cart twice. Hole 7 is the only hole with a ocean view and even remotely close to the beach which is pure lava. We had a little fun and tee'd up a couple junk balls into the ocean just on the skirt of #7's green. As the Kings course should you shoot into the lava kiss your ball goodbye as the lava is unforgiving. On a side note, we both came to the course with brand new Cobra drivers, no where even close to the normal amount of hooks or slices in 3 rounds, check out Cobra drivers!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    67
    40
    19
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
959 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
“A Sporty Resort Course”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I've been playing here since the 1990s and this course is still fun, though the fairways are starting to show their age.
There is a lot of good golf course maintenance, the greens appear to have been aerated about a month ago, leaving some slowing lines and sand.
Our pro shop experience was enhanced by Jamie who was pleasant and efficient.
Conversely, Paul the starter seemed to be on a power trip.
They start out with two water holes, a long par four and a long 205 yard par three which is almost all carry. A good idea is to warm up on the practice tee.
Hole #7, the amazing signature hole, is a 90 degree dogleg left uphill to a bunker covered green surrounded by beautiful ocean vistas. Be aware of the lava rock outcropping hidden in a swale on the right side approach.
Hole #10 is really long for the ladies, at 500 yards it's tough from the short tees.
Number 15 has a long carry over water into the wind.
Course conditions were almost ideal, except for greens under maintenance. The fairways were flat and well-trimmed, and the rough was very playable.
The pace of play was good, we never waited and no one trailed us, even though we started with a twosome behind us.
This is one of our favorite courses on the Big Island.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices for a resort location”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Everyone one at the golf course was very friendly from the cashier at the pro shop to the starter to the greens keepers. Would definitely recommend this course as it is very nice, somewhat challenging, and offers amazing views of the ocean and lava rock formations.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank curban17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“VERY NICE GOLF COURSE, WELL ORGANIZED.”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The price is high but this is Hawaii! I liked the fact that while you warmed up, the starter would let you know when it was time to go to the tee blocks. So you didn't have to waste time waiting and could continue practicing, nice feature. Also, there are some stunning views along the back nine. You get range balls, water in your cart that is ice cold too! Well maintained fareways, and the 1st tee is along side some ancient petroglyphs.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fun_in_Sun1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Design not bad, execution not good”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just played this course, it is run down and feels tired. Maintenance is not great and due to bad business they have closed a clubhouse, merged some holes from another , now closed course, etc.

The starting holes are not the starting holes as originally planned by Trent Jones, Jr. Teeing off on Hole 1 over a big lake is not how to start a round !

Course is ''overgrown'' with boring looking housing and this detracts from the course's good design. There are people everywhere, hiking all over the course on its one ocean/beach hole ( why name it the ''beach course'' ?)

All in all, only play here if the price is right. Compared to the Mauna Lani courses, this one is a poor second in terms of maintenance, peace and quiet.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HKJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikoloa Beach Golf Course also viewed

 
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
Island of Hawaii, HI
 

Been to Waikoloa Beach Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing