We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imari

Imari
Reserve with OpenTable
Imari is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 67 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen K Hwy & Waikoloa Beach Dr
La Jolla
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went to dinner with our children. We had reservations, but here were lots of empty tables. The menus were not very clean, which is a bit concerning. The water tasted a little funky. The appetizers were ok. We had sushi. The main courses were also ok. The wok salmon was probably the best of all the food ordered. It look so long to get our food that we were given a 15% discount. We decided to skip dessert. The bill for 4 people came to $200. Keep in mind that we had 3 soft drinks, 2 appetizers & 4 entres, it was over priced & over rated. To be fair our waitress was very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nadiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    83
    52
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gourmet Japanese Cuisine on the Big Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Tried this restaurant with friends after being highly recommended. It was one of those meals that turned into a true culinary experience, I think partly because I have never eaten authentic Japanese food before. Atmosphere was inspiring without being intrusive. Service was excellent. Everyone loved their dishes. I tried the Teryaki chicken bentos which included a chef’s choice of appetizer, sashimi, zaru soba, miso soup, shrimp and vegetable tempura, tsukemono, steamed rice, and a dragon fruit sorbet, all for $40. I did not know what half the stuff was that I was eating but it was all delicious. Also had sake with our meal. Overall not a cheap place to dine but very worth it. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rgrippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good teppan-yaki dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had an excellent shrimp, scallops, and fresh fish dinner. Conveniently located in our hotel. Good service as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_YM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Teppanyaki Chef bored!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The table-side cooking experience is made by your chef. Ours could not have been more bland. It was evident that he was merely "going through the motions".

The other chef on the other table was great! It was a good thing we had a coupon for this meal, as it would have been really poor value for the price.

For the location, setting and the price, they need to pick a better chef!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“open flame law kills many dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Imari is one of the best restaurants on the big island. Sadly because of the new open flame law insurance companies will no longer insure the restaurants for have an open flame at their table. one can no longer order Shabu Shabu or Sukiyaki which were outstanding. Their fish is always fresh and the service is a 10.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tazman1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imari also viewed

 

Been to Imari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing