We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice to eat in Waikoloa”
Review of Merriman's Market Cafe - CLOSED

Merriman's Market Cafe
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Sacramento
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good choice to eat in Waikoloa”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family and I have eaten at Merriman's on Maui and always resturn. We tried this location and enjoyed our time. It was very close to our hotel, food and service was good and it wasn't expensive. They rushed us a bit, but in the scheme of things, that's ok! We would return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank campbeju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    289
    138
    55
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice casual dining experience”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I need to preface this : Merrimans in Waimea is one of my all time favorite restaurants. This is not in the same league. It is however, a very pleasant experience. The food was very good, the staff attentive and cheerful. And you can sit outdoors and enjoy the relaxing Trade Winds while you are there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muadib84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh but expensive”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had a good meal, with lots of fresh ingredients, but the beer and wine were expensive and the second time we went, we opted for water to avoid that extra cost.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had heard good things about this place, but were underwhelmed. We had the fish tacos and calamari. The calamari was very rubbery and the fish tacos would have been excellent except for the taco part. Service was just so-so.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wmsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quality food”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stopped here twice on our one week stay on The Big Island. There really are not a lot of casual dining options in the area, but this is excellent. The food was well prepared, and service was excellent on both visits. The staff was friendly and helpful on menu choices. The Chicken Picatta was such a hit, all 3 kids ordered it on our second visit. And now I am struggling to reproduce that one at home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyofFiveColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriman's Market Cafe also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing