We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eating at happy hour”
Review of Merriman's Market Cafe - CLOSED

Merriman's Market Cafe
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
New York
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good eating at happy hour”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

As with so many places in Hawaii, their best foot forward is at their happy hour for appetizers and drinks. At this cafe, on the Waikaloa Beach Rd. on the way to big hotels, near one of the small shopping centers, the food is quite tasty, whatever the hour. We were lucky to happen to stop in while it was still happy hour. Why lucky? They not only offered drinks at a reduced price during that time period, but a few of the food menu items as well.

We shared a Hirabara spinach salad (the spinach being from a local farm) with added shrimp; then had an angus burger and a small, inidividual pizza, which was very good; a very light, thin & toasted crust, so no soggy wetness anywhere. We were quite pleased, and satisfied with our light, early dinner. This came about $35.00 before tax and tip; after happy hour, it would be considerably more.

It is a small establishment, a few tables inside; the greater number of tables outside, in a bit of small gardenlike setting. After all, you are right on top of a shopping area, so this is not a place to come for the view; just a comfortable outdoor cafe.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PokeyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    288
    138
    55
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“HAPPY HOUR IS GREAT”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is one of our favorite places...3 to 5 happy hour great Mai tai and hurricanes and.....order a small margarita pizza!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa for 4 nights and ate here twice, and would have been more had we been able to arrange more babysitting for our 5 year old.

The restaurant is relaxed, the service is attentive, welcoming and friendly and the food was excellent. I had pasta one evening with pesto and various island vegetables and it was superb. The second time I had blackened ahi tuna which was the best meal I had in Hawaii.

We have great memories of this place and will definitely be back next time we are on the big island.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get the garlic truffle frys”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Meatball sandwich is good, too. In King's Shopping Center. Doesn't take reservations. Inside and outside seating. Loyalty card - buy 9 meals and next is free. Works well for a group.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Back in 2010 we ate at Merrimans three times during vacation so we were very excited to go back. Unfortunately the quality and quantity of food has gone down. The calamari was rubbery, they no longer offer free bread (which was very tasty) and the sizes are now smaller. Overall, we were disappointed in the changes and don't plan on going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaynic_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriman's Market Cafe also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing