We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road-house ambiance & menu”
Review of Merriman's Market Cafe - CLOSED

Merriman's Market Cafe
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Road-house ambiance & menu”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my spouse & my first visit at a Merriman's restaurant. We dined inside to get out of the noon-day sun rather than under of the umbrella tables on the outdoor patio. Ceiling fans were efficient in keeping the air moving though the restaurant. Roadhouse ambiance prevailed. Large screen TV's allowed dinners to watch sporting events while dining. We found our lunch menu selections somewhat disappointing. I understand from other reviewers that fine dining is available at other locations in the chain.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsem1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    288
    138
    55
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overrated and not the original”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Merriman's in the King's Shops did not live up to the reputation of Merriman's big restaurants in other towns. Both my wife and I ordered steaks with one cooked to order and the other was not even close. You expect it to be right when paying $30+ per steak. Service was average and the facility is in the middle of a strip mall with no view, except of a parking lot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,220 reviews
651 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,045 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Went here for lunch, the menu was nothing special a few sandwiches and pizzas. I got a pizza and my partner got a sandwich. Both were just average. I thought the place is expensive for what it is the food is nothing to rave about. But I think the place thrives on the fact that there are not many choices for food in the area. There are two big hotel resorts nearby, therefore I'm assuming most customers are from there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saintlysinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We ate the Fish Tacos and a Fish Sandwich. The food was excellent. The food is expensive but you get what you pay for. We ate at both locations on the Big Island.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great casual meal”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ate here twice during our recent visit. Loved it both times. Had a nice dinner on the patio one evening and a casual lunch a couple of days later. Service was friendly and comfortably paced without being slow. Food was very good. Fresh local produce and seafoods. They also use local beef for their excellent hamburgers. Get the garlic and truffle oil fries! Amazing!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JFredPhoenixAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriman's Market Cafe also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing