We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baby Back Ribs”

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Baby Back Ribs”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

For a restaurant that have baby back ribs on their menu, that is what I use to judge the quality of the restaurant. That is just me, because I love baby back ribs. Roy's wonderful. The meat falls off the bone, so a knife is definitely optional. The glaze they use, could be less sweet, but that's me. I like to taste the pork. They have a sampler dish, which is great. On this visit it was just two of us, so we had the sampler and a salad and that was fine. In the sampler, they do include half order of the ribs. The ambiance is great, and it can get busy. The salads good also. Sat at the bar and the service was excellent. The ribs are a must try if you're visiting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank snowman808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    499
    277
    99
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
239 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Above Average Food, Disappointing Service”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I have been to several other Roy's restaurants and always found them to have really good food and great service. I had high hopes for this one in Waikoloa. Even with a reservation, we had to wait about 10 minutes for our table. We came to celebrate our anniversary and the front staff only noticed belatedly. Our table waiter was slow and drink refills were slow. Menu advice was mediocre and it was assumed that one knew what all of the local fish on the menu were. The meal was good, but not excellent. My short ribs were a little tough. The chocolate soufflé cake with vanilla bean ice cream never fails to disappoint and we left full. They did take the time to write happy anniversary on the plates with Chocolate for dessert which was a nice touch. Not sure it made up for the average service. I was hoping for more from a Roy's in the islands,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank docallergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Good Food, Very Loud”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Roys has a recipe for success, especially with the food. I like watching the guys and gals in the kitchen work, but would rather do it from my couch at home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
115 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Went to Roy's with two other couples and all were very disappointed. I travel often and eat at lots of wonderful restaurants and this was a very bad experience. The waitress was very rude from the start. We asked about a couple of the specials and apparently we messed up her routine. She told us to wait and she would tell us after she brought our drinks. We are all professional couples and are not obnoxious or rude. We were in vacation and excited to try this's highly recommended restaurant. I selected a fish dish with a sampling of three of their specialties. I had to send my plate back twice for the salmon as it was very undercooked. In the end, the server took it back to the kitchen. The manager did take off my meal but the entire experience was not good! For the
price of the restaurant, I would expect much better service and food. I write a lot of reviews and this is my first negative review.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level Contributor
255 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pleasant yet Unexceptional”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

With entrees ranging from $25 - $50, I was looking for the exclusive dining experience with exceptional food and outstanding service touted on Roy's website. We didn't have reservations and so we were pleased to be seated promptly even though the restaurant was busy. Our group of four each tried different entrees and we were all pleased with our food. My son ordered the meatloaf and it was probably the most exceptional of our meals and the lava souffle was delicious. The server was friendly, but short of outstanding. The waits before ordering and between ordering and salads and salads and dinner were longer than I'd expect. Very good overall, but in my opinion failed hit the mark of exceptional.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing