We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service; average cuisine”

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 69 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service; average cuisine”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I dined at Roy's Waikoloa on Xmas eve. The service was fabulous! We ordered from the prix fixe holiday menu. We wanted to skip dessert and our server adjusted the bill accordingly. The starter scallop was a highlight. Some of the entrées missed the mark. The prosciutto, tomatoes, and olives overpowered the delicate tuna in the ahi dish. Similarly, there were too many salty flavors (anchovy, olives) in the swordfish dish. I have dined in the Naples Fl Roy's, which has much nicer ambiance than the Waikoloa location.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rpinsky02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    881
    504
    280
    103
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pricy but worth it”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Service and food both execellent. De sure to go if you are there. The price will seem well worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrTurtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The whole dining experience was second to none; the service, scenery, wine, and food. But then came the Roy’s Melting Hot Chocolate Soufflé. It ruined me; I don't want any other desserts anymore!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buckarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive and Disappointing”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Visited the Big Isl over Thanksgiving and stayed at the Mauna Lani. Bar tend made a couple of suggestions for dinner and we decided to go to Roy's down the road, she said that they had sushi/sashimi which sashimi was my craving at the time and they had a martini with a Vietnamese rice based vodka that I'd like too.
Well, I could only say that she must have not been there is a long time, nothing on the menu that suggested sushi nor sashimi. We place our order for our entrees and honestly, it was mediocre to say the least, it was not even memorable to which I can actually admit. As for the fancy martini, it was nothing special and I had to ask for an extra shot of that viet vodka to add. It made no difference. We don't wince when we go out to dine and the bill is high, this place was not worth the cost nor the experience. Boring and Unimpressionable sums it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SiSi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Slipping”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Server got order wrong and billed us wrong. Undue delay between service of courses. Food served lukewarm due to delays in service of courses. Overall, the restaurant staff was undertrained, uninformed about the menu and wine list, and simply not up to the task of meeting the standards I've seen at this and other Roy's locations. Food is still good, but whoever manages this location needs to wake up and get the staff up to speed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MovnOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing