We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 69 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
B'ham, AL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The food was really pretty good, once we got it. We were a little disappointed in the level of service, as our order apparently got lost on a shuffle. Until we asked about it, it went unattended. It's not great on atmosphere, either. I've been to other Roy's locations and found the ambiance to be much better. This is a loud environment that looks just like a mid-level restaurant in anywhere USA.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MagnoliaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    881
    504
    280
    103
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went to Roy's based on a recommendation from a friend who went there last year. She admitted they actually went twice during their stay as they loved it that much! Has a great ambiance and friendly staff, though we could tell our waiter was relatively new as he was a bit shy. Decided to split appetizers, a dinner plate, and a bottle of wine - to make sure we left room for the chocolate soufflé which was to die for! I had laughed at my friend when she told me the 2nd time they went they had dessert first - it was that great!
In my opinion Roy's is a better value than Lava Lava or Mama's Fish House (on Maui) - both those places are wayyy overpriced and their food is certainly not better than Roy's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvsOurTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated to my opinion”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went there based on the amount of advertising they have in local magazines. I guess it is a good lesson, because good things/places usually do not need that much advertising.
The place has very simple decor, nothing special. We had a table by the window which probably has really good view when it is light outside. We were there around 8.30, so we could not enjoy it. We had two sushi rolls and appetizer to start with. We ordered Mahi Mahi and scallops for the dinner. Both entrees were super blend, it seemed that they forgot to put spices when cooked. Oh well... Dessert was very nice thou. It was probably best part of the dinner.
In spite of the fact that they were really busy that night we had very good service.
I like the idea that they have menu that changes all the time, but still I do not think that we will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very casual atmosphere and the food was good as usual.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Considering that the atmosphere was casual, the price was still the same as other Roy's -- which has white linen etc. This place was like an ordinary restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and value in a nice setting by a pond.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We have been here every time we visited the Big Island both this last month, five years ago, and 15 years ago. We always eat early with our kids, and so never had any problems either being seated immediately or waiting for food. The braised short ribs are the best entree. But you must order the chocolate soufflé at the very beginning of the meal. It is totally worthwhile and out of this world: liquid lava chocolate center with ice cream and raspberry sauce.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytripyk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing