We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner!”

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently enjoyed an excellent dinner on our last evening in Waikoloa. My husband had the scallops, which were a beautiful presentation. I had Shutome that was just delicious! It was served with a lobster sauce that was so good, I could eat it everyday!

The only reason I give it 4 stars, rather then 5, is the noise level. Extremely noisy, bustling place. Service was excellent, as was the food. Will go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie_Linn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    494
    271
    99
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honokaa, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Noise level is like being in a very expensive food court.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been going to Roy's for years from Hong Kong to Baltimore to Waikoloa. Because of the noisy atmosphere of the Waikoloa location we rarely go for a meal, opting for dessert only, their signature chocolate souffle. If I am going to spend $30+ for an entree I prefer going someplace where I can talk to the people at my table without shouting.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great great food and service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Celebrated our tenth anniversary at Roy's. the food and service was absolutely great. The prices were fair for the area. I did not like how difficult it was to make reservations. Nobody answers in the mornings, then by the afternoon most reservations are gone. Even days ahead our options wee limited. So, great food, great waitress, difficult getting in to enjoy the great food and service!
Larry

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank doclorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great family venue”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Roy's in the islands is usually a safe bet. The ambiance in Waikoloa is a bit sterile and the outside view of the canal waterway was nothing special but the place was hopping. The service was pleasant and efficient, but not rushing. They were knowledgeable about the menu and fish items and helpful with the selection. The mai tai was one of the best I'd had that week. Kids are treated well, there is a kids menu with lots of selection and quite reasonable. We found the food delicious. We had the butterfish (black cod) in miso, a grilled broadbill swordfish steak, and the short ribs in the prixe fixe menu ($50) including an appetizer plate and dessert. The servings were very generous. Not cheap but there are so many places to spend lots of money on mediocre food in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food- Wine prices exceptional”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner for our family at Roy's. We made a reservation early that morning and had a table by the window to see the water (fake lake from golf course, but still nice)
Our meals were all tasty and we had a nice bottle of Patz and Hall that retail costs low 30's and it was only about $10 more at the Roy's which is not typical for wine mark ups.

we would recommend this to anyone staying near Waikoloa

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing