We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 69 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
United States
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We made reservations 1 month in advance because of all the publicity and recommendations made by our friends. But we were pretty disappointed by the atmosphere and small portions of overly salty food. Save your money and go to Merriman's...!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dcg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    881
    504
    280
    103
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kona, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dining experience.”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Good food, great, friendly service, family friendly, unusual to have all in one restaurant!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraM185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“disappointing...”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Roys stands for quality and good atmosphere. We know it from Bonita Springs Florida.
Our visit to Roys here on the big island was disappointing. Food was o.k but not great, the atmosphere was almost like being in a airport lounge. No cudos for the service. Place was crowded so there may not be an incentive to improve.....

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacko45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Glorified Denny's not worth the price.”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I'm usually a good tipper(20-25%)but the service here was marginal ( had to ask 3 times for my daughters soda refill) , food was o.k., but not worth the price. I know you pay a premium in Hawaii, but this was still overpriced. $200 bill, i tipped $18 and feel I was being generous. Mostly ignored by the staff, bland food. I don't mind paying for quality, but this was not worth the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corn2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“#1with us for 15 years!”
Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Best food anywhere with great, well-trained staff! Always so good....we get to Roy's at least twice each time we are at the Bay Club every year.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia Spalding S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing