We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten free”

Romano's Macaroni Grill
Ranked #34 of 67 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gluten free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

The menu is heavy on pasta, but when I asked if they could make gluten free pasta, they were happy to oblige and the GF penne rustica was delicious. We'll be back. Total for two and tip was $50

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    131
    95
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible & Oily Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I personally did not liked the food here. The food bland and oily. I felt waste of money. I would recommend to go for lemon grass.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kkambli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
198 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“no complaints but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We ate here two times for dinner and once for breakfast. Breakfast was a better value. Meals were all quite adequate and service was fine. Atmosphere is pleasant and we had no complaints, but thought food was average at best. It was also a bit pricey for a chain.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solid Feed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

It was a little late, we were hungry, and we were in no mood to search any further. So here we went.

Reception and first impression were good, professional. A bit out of the box, but hey this is a restaurant in a resort.
Service was good, no issues at all. Quick and without any mistakes and always friendly. But learned to expect that in a tip focussed service - which is different to home but that's another topic.
Now, the main thing remains the food, an the term that best describes it is - well - average. It's not Italian, it's what might pass as Italian'ish but 'flavour enhancers' is the name of the game. Sorry, but having Italian Chef friends and cooking myself that has to be said. So the food is ok, might even pass for good and certainly does the job and the environment is nice enough. But that's it. So expect, a 'solid feed', no more, no less.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

The place was busy, but they gave us a beeper, we went to a bar, and in less than 10 minutes we were transferred to a table. Food was good: we ordered something "Trio..." at the bottom of menu on our waiter advice, spaghetti and lasagna kind of dish. Other people seem enjoyed this place too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TennisProRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing