We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Luau!”

Sunset Luau at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott
Ranked #15 of 67 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gather as the sun sets over 'Anaeho'omalu Bay and delight in classic Polynesian entertainment featuring live music, imu ceremony (the unveiling of our main course from our underground oven), traditional dances of the South Pacific and a delectable selection of contemporary and Hawaiian fare with a full open bar. Held Saturday and Wednesday. The festivities begin at 5pm.
Louisville, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Luau!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We paid for premier seats on the front row. The food was great and the entertainment was fabulous. It was a small show, but very intimate and the performers were very talented. The sunset was so beautiful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    84
    26
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great luau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great entertainment. Very talented dancers/performers. Food was ok, nothing great. The fire dancer was outstanding.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun Fun Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were staying at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott earlier in the year for a friends wedding. A group of us made reservations for the luau and I'm so glad we did. Regardless of whether you have children (we don't) or whether you're a couple on vacation, you'll enjoy the luau. A wonderful evening with friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Your kids will love the fire dance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This luau was good for what it was - just another luau. The food was OK but nothing special. The open bar was nice as was the discounted price for kids twelve and under. The show was entertaining but not spectacular, but our boys (fifteen and twelve) loved the fire dance!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice luau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

For those visiting Hawaii, going to a luau is something you have to do, at least once anyways. Yes, it's a bit of a tourist trap but what the heck, go out, have a few drinks and enjoy the food and entertainment. If you're going to try to rationalize the cost, you're going to ruin your evening before it even starts.

The luau at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott was our 3rd luau among our numerous visits to Hawaii. We've also attended luau's in Oahu and Maui. Overall, they've been pretty much the same and this one at the Marriott was as good as the others. The luau is one price for everything, with an open bar. You get a 20% discount if you're staying at the Marriott. The luau is held at a great location, on the back lawn giving you a nice view of the ocean and sunset.

The food was OK, it's a buffet to serve a lot of people so don't expect fine dining. There's a good selection of dishes so most people should be able to find something that they like to eat. We liked the roast pig the best, the chicken and steak were OK and the fish was 'meh'. The roast pig may not look the nicest because everyone has poked at it by the time you get there but grab a bunch, it tastes much better than it looks. The entertainment capped off a nice evening for us.

OK, here's a couple of FYI's:
-You're eating outdoors, it starts around 4:30 PM and there is no shade. If sun and hot weather bothers you, you may not like it.
-You're eating outdoors, there's flies and other insects, not a lot but they're there. If that bothers you, you may not like it.
-Unless you're a party of 7 or 8, you may have to sit with people you don't know. If that bothers you, you may not like it.
-You will have to line up to get your food, if you're expecting table service, you may not like it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TwitchyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Luau at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Luau at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing