We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than Ali Dr.”
Review of Island Lava Java

Island Lava Java
Ranked #9 of 68 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Hawaiian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Nelson, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“better than Ali Dr.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Had breakfast at the waikoloa resturant every day but one out of nine that one was in Kona not bad but expensive to Rob and the Sara's and the other girls you went over and above Great food and Great service. B.C Boys (nelson)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    161
    32
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Won't be back ”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for a late lunch on the way to Mauna Kea after reading about the cafe on this site. I thought I was in the wrong place looking at its scruffy tables, wish I'd left then. Service was not very friendly, our waitress said all the right things with a look that didn't mean them. Small piece of mahi in my sandwich, undercooked burger that had to be sent back.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice, inexpensive breakfast - al fresco, if desired”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Played golf at Waikoloa Villages and pro at the club suggested this for breakfast.

Very nice, eclectic menu, also with standard fare. Good service, good food and friendly service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Coffee straight from heaven!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We treated ourselves to breakfast at Island Lava Java several times while staying in the area, and couldn't have enjoyed it more. Firstly, we were in a rush on a couple of mornings and ordered by phone ahead of time. The staff were readily accommodating of this and ensured that our meals were still cooked freshly for our arrival (based on the ETA we gave) and that our coffee was the perfect temperature. The coffee, well, I've never had a cappuccino with such a rich, almost dark chocolate taste to it. Made with a lot of love, respect, and with incredible beans - thanks Keala! Whatever you guys are doing with your coffee, keep it up! The hollandaise on our eggs benedict was just superb, with a beautiful hint of citrus that's often lacking from the usual super-buttery ones around, and the cafe had a really good vibe. A great start to anyone's day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great food oasis”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

During our two week stay nearby, we visited several times. Each time we were impressed with the cleanliness, the menu and the quality of the food served. Although they do not have a liquor licence, we were allowed to bring our own wine or beer.

Really great tasty salads, delicious pizzas and for a snack, the fish tacos were really tasty. When we did make it to the desserts, they too were very yummy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 344SimonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Lava Java also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Island Lava Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing