We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset Fun”

Lava Lava Beach Club
Reserve with OpenTable
Lava Lava Beach Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lava Lava Beach Club is brought to you by the same people who bring you Huggo's oceanfront restaurant in Kailua-Kona , On The Rocks, a casual beach bar in Kailua-Kona, Paradise Gourmet Catering, the Big Island leader in custom events and weddings and Grass Shack Parties & Rentals, the go-to source for all local style affordable parties.
Holualoa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunset Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Loved it! Waikoloa can be windy so if the trades are blowing hard the restaurant is "open air" so it will be windy. On the average days the setting is perfect.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,970
    1,155
    417
    162
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow. Nice soft chairs on the beach- beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nicki - the hostess worked hard for our business. I was unsure if too much$ for what we were going to get. She reassured me she was confident the club would deliver. They did in spades! Ahi poke and a Shark Bite on the beach! My folks had sizzling shrimp - excellent- from the Big Kahuna- my dad. Service was excellent! Don't be intimidated! Stop and enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tater20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick R, General Manager at Lava Lava Beach Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Mahalo for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dream location and excellent food and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Right on the beach, prices are appropriate, fancy and delicious drinks, good and fast service, live music

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canadagoose2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So so...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

The location and atmosphere of this restaurant was awesome. Our service however was really lacking. It took so long to get a cocktail that we decided not to even order a meal. It then took ages just to get our bill. Possibly they are still working on getting it all together?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank becky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick R, General Manager at Lava Lava Beach Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Sorry for your less than satisfactory experience with us. Let us know the next time you're visiting so we can turn things around for you. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasilla
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Some great, some not so great...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Atmosphere...great!
Entertainment...we only saw 2 nights' entertainment--enjoyed both.
Drinks...both traditional and new cocktails were done right.
Service couldn't have been better both times we were there.
The appetizer we had was fantastic...sea food and artichokes were deep-fried perfectly in a very light batter. I definitely want to return to have that again.
The dessert that 2 of us shared (with a name something like Sticky Icky) could have been shared by 4. Cooked when you order it, so always fresh, and the local ice cream is a great topper for it!
Now for the not so great...Sounds like at least one other reviewer must have eaten the same meal I did, as I have the same complaints...WAY TOO SALTY vegetables (mushrooms and kale), and I had waited all week to have fresh mahi mahi, but it was overwhelmed by the sauce (which I scraped off and ate with the delicious black rice). My husband's ono was better.
We would return for drinks, appetizers, and dessert. But I would choose my main entree with our disappointments kept in mind, and maybe go for something simpler and cheaper.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yentnawildrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lava Beach Club also viewed

 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Lava Lava Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing