We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and roomy”
Review of Fairway Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairway Villas
Mortdale, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable and roomy”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The villa we stayed in was very large, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. It was well furnished with lots of seating. There was a huge kitchen, two bedrooms, two lovely bathrooms, airconditioning and, being on the ground floor, a table and chairs outside right next to the golf course. Our friends had a third floor unit which was very similar but with a balcony. It was a short walk to the King's Shops and a longer walk to the beach. The complex has lovely tropical gardens. We felt that it was very private and enjoyed staying there for four nights.It was a bit tricky to find our place the first time, in the windy streets, in the dark. There is a "quiet" rule after 10pm which is vigorously enforced- a resident rang to complain about three of us just talking on the balcony at 10:15pm, which I thought was pretty grouchy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassietraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisN_69200, General Manager at Fairway Villas, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Outrigger Fairway Villas as your accommodation choice on the Big Island, Hawaii Island. We are pleased to hear you found the property conveniently located near shopping, restaurants and the beach. Also the accommodation was to your liking. We look forward to seeing you visit once again and stay at Outrigger Fairway Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    138
    39
    26
    12
See reviews for
197
109
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our 4th of eight vacation rentals in Hawaii as we spent five weeks island hopping with our three young kids. This was by far our FAVORITE!! It was spacious, clean, new & modern, etc etc!! Go check out the VRBO listing and book it if available, it is great value for the complex and the owner Ruma is wonderful to deal with.

We loved the infinity pool and hot tub, enjoyed it every night. Short walk to shopping and food court. Just a 3min drive to Anaeho'omalu Bay which had TONS of sea turtles. Honestly, this unit had it all. It was ideally situated for exploring the Kohala coast. Mahalo and enjoy!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisN_69200, General Manager at Fairway Villas, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Fairway Villas. The property is in a great location within the Waikoloa Beach Resort and with terrific accommodations. We are pleased you found your stay very enjoyable and were able to see the many beautiful sights the island has to offer. We look forward to having you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked 3 one-bedroom condos (for 3 couples) (E21, F4, F24) as part of a Hawaiian Air travel package, so don't know what rate we paid. We didn't mind checking in at King's Center, but had to call the office for instructions in order to find it. Our condos were clean at check-in. The condos are spacious with a big kitchen and bathroom, washer/dryer and a walk-in closet. Each condo has different furnishings and "extras." Ours (F4) had beach gear. The grounds are beautiful; nice BBQs and an infinity pool. Very convenient for walking to the Island Market for food and walking to Anaehoomalu Bay for snorkeling or sunset. We loved being close to the big hotels for restaurants, etc., without being surrounded by so many people. Explore the grounds of the Marriott and Hilton. Don't miss the petroglyphs.
The only reason this is a 4 star review instead of 5 is that 2 of the 3 condos had ridiculously ancient TV sets.... F4 has a 27 inch tube TV with terrible colors, and no way to adjust the volume or convenient way to change channels. Hubby had to change the channel by pushing the button with the end of his golf umbrella. E21 had similarly bad TV. F24 has two great flatscreen TVs. TV is not the most important aspect of Hawaiin vacation, but hubby likes to relax and keep up with sports at the end of the day. Would recommend this property and would return there.

Room Tip: Ask for unit F24 - interior beautiful, fairway views, two nice flat screen TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powell_diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisN_69200, General Manager at Fairway Villas, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for staying at Outrigger Fairway Villas. We are please the apartments and property were enjoyable and met your group's needs. Please note the television sets were replaced in F4. We thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in N4 and were very pleased with the overall size, quality and cleanliness of the accommodation. Well appointed kitchen, great ensuite and family bathrooms, walk-in wardrobe etc. Lanai was great, being on the ground floor you could just run out onto the grounds and to the pool. The grounds were immaculately kept and a real highlight for us, we felt like we were staying in a botanical garden - so hats off to the army of groundsmen. Pool was also great fun and well maintained, as was the BBQ area. Not much negative to say; possibly could have done with more cookware (we cooked in a lot), I can see how it would be a struggle for 5 or 6 adults, but it is perfect size for a family of 4. It is very close to the shopping malls and about 10mins walk through the Marriott to an amazing beach where we saw turtles and there is good snorkelling (at the north end). Grocery shopping MUST be done at Waikoloa Village (6 miles inland), as the supermarket in the mall is insanely expensive for most things (e.g. cereals $8 for a small box, milk $11/gallon!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 215I_an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisN_69200, General Manager at Fairway Villas, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing Outrigger Fairway Villas for your accommodation needs while visiting the Big Island, Island of Hawaii. We appreciate you comments about the apartment you stayed in and also are pleased that the property facilities were found to be very satisfactory. It is a benefit having the property situated centrally near shopping, restaraunts and beach. Hope to see you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in unit N22 last week when we visited Waikoloa. Upon arrival the unit was very clean. We also had requested a soft mattress for the Master Bedroom due to my husband's pain condition. Although not as soft as at home, it satisfied our request and they even noted upon check-in the the unit had recently received new beds. We were very pleased they took our request seriously.

The kitchen was stocked with almost everything you need for cooking. There was even some spices in a spice rack. The lanai and the view were very nice also.

My one small complaint was parking. You can park in any space not marked reserved. The open spaces had numbers on it so I would have assumed 22 was for us. There were a few times though pulling in there wasn't any parking close by our unit and someone was in the 22 spot. We took a chance and parked in reserved because we usually had arm fulls of stuff between going to the beach, groceries, etc. Also one morning maintenance knocked on the door since they were tree trimming and asked if I could move the car because he didn't want branches to fall on it. I appreciated their concern but he asked that I move to one of the spaces not marked reserved. I told him I would move to reserve because there wasn't any spots close by and he even admitted I'd have to be down a ways.

The only other small thing about the room is some of the walls had scratches so a paint job might be worth doing.

Overall we were very happy with our stay. Anytime we called the office they were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars was due to the scratches on the walls and the parking situation.

Another family member stayed in O3 and they seemed to enjoy their stay as well.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a 2 bedroom request unit N22 if possible. We really enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyraaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisN_69200, General Manager at Fairway Villas, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for staying at Outrigger Fairway Villas and also for sharing about your stay. We are pleased the accommodation and property was enjoyed by all. We will work with the homeowners associatioin to see if we can improve upon the parking situation in that area of the property. Perhaps assigning a parking stall to that apartment will work best. We look forward to seeing you all on a return vist to our island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were very disappointed in our unit I23 at the Outrigger Fairway Villas. Upon arrival the unit was not properly clean. Dirt/food on floors, kitchen counter had sand all over it, bathroom was not clean and fans were dirty. We also had 6 adults and the one bedroom had uncomfortable twin beds with no tv. Not a good set up for our group and upon complaint we were told no other units were available with a double bed in second bedroom. I was told there was no specific request for a double bed but one would think with 6 adults that would be a given. The lack of maid service and cost was also very disappointing. There is no way we would have paid for this service based on the cleanliness of the unit when we arrived. Not at all what I expected for the cost.

Room Tip: Be specific with requests for what kind of unit desired based on group
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisN_69200, General Manager at Fairway Villas, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for the comments and choosing to stay at Fairway Villas.

It is our cleaning team goal to have apartments in good order for every guest arrival. If something is observed that the cleaning team missed they can be called upon to assist during day time hours. We work to avoid any cleaning calls. In this situation the office did receive a call that there was lint on the floor in the apartment. The housekeeping supervisor visited the apartment and cleaned an area at the front of the entry door. There was no report or evidence at the time that the apartment was as untidy as it is now reported on Tripadvisor. If we had missed this much off the mark we certainly would want to attend to it with all eagerness. Guest satisfaction is extremely important.

The two bedroom bed configuration of this apartment is 1 king bed in the master bedroom, 2 twin beds in the second bedroom and a pull out sofa queen bed in the living room.

We trust many people will find this property very suitable for their vacation stay as indicated in the many write-ups within Tripadvisor. We are sorry to dissapoint this time and look forward to another opportunity to be the accommodation choice of a future stay to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The decor (like many condos) varies in each unit - some have carpet, some don't etc. But they have a nice kitchen, most have multiple baths, and a nice pool. Great place for a family vacation. You can walk to a nearby mall with facilities and a food court and grocery. There is no housekeeping during the week but there is a washer and dryer in every unit which is very helpful.

Room Tip: Look for ones near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gm9999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisN_69200, General Manager at Fairway Villas, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at Outrigger Fairway Villas. We are pleased the apartment, property facilities and nearby shopping met the needs of your stay. Look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.3 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.1 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
1.0 mi away
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Villas

Property: Fairway Villas
Address: 69-200 Pohakulana Pl, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairway Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairway Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Fairway Villas Hotel Waikoloa
Outrigger Waikoloa
Waikoloa Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing