We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garner's first trip to Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We enjoyed the peace and quiet. But most of all the Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas is the place to stay. We felt a home away from home there. and needless to say we found the kitchen well stock with the cookware, kitchen untensils, and ect. the two patios was a must have and very much appreciated. Our condo number was 401. We will like to personally thank Desiree the office worker who planned our daily must see and do list. Without her expertise we wouldn't have seen the sights that beautiful Hawaii have to offer, we didn't know where to begin. We had a minor problem with the lock on door and we reported it and Greg the property Manager handled it right away. In our closing we would recommend Aston has the place to stay for a wonderful vacation in Hawaii. we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gosugargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Aloha Garner Family,

Thank you for your business. Thank you for the kind words about your stay at Waikoloa Colony Villas. Thank you for your input - we appreciate that your experience will lead you to return to The Big Island and our beautiful property again. I'll pass on your kind words to Desiree too - she is Ms. Aloha and does a super job with our guests.

With Aloha,

Gregory A. Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 245 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our family just finished a 10 day trip to the Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas. This property was absolutely perfect for our family of 6 plus our 9 month old grandchild. We loved the privacy of our two patios (one off of the great room and one in the master suite). Having the adequately stocked, full kitchen was wonderful as well. The unit we had, had a powder room on the lower level and then the two baths and three bedrooms on the upper level of the townhouse. It is a nice mix of staying in a townhome but also having some of the amenities of a hotel. The customer service by the staff in the main office and the attention of the General Manager was excellent. It is a gated community. There is free parking in "unreserved" spaces on the property. You pay a $10.00 a day "resort fee" but it includes 2 DVD's a day from a kiosk in the main office, clean towels and trash removal every other day, a full service cleaning every 4th day, the use of a Playstation and other amenities. There is a tennis court, an adequate fitness center and two nice pools. You are within a mile or so of two smaller shopping areas, one with an amazing (but expensive) grocery store at the Queen's market. This place is not on the ocean...however our family went to a different beach every day....each beach with it's own wonderful views and attributes. For those guests who would like to exercise by walking there are plenty of sidewalks surrounding the Aston Colony Villas property..it is flat and easy walking. You may want to consider renting bicycles from a shop in the Queen's Marketplace to use for your stay. We all loved this community and we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyskymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Aloha Perfect For The Family,

Thank you for your business. You took the words right out of my mouth. This is a great place for families. The product is super - like you mentioned. And my focus is on SERVICE, SERVICE, SERVICE. You cannot overcome service issues with product but you sure can overcome product issues with service!

We try very hard to exceed our guests expectations. I know some people are used to more in their own home but we are glad you found everything you needed. Quiet, safe, great location, lots to do - if you come here it is not hard to have a super vacation and a lot of fun.

We appreciate that you provided great information to guests coming to visit the Big Island. Like you said - families will love it here.

We hope you will return.

With Aloha,

Gregory A. Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We loved everything about this property! Beautiful location and our condo was just lovely. In the week we were there we didn't find a single thing we needed in the kitchen that wasn't provided. In fact the cookware was nicer than what we have at home. The atmosphere is very low key and we loved the un-limited movie rental that comes with the small resort fee. All in all, we would stay there again in a seond!

Room Tip: If you like the pool, ask for a room in th middle of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Aloha Loved It!

WOW! Thank you so much for your business and great review. You are right - this is a super place where if you come with the right intentions (lookout I wanna have fun!) you should just have a super time. If you do not have something you need inyour unit - we'll do the best we can to get it for you.

Please tell your family and friends.

I loved your review!!!

Happy New Year,

Gregory A. Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at one of the villa units. While we liked the location and decor of the first one better, this is still a very nice place to stay. The grounds are beautiful, very well maintained and there is regular maid service. The unit was well stocked with what we needed for the 5 nights we were there. The decor wasn't that great but it was in good shape and clean. the pool area was very nice too. My only complaint was that the bed was way too hard. If I have complained, I am sure they would have moved us to another unit. All in all you have to love this area with stores, restaurants, beach access and beautiful scenery. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the golf course if possible. The views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Aloha Denver52,

Thank you for your REPEAT business. Wow! Your continuing business is so very important to us. Repeat guests are hard to come by with so many options. We are glad that you had a good enough stay to return. The golf course views are nice.

When you decide to return why don't you contact me directly after you make the reservation. I'd like to make sure everything is perfect for you and be ready with a nice thank you.

With Aloha,

Gregory A. Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
(808) 886-8821 (direct)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I have been to Kona many times and have usually stayed at Aston Kona by the Sea, but this trip we went with family so we needed 3 bedrooms and we chose the Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas. Although there are a couple of shopping areas within the surrounding resorts, the whole Wailoloa complex of resorts is 20 miles from Kona and beaches for snorkeling were a distance to travel. The grounds were lovely and there are 2 pools with BBQ grills. Our 3 bedroom unit was spacious and comfortable and although the kitchen was well equipped, the blender was a piece of junk, there were no spices etc. of any kind, and they were "out of large garbage bags" so we had to try and use tiny disposable bags for kitchen garbage and that was a joke. We were supposed to have a TV in living room and all bedrooms but there were only TVs in the living room and master bedroom. The beds were comfortable but the 2 guest bedrooms were very small and the dressers in the 2 guest bedrooms were a joke. They looked nice, but were cheap to say the least. The drawers would stick and at one point in time we absolutely could not get the top drawer open. After working with it for so long, one handle came off leaving it a REAL challenge. We finally got it opened and removed the clothes and crammed everything in the other 2 drawers, which opened somewhat better than the top drawer. The master bedroom was lovely, large and had a walk-in closet and huge bathroom. The carpet throughout was in need of some good cleaning. There was some snorkel and beach gear in the unit but not enough so had to rent snorkel gear. Beach/pool towels available in the unit and a nice washer/dryer upstairs but not enough washing soap for the week (but then there never is.) Overall = it was a nice place but I personally don't like having to travel so far to beaches and downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Aloha Fran,

Thank you for your business. Thank you for the review. We appreciate your input - it is the only way we can improve the product and the service.

I wish you would have called us about the drawer problem - our team could have corrected that in an instant. Our owers are not required to have TV's in every bedroom. I'll make sure we check the floors in all of our units that still have carpeting. Most owners have upgraded to wood or tile floors.

Kona is a nice place - the drive between here and downtown is about 30-40 minutes and that can be a challenge. But we have way better weather, much more golf, beaches that put Kona to shame (Hapuna Beach may be the best on the Island) and sufficient shopping and dining to meet most guests needs.

The Big Island is not like other places - there is so much more to explore here. Unique opportunities like the summit of Mauna Kea with the largest telescope in the world and the active volcano can be reached from any location.

We hope you will return - I'd be happy to help with that personally if you'd like.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
gregory.koestering@astonhotels.com
(808) 886-8821 (direct)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was our third trip there. And you know, generally, what tends to happen is that, after a few times, the charm wears off. Well, that wasn't our case. We (2 adults + 1 child) still absolutely loved it . Think of it:
- awesome location (25 minutes from the Kona airport, 15 minutes from Hapuna, 5 minutes from a mall, 2h from Hilo);
- incredible surroundings (oasis in a surreal lava field);
- beautiful weather (it's driest spot on the island);
- calm (we've never been bothered by anybody's noise);
- nice pools (clean, warm, never packed, ahh!);
- wonderful villas (spacious 2-story condos, clean, fully equipped) and the independence and freedom they give you;
- great personnel (everybody is nice, and Desiree, at the reception, is simply fan-tas-tic).
Sigh... If only we could be there more often...
So if you are looking for super-authentic Hawaii, away from all tourists, far from everything in the lush vegetation, it's probably not going to cut if for you. If you area looking for a place with things from the list above, well, you already know the name of the place ;-).

Room Tip: We've been to a different villa each time (4 total), and we enjoyed them all a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank another_turist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Aloha Another_turist from California,

WOW! Thank you so much for your business. Thank you very much for the review. Your input allows us to improve the product and the service.

We appreciate the kind words and honesty very much. You are right - this place is not for everyone. But the reasons you supplied are great. And having lived in Hawaii for about 25 years, worked in almost every "resort" location there is - I can tell you that there is no better place to headquarter a visit to The Big Island than here in Waikoloa.

And we try our best - if you will simply ask us for what you need, we can usually accomodate you. Sounds like you are a big "supporter" and we appreciate your many visits.

If I can help make your next arrangements to stay at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas - just let me know.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
gregory.koestering@astonhotels.com
(808) 886-8821 (direct)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Booked this property through Costco Travel. Don't have an exact breakdown as to cost per night because package included airfare and car. There was 5 in our party. My wife and I and our three kids ages 20, 9 and 6. We had a two bedroom condo with two full and one queen size bed. The condo is located in Waikoloa Resort about 25 min north of the kona airport and 45 min from kona itself. The resort area is beautiful and has two outdoor shopping malls in it. The condo is down the first right turn after the resort entrance. There are few obvious signs directing you to the condo. The beach is a good mile or so from the condo complex. Lots of mountain views and views of the golf course which run through the complex. The location is very windy. May be that's why hardly anyone was playing golf. We are talking 15 to 25 mph gusts. May be more. The complex is gated and you need a code to get in. Late check in was easy. The owners left a key in an envelope in a box at the office. You get a code to the box. Our condo was neat and clean. Some stains in the carpet. Looks like all condos are two story. Most have garages you cannot use. Parking is outside the unit. Beds were comfy. There was a sofa bed we did not use. The kitchen was fully equipped but there were no spices or basic items like in some condos we rented. The washer and dryer were beneath the stairs and there were washing supplies. There was beach equipment including beach chairs and boogie boards. There were also ice coolers for outings. The condo provides beach towels. There was plenty of storage space in the condo. The only issue was that there was some mold in the showers but not enough to get upset over. There were some bugs in the downstairs bathroom. There was also a leak from upstairs to the kitchen but that was remedied after we complained. The tv was a box that needs to be updated to hi def. Overall a very good deal. Very comfortable and quiet condo. Lots of room to relax. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oblio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your business. We appreciate the kind words about our property and staff. Yes, it can be windy here but that keeps the temperature down and the skies blue. All the units are 2 stories - divided from your neighbor by a verticle wall so you never have anybody walking on your ceiling. The Big Island is a great place to explore. We hope you will return.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
(808) 886-8821

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
0.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.4 mi away
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
#8 of 13 in Waikoloa
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
22.5 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#4 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
632 reviews
0.8 mi away
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Address: 69-555 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range: $253 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Villas are home to a luxurious lifestyle. Featuring 1, 2 and 3-bedroom villas with fully equipped gourmet kitchens, this resort is adjacent to the 15th fairway of the Waikoloa Resort Beach Course. Guests enjoy the property's recreational facilities - tennis courts, fitness center, pools, and jet spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas Hotel Waikoloa
Resortquest Waikoloa Colony Villas
Waikoloa Colony Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing