We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
141
66
21
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
66
21
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursestory condoupstairs bedroomthe big islandwasher and dryermaster bathroomspacious condopull out bedgrocery storekings shopsfull kitchenboogie boardssecond bedroombeach towelsshort drivelava fieldsfood court
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 246 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at one of the villa units. While we liked the location and decor of the first one better, this is still a very nice place to stay. The grounds are beautiful, very well maintained and there is regular maid service. The unit was well stocked with what we needed for the 5 nights we were there. The decor wasn't that great but it was in good shape and clean. the pool area was very nice too. My only complaint was that the bed was way too hard. If I have complained, I am sure they would have moved us to another unit. All in all you have to love this area with stores, restaurants, beach access and beautiful scenery. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the golf course if possible. The views are great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Aloha Denver52,

Thank you for your REPEAT business. Wow! Your continuing business is so very important to us. Repeat guests are hard to come by with so many options. We are glad that you had a good enough stay to return. The golf course views are nice.

When you decide to return why don't you contact me directly after you make the reservation. I'd like to make sure everything is perfect for you and be ready with a nice thank you.

With Aloha,

Gregory A. Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
(808) 886-8821 (direct)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I have been to Kona many times and have usually stayed at Aston Kona by the Sea, but this trip we went with family so we needed 3 bedrooms and we chose the Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas. Although there are a couple of shopping areas within the surrounding resorts, the whole Wailoloa complex of resorts is 20 miles from Kona and beaches for snorkeling were a distance to travel. The grounds were lovely and there are 2 pools with BBQ grills. Our 3 bedroom unit was spacious and comfortable and although the kitchen was well equipped, the blender was a piece of junk, there were no spices etc. of any kind, and they were "out of large garbage bags" so we had to try and use tiny disposable bags for kitchen garbage and that was a joke. We were supposed to have a TV in living room and all bedrooms but there were only TVs in the living room and master bedroom. The beds were comfortable but the 2 guest bedrooms were very small and the dressers in the 2 guest bedrooms were a joke. They looked nice, but were cheap to say the least. The drawers would stick and at one point in time we absolutely could not get the top drawer open. After working with it for so long, one handle came off leaving it a REAL challenge. We finally got it opened and removed the clothes and crammed everything in the other 2 drawers, which opened somewhat better than the top drawer. The master bedroom was lovely, large and had a walk-in closet and huge bathroom. The carpet throughout was in need of some good cleaning. There was some snorkel and beach gear in the unit but not enough so had to rent snorkel gear. Beach/pool towels available in the unit and a nice washer/dryer upstairs but not enough washing soap for the week (but then there never is.) Overall = it was a nice place but I personally don't like having to travel so far to beaches and downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Aloha Fran,

Thank you for your business. Thank you for the review. We appreciate your input - it is the only way we can improve the product and the service.

I wish you would have called us about the drawer problem - our team could have corrected that in an instant. Our owers are not required to have TV's in every bedroom. I'll make sure we check the floors in all of our units that still have carpeting. Most owners have upgraded to wood or tile floors.

Kona is a nice place - the drive between here and downtown is about 30-40 minutes and that can be a challenge. But we have way better weather, much more golf, beaches that put Kona to shame (Hapuna Beach may be the best on the Island) and sufficient shopping and dining to meet most guests needs.

The Big Island is not like other places - there is so much more to explore here. Unique opportunities like the summit of Mauna Kea with the largest telescope in the world and the active volcano can be reached from any location.

We hope you will return - I'd be happy to help with that personally if you'd like.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
gregory.koestering@astonhotels.com
(808) 886-8821 (direct)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was our third trip there. And you know, generally, what tends to happen is that, after a few times, the charm wears off. Well, that wasn't our case. We (2 adults + 1 child) still absolutely loved it . Think of it:
- awesome location (25 minutes from the Kona airport, 15 minutes from Hapuna, 5 minutes from a mall, 2h from Hilo);
- incredible surroundings (oasis in a surreal lava field);
- beautiful weather (it's driest spot on the island);
- calm (we've never been bothered by anybody's noise);
- nice pools (clean, warm, never packed, ahh!);
- wonderful villas (spacious 2-story condos, clean, fully equipped) and the independence and freedom they give you;
- great personnel (everybody is nice, and Desiree, at the reception, is simply fan-tas-tic).
Sigh... If only we could be there more often...
So if you are looking for super-authentic Hawaii, away from all tourists, far from everything in the lush vegetation, it's probably not going to cut if for you. If you area looking for a place with things from the list above, well, you already know the name of the place ;-).

Room Tip: We've been to a different villa each time (4 total), and we enjoyed them all a lot.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank another_turist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Aloha Another_turist from California,

WOW! Thank you so much for your business. Thank you very much for the review. Your input allows us to improve the product and the service.

We appreciate the kind words and honesty very much. You are right - this place is not for everyone. But the reasons you supplied are great. And having lived in Hawaii for about 25 years, worked in almost every "resort" location there is - I can tell you that there is no better place to headquarter a visit to The Big Island than here in Waikoloa.

And we try our best - if you will simply ask us for what you need, we can usually accomodate you. Sounds like you are a big "supporter" and we appreciate your many visits.

If I can help make your next arrangements to stay at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas - just let me know.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
gregory.koestering@astonhotels.com
(808) 886-8821 (direct)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Booked this property through Costco Travel. Don't have an exact breakdown as to cost per night because package included airfare and car. There was 5 in our party. My wife and I and our three kids ages 20, 9 and 6. We had a two bedroom condo with two full and one queen size bed. The condo is located in Waikoloa Resort about 25 min north of the kona airport and 45 min from kona itself. The resort area is beautiful and has two outdoor shopping malls in it. The condo is down the first right turn after the resort entrance. There are few obvious signs directing you to the condo. The beach is a good mile or so from the condo complex. Lots of mountain views and views of the golf course which run through the complex. The location is very windy. May be that's why hardly anyone was playing golf. We are talking 15 to 25 mph gusts. May be more. The complex is gated and you need a code to get in. Late check in was easy. The owners left a key in an envelope in a box at the office. You get a code to the box. Our condo was neat and clean. Some stains in the carpet. Looks like all condos are two story. Most have garages you cannot use. Parking is outside the unit. Beds were comfy. There was a sofa bed we did not use. The kitchen was fully equipped but there were no spices or basic items like in some condos we rented. The washer and dryer were beneath the stairs and there were washing supplies. There was beach equipment including beach chairs and boogie boards. There were also ice coolers for outings. The condo provides beach towels. There was plenty of storage space in the condo. The only issue was that there was some mold in the showers but not enough to get upset over. There were some bugs in the downstairs bathroom. There was also a leak from upstairs to the kitchen but that was remedied after we complained. The tv was a box that needs to be updated to hi def. Overall a very good deal. Very comfortable and quiet condo. Lots of room to relax. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oblio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your business. We appreciate the kind words about our property and staff. Yes, it can be windy here but that keeps the temperature down and the skies blue. All the units are 2 stories - divided from your neighbor by a verticle wall so you never have anybody walking on your ceiling. The Big Island is a great place to explore. We hope you will return.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
(808) 886-8821

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We chooses to split our time this trip with 5 nights at the Colony Villas and 2 nights at the Hilton. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo (2103) right by the pool. This worked out well both for the kids to have pool access and to be able to use the grills. The grounds are very nice and the place is conveniently located (close enough to walk to the two shopping areas if you so choose).

The condo itself was a nice size and had a pretty nice kitchen (which we used a lot). While generally a nice place it is definitely in need of a deep cleaning and could use some updates (no flat screen tvs, 80's style vertical blinds, etc.).

Overall there was nothing that would keep us from staying here again, but at the same time we would also check out other options the next time we come to Waikoloa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bucketfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your business. Thank you for the kind words in the review. All the units are individually owned. We use the guests reviews to improve the property - ask the owners to make the upgrades or we will not rent their unit. We do a deep cleaning twice a year. I understand about the older TV's and the impression they make. As a manager of the property we ask the owners to get flat screen TV's but the economy has taken a toll on these homeowners just like everywhere in America. I never understood how a flat screen TV made a difference but it does - because it creates an impression. We will work on getting flat screens (they are so cheap now) in every room and we hope you'll try us again. If you decide to do so - contact me directly.

Gregory A. Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
(808) 886-8821

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews