We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Home Away From Home”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We just returned from a weeks stay at the Colony Villas. Our condo was conveniently located by the main rec. centre with the fitness room, pool area and BBQ's. We couldn't have asked for better! It is worth commenting that the fabulous service that we received from the Aston staff began prior to our landing on the Big Island. A big 'thank you' to Jenny for being a wonderful ambassador on behalf of Aston. The service she provided to us was fantastic and appreciated!! The condo itself had a complete kitchen, laundry facilities, air conditioning and all the comforts of home. Ours had two rooms and two full baths. The master room had a king size bed. It was a great place to unwind at the end of a long day of golf and sightseeing. The condo complex is extremely well kept and secure. The location provides access to some of the Big island beaches and scenery in a very short time. We would definitely return if we decided to go back to the island again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katey2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    61
    22
    15
    2
See reviews for
109
51
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We just returned from a week at the Waikoloa Colony Villas. Ours was managed by Outrigger, so I'm not sure how different this particular unit was compared to the others reviewed here. But judging by the photos, ours was pretty much the same. It was a spacious 2 bedroom unit that was nicely furnished. I don't know what a "normal" rate is but we paid $189 per night which I thought was an absolute STEAL for this unit. Full kitchen, patio etc. The master suite was upstairs, which I would've preferred to be on the lower level. But having a 2 level place made for a nice, dramatic open 2 story living room. It was a bit of a drag to have to go up and down the stairs all vacation, though. The pool area was nice, although we spent most of our time in the hot tub as the pool was chilly (even for a Minnesotan!). I am learning that pools in Hawaii are generally NOT heated! The location of the units was pretty good. A long walk to do much. I preferred to drive with my 3 and 5 year old kids. But my in laws often walked to the shops, etc. The shops provide a few decent choices for restaurants and shopping - although groceries here are EXPENSIVE!! $10 for milk! $7 for a loaf of bread! Drive into Kona and got to Target or Costco. Being in Waikoloa as opposed to Kona was a great choice for us since we either spent time at our own pool, or drove to Hapuna or Mauna Kea beaches, which were both about a 10 minute drive away. Overall, the only reason I didn't give this property a 5 was because the pool was cold, the master suite was upstairs and I don't give 5's out easily!

Room Tip: We had a view of the golf course, which we liked. Most had this, but the other views could have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sithdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed for a week. The condo was located on the 15th fairway - we found 7 golf balls ...that was fun. The condo was a 3 bedroom/2.5 Bath that could sleep 7 people easily! We were only 2 so had plenty of room. It is a 2 story, so if you have stair issues this won't work for you. The management was very nice, it is gated and you get a gate key card. The pools (2) were very nice. The condo had its own washer /dryer which is always a plus. Plenty of towels too. Cleaning service was excellent.
Only "complaint" I had was that the sprinklers ran (loudly) every night @ 2:00 a.m.! So we could not sleep with the windows opened but closed with The a/c running. I know that is minor but we like to sleeps its fresh air.

And, don't expect to be on the beach, that is a long walk or a drive to any beach.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed the property and would go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dotty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for your business. Thank you for your kind review. Sorry about the sprinklers - kinda have not much control over them and actually way better to water at night for efficiency. We are a walk from a beach but the two best beaches in the world are only a 10 minute car ride away... I mean it - white sand as far out in the water as you can see. Excellent snorkeling at both ends. Pretty girls. A great beach for walking! Mauna Kea or Hapuna Beach State Park - just super.

The other very special place here on The Big Island is the summit of Mauna Kea with all the telescopes. Unbelievable sunsets from about 4307 meters above sea level.

Hard to find a place with the best beach and the best mountain - there is so much more too.

We hope you'll return!

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
(808) 886-8821
gregory.koestering@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilroy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Our three bedroom villa was very nice and very clean. Everything about the condo was excellent. We stayed for a week and enjoyed our stay very much! The staff was very helpful and excellent as well. The beautiful beaches are close by. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed in a gorgeous, spacious two-bedroom villa for two days. Despite its fine looks, though, the villa was not particularly well-equipped or comfortable (little kitchen gear, hard pillows, no beach things, squeaky twin beds with ill-fitting sheets, too few ceiling fans to provide adequate air circulation, etc.). The wifi was only free at the pool, and the daily wifi rate only accommodated one device. The location is also far from ideal. It was fine for two days, but we would not have wanted to make a week or two of it. We spent the rest of our two-week stay in a ocean-front condo at the Keahou-Kona Surf & Racquet Club which was far superior in every way, except perhaps the high-end appearance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dkckek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for your business dkckekmk. Appreciate the kind words on the review too. We are a quiet, clean, beautiful little spot in the middle of the fields of lava. We are close to shopping, dining, and so much great golf.... The Big Island has a couple of things going on you cannot find anywhere else in the world. The Volcano and the best place to view stars on the planet.... The 2 nicest beaches anywhere are 10 minutes from our front gate. We hope you will return. If we can be of any service - you can contact me directly.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
(808) 886-8821
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The front desk was excellent, thorough and very friendly. They were easy to work with and fixed any problems that you have within their capabilities. I would stay at this place again

Room Tip: All rooms are owned by different people. Ask if you could get a picture of the room they're givi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladide01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Aloha Indianapolis Indiana,

Thank you for your business. Thank you for your kind review and recommendation to future guests. You are right - every room is decorated differently. The thing is - most people only sleep in the rooms here because there is so much to do on The Big Island. So the rooms seem to be less critical for guests than at other properties. Still - all of our units have wireless internet, a Play Station 2 with free movies and games at the Front Office, a great kitchen and plenty of space to spread out! I was in the main pool area last night (product testing!) after dark. The hot tub was full and the pool was just unbelievable - comfortable, clean and under a night sky filled with stars and planets like you could not imagine.

We try our best - I have never worked with a bunch of nicer people. We hope you will return.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas &
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
(808) 886-8821
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priddis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Great property, quiet and secluded yet close to shopping and restaurants. Many excellent beaches within a short drive. The unit (two bedroom) was spacious, clean and beautifully appointed. Carpet could use cleaning (white in a rental unit??) otherwise perfectly maintained. Management and staff very friendly and accommodating right from day one.

We can hardly wait for our next stay here and would recommend this property without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatnAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Aloha One Week in Paradise,

Thank you for your business and kind words about our property. We appreciate the input and i'd like to check the carpet out in your unit if we can get some reference on what number unit that was. We try our best and many units have changed out the carpet. Each unit is individually owned and decorated but we do our best to deliver great service to every guest.

The Waikoloa Resort area and Waikoloa Colony Villas are situated in the place in Hawaii with the best weather, the kindest residents and the coolest things to do. An active volcano, a super place to view stars and the heavens with the largest telescope on Earth not far from our property, and the best beaches in the world only a few minutes away - if you don't have a great time here - it's your fault!

We'd be happy to have you back. And please tell your friends about us! If we can be of any service please feel free to contact me.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Waikoloa Colony Villas & The Shores At Waikoloa
(808) 886-8821
gregory.koestering@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
0.4 mi away
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
#8 of 13 in Waikoloa
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.8 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Property: Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Address: 69-555 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Villas are home to a luxurious lifestyle. Featuring 1, 2 and 3-bedroom villas with fully equipped gourmet kitchens, this resort is adjacent to the 15th fairway of the Waikoloa Resort Beach Course. Guests enjoy the property's recreational facilities - tennis courts, fitness center, pools, and jet spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas Hotel Waikoloa
Resortquest Waikoloa Colony Villas
Waikoloa Colony Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing