We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun”

Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Captain Ryan and the crew provided a fun several hours of whale watching. We saw 8-9 whales and they told us lots of interesting info on the whales and the area. I highly recommend this tour!

Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Marketing Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to review your Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure. We're really glad you enjoyed the cruise, the crew, and especially the whales!
We agree that Captain Ryan and the entire crew sure know how to make a Whale Watch into an informative and entertaining adventure!
Mahalo for joining us, and we hope to see you again on another adventure with us next time you come our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 160 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a great time with the whale watching with Ocean Sports. We didn't get to see many whales up close and personal but hey they are whales and you can't make them appear right in front of you just because you want them to. The day was a beautiful day and the continental breakfast they provided was nice. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the hump back whales and made the tour very interesting. I would recommend this tour.

Thank rptims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Marketing Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to provide the Trip Advisor Community (and us) with feedback about your Ocean Sports Breakfast with the Whales Cruise. We're glad you enjoyed the cruise and we appreciate your comments about our naturalist (we work hard to ensure our factual interpretations are accurate and up-to-date).
We also enjoyed your comments about the whales!
Mahalo for joining us and we hope to see you again on another adventure with us next time you're on the Big Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We took a morning whale watching tour on the Seasmoke on February 22, and it was amazing. We seen several groups of whales with some of them as close as 15 yards off the boat. We were able to get some very good pictures and video and this was certainly one of the highlights of our trip to the Big Island. The guides were very knowledgeable and did a great job of keeping the group educated about the whales.

The tour was very convenient as well, as it left from the beach right behind the Marriott, so for anyone staying in the Waikoloa resort area, the travel is minimal.

I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who is looking to go whale watching while on the Big Island.

Thank ColoHiwayBuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Marketing Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Aloha!
Thanks for taking the time to review your Ocean Sports Whale Watch Cruise. We're really happy that you got to see lots of whales and enjoyed the crew, the cruise, and the interpretation provided by our naturalist. We also appreciate your comments about the convenience of the trip. As the only company that offers 3 cruises daily from 2 different locations within the Hawaiian Humpback National Marine Sanctuary Waters, we really do try to help our guests get to see the greatest amount of whales with the least amount of travel time.
We look forward to seeing you again on another adventure with us next time you're on the Big Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We took the Ocean Sports whale watching trip on 19th Feb
Pick up from our hotel (Hilton Waikoloa) was at 9.10am with the boat trip from 10-noon.
We saw a lot of whales ... probably 20-30, close up and close to shore in the relatively shallow waters near the coast.
I would recommend this 2 hour trip rather than some others which are 3 hours. (2 hours was enough).

Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Marketing Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to provide the Trip Advisor Community (and us) with feedback about your Ocean Sports Whale Watch Cruise. We're really glad you enjoyed the cruise, and we appreciate the recommendation.
We hope to see you again on another adventure with us next time you're in our neighborhood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The whales were everywhere! We even had a Mom teaching her baby how to breach! That was amazing, he was jumping the entire time. Saw a tail fin slapping the water over and over. One whale was on his back clapping his fins together. I have a feeling our sitings were rare since we saw so many different whales doing different things. I was in heaven. Humpbacks are WAY bigger than I thought! :)

Thank Tylen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Marketing Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Aloha,
Mahalo for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your Ocean Sports Whale Watch Cruise. Based on your description of the trip, it does sound like you got to see the whole gamut of Hawaii Humpback behaviors ! We're really glad you enjoyed the cruise - and we have to agree with you...Humpbacks are BIG.
We hope to see you again on another adventure with us next time you're on the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing