We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
“WOW”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

What an experience! The extremely knowledgeable crew guided us to some amazing whale watching. Spinner dolphins, breaching humpbacks, calves... what didn't we see. And it was not just that we were able to witness all of this, but the guide was able to answer every question and supply the information so that we could really appreciate what we were seeing. This trip is a definite yes for a recomendation

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bionoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your Whale Watch cruise with us. We're really happy you got the opportunity to see the humpbacks and the dolphins (always a bonus when we get to see two species of cetaceans)!
We also appreciate your kind words about our on-board naturalist's interpretation.
We hope you get to join again on another adventure!
Mahalo from the whole Ocean Sports 'Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    22
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome whale watching trip!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It's a smallish boat for whale watching (65 ft catamaran) and there were only about 30 guests, so there was room for everyone to see the whales. Even on the last day of the season we saw a family of whales and had an awesome trip. The crew was great and the trip was amazing. I will highly recommend it to all of my friends.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Aloha!
Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences with us and the Trip Advisor Community. We're really happy you enjoyed our last day of the season whale watch - especially since at the end of the season we really don't know what to expect. The breaching calf you saw on the trip was a wonderful bonus!
We look forward to seeing you again on another adventure with us!
Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There she blows!!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was a wonderful day!! We saw more breaches and tails than I ever had!! The Naturalist did a great job of describing the actions and the behavior of the whales. I would go with Ocean Sports again!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank xenaphan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Aloha! Mahalo for your review. We glad you had a good time with the whales and got to see those breaches! We're also happy that you enjoyed the naturalist. We hope to see you again soon next time you're in our neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, MN
Level Contributor
183 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fun Family Adventure”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Signing-up right at the Hilton Waikaloa Village made selecting this whale watch easy.

A shuttle bus picked us up at (and returned us to) our resort in Waikaloa, and took us to the large Catamaran for our journey. The kids thought that the boat ride alone was fun . . . it was a bonus that we got to see whales and have snacks and soda :-).

We decided to do the 10 a.m. "Signature Whale Watch" for 2 hours at the cost of $99 for adults and $49.50 for kids (6-12).

When I asked my kids (ages 10, 9, and 7) what to title this review, my youngest said, "Fun Facts about Whales." That is true . . . it was great having a naturalist on board giving us lots of information about whales and spinner dolphins. They also used a hydrophone to listen to the whales talking under the water.

The reasons that I didn't give this review a 5, was that it was a lot of money to spend, and many of the seats inside the cabin of the Catamaran were broken. They also ran out of snacks, and none were gluten-free :-(.

Overall it was a great time, friendly crew, and very informative. We are glad we went.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melissaMoorhead_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your Whale Watch Adventure with us. We're glad that you and your family enjoyed the convenience of our shuttle, the boat ride, and the whales, and we'll pass on your kind words to our team of naturalists!
FYI...we are doing continual maintenance on our boats and our inside cabin seating is all up to par!
Mahalo, and we look forward to seeing you all again next time you're on the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
284 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Like visiting the whales at their home”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

That was the way it felt. We were surrounded by whales and we were watching and admiring.
I like the way the trip is organized: easy, and everything goes smoothly. They took our empty water bottle and brought it back refilled with iced water. It may seem little, but it isn't. The crew is attentive and JC even "babysat" my grandson when he was being a little too active. I was also impressed with the detail in describing whales biology and anatomy.
Everything on time. Thank you!
The best place to be: at the front, but bring sunscreen and sun glasses.If you get tired you can seat inside and still see the whales.
PS: nice that there were drinks and snacks on board, and that the catamaran has two "bathrooms".

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janelitamirta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for taking the time to review your experience with us on your Whale Watch Cruise. We were happy to have you and your grandson aboard! We'll pass along your kind words to CJ (who, by the way, really enjoyed the time spent with your grandson), and to our naturalist who provided the commentary.
Hoku for the Ocean Sports Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing