We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Hawaii”

Legends of the Pacific Luau
Attraction details
Ventura, California, US
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“When in Hawaii”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We got the Ali'i seating. Table was right up front so good view, they bring the food to the table so no buffet lines, and unlimited drinks (so the table mates got interesting). Food was good traditional Hawaiian, entertainment was interesting as they told the history of Hawaii as well as several different Polynesian dances.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alaskan2farSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    53
    34
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pricey & not recommended if you've done other Luaus”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were forced to choose between this one and the Royal Kona Luau as they are the only ones on Friday night in and around Kona. First, our mistake for waiting until the last night on our trip to attend a luau. Second, I've been to several Luaus on Oahu and Maui and they were better.

How? We paid $26 extra for preferred/ali'i seating which got us front row, table service vs waiting in line at the buffet, & unlimited drinks ( extremely weak btw ). Was supposed to come with free flower lei greeting, arts and crafts time, & polynesian tattoos but once we got inside, the leis were $5, there was one girl with Poi balls for about 15 mins, & no tattoo set-up; very disappointing. So, total price was $136 per ticket!

The servers were great. The only snafu was when my wife asked for Mac salad with her second course, they said no problem, then forgot; they were extremely busy with other tables.

The food was ok. There was good and bad. The lilikoi dressing was awesome! The poke, shrimp ceviche, pretty much all of the first course was excellent! The second course was so-so. The fish was overcooked as was the chicken, but the spare ribs and sweet potatoes were tasty.

The entertainment - so-so. Very talented folk and great costumes. Because I have been to several in the past, I was disappointed there was not a live band to accompany the dancers. When they did dance, a lot of their slapping and chanting were from the recorded music versus them. It took away from the authenticity of the experience.

Overall - I'd recommend against this one if you've attended others. If this is your first, you might walk away satisfied. Don't wait till your last night to choose either or you may find yourself in our situation where you are forced to choose because there are several luaus in and around the Kona area, but they are offered on different nights. Where there were some things that were ok, overall, disappointed with this one.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pure entertainment”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great evening at traditional style Hawaiian Luau. Hula dancers were awesome and the fire dancer was outstanding! Beautiful costumes and narration of history. Good food as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Good Entertainment”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very good entertainment with dancing, music, stories, and of course the underground oven roasted pig with many sides. Definately worth the price and experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_McGraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archer, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great entertainment, average food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The dancers and music were great! The food was only mediocre. We paid for the Ali-i seating and were very disappointed to be sitting with our backs to the stage. For that price we were very annoyed to be stuck in that position. We missed the performances that took place during dinner because we couldn't see what was going on behind us while we ate. Once we finished dinner though and turned our chairs around we thoroughly enjoyed the show. The dinner itself was served family style, with lots of dishes on a lazy susan in the middle of the table and everyone had to spin it around to get what they wanted. The pork was very good, as were the local sweet potatoes, but the rest of the sides were a bit bland. It was difficult getting a server to bring you drinks as they seemed to be a bit short on servers that night, which was frustrating since it was supposed to be an open bar. We mostly went for the show though so still really enjoyed ourselves.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CGXterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends of the Pacific Luau also viewed

 
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Legends of the Pacific Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing