We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value on a great island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paniolo Greens Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paniolo Greens Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value on a great island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked on Hotwire.com and stayed in this resort for 2 weeks in June and throughly enjoyed my stay. Came with my family and stayed in an upgraded 2 bedroom condo. It felt like our home away from home. Kitchen came fully equipped with dishes and silverware and I was able to cook breakfast and lunch each day, choosing to eat out for dinner. The stacked washer and dryer made life so much easier as we visited the beach daily and it was wonderful to be able to wash the sand and surf of our day away. It was great having a separate bathroom for the kids and also great being on separate floors as the second bedroom is on the first floor of the 2 floor condo. Third bedroom remained locked but from the outside I could see it also had a lanai. We opted for an upstairs unit that had views of the ocean in the distance and was close to the front gate. Could see traffic below on the adjacent winding road but was not overly noisy. Each bedroom had a lanai or balcony which offered a great way to escape for a quiet cup of coffee or juice in the mornings or evenings while the kids played about or watched t.v. Housekeeping was good - full cleaning on Friday with light cleaning all other days. They brought us pool towels whenever we asked to replenish the ones we used. Pool was small but nice and we enjoyed swimming nearly every day during our visit.

We saw 2 roaches on our visit there - small but unpleasant none the less. One star deduction for this. We killed them and continued about our business, but I've read elsewhere they are all over the island so be aware of this and make sure to close suitcases, personal items, etc. so they don't come home with you!

The proximity of the condo to the beaches is very close and Hapuna State Beach is a ten minute drive. Gorgeous with breathtaking scenery. We also explored other beaches on the island and found Paniolo Greens an ideal central location for exploring and returning to our home away from home.

Room Tip: Upstairs units ensure not having noisy neighbors above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveRVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    313
    78
    27
    21
See reviews for
286
269
21
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
343 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a timeshare trade and it was great. A bit of a drive to get to beaches and stuff to do, but it was fine. Nice and cool but still got the AC, which was a bargain. Carpet dated but clean. Gave us as many packets of laundry soap as we asked for, which saved a few bucks. My daughter enjoyed the turkeys on the golf course. She also did a nice hula lesson with a staff member. The best part of the location was the market and Lava Java up the road!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guitarjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

While Paniolo Greens (stayed 7 nights in June 20130 is 6 miles from the ocean, it is a good value for the money. A 2 bd/ 2 bth is around $129.00 per night...sometimes more or less depending on day of wk. Look for Go Green deal which is a bargain/limited maid service. Our unit was spacious, comfortable and affordable for us and our teen. The best beaches are 15 or 20 minutes away while sights such as Mauna Kea and Kona are within an hours drive. The fully equipped kitchens are a bonus....free phones and DVD players. Pool is good for laps, Jacuzzi is fine. Keep in mind, it DOES get WINDY in this location especially in afternoon. While you will not get that touristy resort feel of ocean located spots, you will spend a third the money for a good place as long as you rent a car and drive. It has been our Big Island home base 3 times and we would return. This is a good place to stay if interested in Kohala coast where the sun shines and the beaches are world known. Do not expect an elaborate lobby and lush garden tropical greens but DO expect a great place to "live" while on the Big Isl.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an upper unit where scenery is lovely and there is a lot of light...we find the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here as an RCI exchange guest with timeshare in mid June 2013 as part of a 2 week stay on Hawaii. Previous week was the Wyndham Hawaiian village at Kona which I have reviewed separately. Very different experience from the Wyndham and very different scenery.

We were very pleased with this resort. Staff were very friendly and helpful, coping well with hordes of people at check in, the entire resort was very well kept and tidy, including daily scrubbing of the barbacued areas. Did not really use the pool- it is quite small and seemed mostly for kids and honestly when you have world class beaches 10 minutes away then that would always be my preference. Absolutely no sales pressures which was a very welcome change after the timeshare very hard unpleasant sell at the Wyndham.

In terms of the unit, we were very happy with the location- at the end of the resort overlooking the golf course and distant ocean views- nice lanai which we spent most of our time when not out and about on watching the golfers and the wildlife. We had a 2 bed unit, and it appears that the 2 bedrooms are on floors 2 and 3 of a 3 bedroom townhouse type arrangement. We found it to be a quiet resort- most guests mindful of others so you heard a little noise but not much. As previous reviewers have said the unit is a little dated- however some bits have been refurbished and there is nice, new comfortable furniture in the lounge and dining room and the bedrooms, but the kitchen/ carpets are a little old fashioned and bathrooms are more standard accommodation rather than anything with a wow factor. Master bedroom was great - large with its own lanai. Plenty of nice hot water ( not always the case) and lot of linens. I was very impressed with the housekeeping as it is it is all super clean and very well equipped including free wifi and a washer dryer- helpful as it is so hot here we did a lot of washing! There is a charge for air con- we did use it as being from the UK it was very hot for us- but there is a lot of breeze so if you are used to it being hotter you probably don't need it.

For us we enjoyed the peace and quiet of this area after the tourist full on experience of Kona- the scenery is very different- more uphill pasture and lava fields and beautiful views upwards to the slopes of the mountains - big skies. This is a great base for touring the north and east of the island- much quieter up here and stunning scenery. For us the beaches were so much better- easier access, great snorkelling and not as rocky - in kona they always seemed too crowded and too rocky and too much like hard work - mich more beautiful and more space further north. There is a really good small supermarket just up the hill in the shopping centre which is one of the best we have found in the US- with very helpful staff

All of the top hotels are near by due to the quality of the beaches. In terms of where we went- we did the usual tourist things, but highlights were
- farmers markets (sat and wed) in Waimea - wonderful organic veg, fruit and stunning baked creations- usually made/harvested that day including fresh lychees and strawberries which were picked within the hour!
- 'A' beach, quickly became out favourite due to the closeness, being able to snorkel with turtles and also due to the great cafe Lava Lava
- Parker ranch- be sure to watch the video and go to the exhibition at the stables - where the farmers market is on a Wednesday - we loved the whole cowboy history side of things.
- Mauna Kea beach- totally stunning, but get there early, parking is limited to 30 places and it is closely managed as part of the hotel


Overall a great stay. I have given this resort 4 stars as it is slightly dated, otherwise it would get 5, but I am being very picky. It has a great quiet location, nice staff and a spacious unit. We travel a lot with our timeshare all over the world and I would say that is is a gold crown but I would also qualify this by saying in our experience gold crown classification has a scale within it, so there may be resorts like the Hilton which are at the top of the scale and make swans out of hand towels (!) and are more in the proper full on resort and one like this one which are quieter and mid way, but still very good value for money and recommended. Once it is upgraded then it would be at the top of the scale.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor unit facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
323 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We've spent a week here each April for the last two years and found these condos to be perfectly located for island exploration. True, it's not on the water, but it's only ten minutes by car to some of the best beaches on the island. Units are clean, nicely appointed and equipped with a washer and dryer. Gas grilles are available but not installed at every building; you may have to walk a few steps to a neighboring building. Great value. Ask for a unit away from the golf course if you like to sleep late; otherwise mowing equipment and resident wild turkeys will wake you each morning (we're always up and moving early to explore, so we found the turkey gobbling kind of enjoyable in a rustic way).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked for 3 nights originally and we were very happy with the accommodation. It was very spacious, clean, had everything needed for a comfortable stay and the location was ideal for us. Our plans changed while we were there and we needed to stay an additional night. When we visited reception to do this we were told we could book for an additional night but it would cost us twice as much as we'd originally paid. When we questioned this we were told its because our original booking was discounted for booking a minimum of three nights. As we wanted to book an additional night it would be classed as a new booking and no discount would be given. We thought this was unfair and couldn't see why it couldn't go down as the same stay. Anyhow we did enjoy our stay but was a little disgruntled with the customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is great place to stay with the peace and quite of the country side, great for a game of golf. With shopping centre very close for your food supplies if not eating out .
Resort was very clean and tidy with the staff being very helpful.
Only draw back is you need a car to get around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NannieKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
4.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
5.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
4.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.9 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paniolo Greens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paniolo Greens Resort

Property: Paniolo Greens Resort
Address: 68-1745 Waikoloa Rd, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paniolo Greens Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Big Island’s captivating mountains as a backdrop, Paniolo Greens is a lush tropical retreat deep in the heart of Hawaii's Big Island. Settle in to spacious, fully furnished villas tastefully decorated in keeping with the area’s rich heritage. Relax in your own private lanai, enjoying the cool breezes and warm Hawaiian sun. Paniolo Greens is centrally located for day trips to the North Shore, Waipio Valley, Volcano National Park and the waterfalls on the windward coast. Tee off on one of ten world-class golf courses located just minutes away. And dining, shopping and entertainment are conveniently located. Paniolo Greens is the perfect place for romantic getaways, family vacations, reunions and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Paniolo Greens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paniolo Greens Hotel Waikoloa
Paniolo Greens Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing