We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WAY out in the middle of nowhere - RENT a car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paniolo Greens Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“WAY out in the middle of nowhere - RENT a car”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The place was your average run of the mill timeshare/ condo unit. Do not wander too far out of the backdoor or you will be on private golf course property and they have no problem telling you to get out. Units/Rooms are nice and the washing machines and dryers are in the room - so you can pack a little lighter. We were there in DEC and it was HOT! Pay the extra so you can run the air. Except for being 7 miles from the closest beach - and dry as a bone - this place was not bad. TOO many kids running around unsupervised - but what's new.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyNudistCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    329
    82
    28
    22
See reviews for
302
288
21
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was excellent! You get your own little condo at a great price. We were on the second floor and our balcony (which had nice patio furniture) faced the golf course so we had breakfast out there every morning. We had two levels. The main floor had a full kitchen (even complete with a rice cooker and blender), dining room and living room. Upstairs was two bedrooms and two bathrooms with a washer and dryer. Parking was free just make sure you get your parking tag. It felt like a home away from home. Down the street is a supermarket to get all your groceries, just beware they do charge you for plastic grocery bags. But Paniolo Greens leaves you a reusable shopping bag that you can use. If you drive out a little further about 10 mins away is another grocery store Foodland Farms (nicer than the one down the street from Paniolo) at The Shops at Mauna Lani. And the other nice thing is if you do the summit tour to Mauna Kea with Mauna Kea Summit Adventures one of the pick up points is at Paniolo Greens so it saves you from having to drive to a central pick up location. Which is nice because by the end of the tour it's nice just to be dropped off at your hotel and walk over to your room as opposed to driving. The hotel also had a small pool but we just went to the beach instead. Why go to a pool when Hawaii has so many beautiful beaches! The staff were all very nice and helpful and friendly. We loved our stay here and wished we could've stayed longer!

Room Tip: Get one that faces the golf course. Nice to have some privacy so when you're sitting out there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoohBearRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed at Paniolo Greens few times and absolutely love the place.
Nicely maintained. Staff is very helpful, units are clean and everything in the kitchen is fully functional. We like the units facing the golf course, although it can be very windy at night.
Good WiFi - they have improved it over the years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Once again, I have Travelocity to thank for referring a place to stay for me. I also checked out the reviews on TripAdvisor for this place before actually booking it.

We stayed 9 nights at the Greens and was actually very pleased with the place. They locked the other bathroom & bedroom since we only booked a 1bed & 1 bathroom. Each guest is assigned a numbered parking spot.

**The rooms were nicely furnished and decorated with plenty of space & closets.
**The perks are definitely the kitchen, dining room, and washer & dryer!
**You also get a flat screen tv in the living room and one in the bedroom.
** Had a King size bed which was super comfy! (not lumpy)
** Hot showers after being outside all day was nice (had lots of water pressure!)
The location is not far from Kailua-Kona and Waimea. We traveled around the whole island during our vacation and it wasn't too bad having this place as our "home-base".

NOTES
=================================
There is also a market (walking distance) if you need to pick up any grocery items. Please note that CoffeeMate is almost $9... when here in California, I can get it for $3.49. Bag of veggie chips was $5.99 (on sale)So that just tells you what the prices are like.

The closest gas station is the Chevron by the market. Don't go there if you don't have to!!! Gas was $4.71 for regular when we were there and we found gas that was $4.30-$4.50 heading towards Kailua-Kona and then $4.15/gallon in Hilo.

DOWNSIDES
====================================
It's not walking distance to any beach.
You'll see golfers through your back window/patio & turkeys early in the morning. (The baby turkeys are adorable though. )
Thin walls/ceilings (we could hear the people above us)
Fitness Center is small
***They also charged us $5 extra per day to use the air conditioning (they give you a key which turns it on) and a GE tax which was $0.21 per day. So overall we spent an additional $46.89 for the A/C.

CONCLUSION: Even with those few negatives, we had a wonderful stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just came back from staying at this lovely condo unit. Staff was very helpful and the condo's are clean, spacious and just what we expected. There is a market not far up the road with all you would need.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuler
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our first stay at Panioli Greens. We booked a single "villa" 6 months in advance and upon arrival were informed it wasn't available. We were offered a "den" suite (previous reviewer used that term" ) with 2 beds/2 baths upstairs and a tiny den with shower on main for an additional $25 per night. The front desk staff (Irene, very kind and helpful) indicated they could lock the door to the 2nd bedroom and we could have the unit at no additional charge.

Our unit 210 was in building K and we had a beautiful view facing the ocean. The unit had everything we needed...spacious master bedroom and dressing room, programable safe, lots of beach towels, pretty decent WiFi, but not good enough to FaceTime family back home. The decor is dated, but our condo was clean. We chose the "green" cleaning plan which gave us fresh towels daily and garbage removal and bedding changed once on our 8 night stay. Loved the washer and dryer in the unit. Salt/pepper, laundry soap, dishwasher soap, little shampoos and hand soaps, etc. were supplied. The kitchen had pretty much every pot or appliance (rice cooker too) we needed.

We didn't pay the extra charge for air conditioning. Because we had an upstairs bedroom we felt secure enough to leave the balcony doors open at night. The breeze never stops up in Waikaloa Village, so it was enough to keep us cool and we didn't see a single bug anywhere. The grounds and parking areas were kept pristine. We didn't use the pool or fitness areas, but were invited, via a phone message, to attend a welcome reception held on Monday nights. There are wild turkeys everywhere so don't expect to sleep in much after dawn as the toms and hens are early risers.

The furniture on our main floor lanai (2 chairs and small table) were dirty and not inviting to sit at. A quick wash down, knowing the unit was to be rented out, wouldn't have been too hard. The neighbour on our right had their balcony piled high with green airbags bags-the balcony on the left had a rotting kids cloth chair, mop and bucket and garbage left on it. We started wondering about our neighbours when we came back one afternoon to find a young fellow doing car repairs in the parking spot next to ours. Turns out many of the units are private homes. When Shell bought out the condos some people didn't sell to them so be forewarned, you can be assigned to a unit with young families or those who don't put much importance on keeping their own places tidy.

You will definitely require a car if you stay here unless you plan to take a 35 minute taxi from the airport and sit by the pool for your stay! Panioli Greens is about 8 miles to great beaches, Waimea is about 20 miles away, Saddle Road (currently half through upgrading) takes you over to Hilo in just over an hour. Waikaloa Village market is a large supermarket with deli and bakery, a 5 minute walk up the road. Prices are higher, but then everything seems to be more expensive on Hawaii. The shopping centre has a Subway and a Texmex fast food outlet. Stop in at Lava Java for excellent coffee and breakfasts on their outdoor patio. There is a gas station around the corner from the market, but gas up at Kailua Kona Costco for best price, but you need to be a member.

We would stay here again...$100 per night in February was reasonable compared to the much higher rates at the Waikaloa resorts off the highway on the coast side.

Room Tip: Upper unit probably won't need air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Paniolo Greens for several nights. The staff members were very helpful. The condo was nicely maintained (not a "villa" as in a separate building; a condo). It had a fully functional kitchen (no condiments or spices at all), lots of extra bath towels, beach towels, etc. We made good us of the nearby barbecue facilities. A well stocked grocery store is about 1/4 mile away along with other shops and a gas station. The short drive down to the coast was a snap.
It's a very windy place in February (not sure about the rest of the year).

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs unit on the golf course for amusing wild turkey viewing. We had D101. The low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnEastBayResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
4.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
5.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
23.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.0 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
5.9 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paniolo Greens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paniolo Greens Resort

Property: Paniolo Greens Resort
Address: 68-1745 Waikoloa Rd, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paniolo Greens Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Big Island’s captivating mountains as a backdrop, Paniolo Greens is a lush tropical retreat deep in the heart of Hawaii's Big Island. Settle in to spacious, fully furnished villas tastefully decorated in keeping with the area’s rich heritage. Relax in your own private lanai, enjoying the cool breezes and warm Hawaiian sun. Paniolo Greens is centrally located for day trips to the North Shore, Waipio Valley, Volcano National Park and the waterfalls on the windward coast. Tee off on one of ten world-class golf courses located just minutes away. And dining, shopping and entertainment are conveniently located. Paniolo Greens is the perfect place for romantic getaways, family vacations, reunions and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paniolo Greens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paniolo Greens Hotel Waikoloa
Paniolo Greens Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing