We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical timeshare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paniolo Greens Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A typical timeshare”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a typical RCI timeshare resort.

It’s literally in a desert about 20 minutes, do not expect any oceanview here.

There’s a pool, we didn’t use it.

Our room was nicely located and had a balcony facing the golf course where birds are signing early in the morning.

This is a bus stop for the Mauna Kea bus tours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    324
    80
    28
    22
See reviews for
294
285
21
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A week on the big island, staying here was amazing. I just adored the big pool every morning and the wonderful apartment. Really well looked after, with a fab view of the golf course. Yes ...we were a floor up ...my sis who booked it made sure of that...as reviews suggest patter of tiny feet may disturb.
Speedy check in, and I just loved the feel of home the accomodation brought us...missing it already.....ALOHA !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent a week at Paniolo Greens this fall. My wife and I had a really nice time there. It was well kept and central to a lot of things we wanted to do on the Island. The staff was very helpful and assisted us with plans and ideas.

Room Tip: We had lots of room, good organized activities and the place was well kept and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancekull01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We've stayed in Kona and in Waikoloa and for access to the island this can't be beat! Rooms are beautifully kept up and the staff is very attentive. This was a friends gathering, but would be great for families with children, too. Look out on the golf course and beyond and see turkeys, nene's and donkies!! Centrally located, so easy access to Hilo, Kona, the airport, really all points on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSHELLYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently booked a one night stay through Hotwire and found ourselves at Paniolo Greens. It worked out well for us. The staff at check-in was friendly and helpful. We followed suggestions on this site and asked for a upper room with a view to the coast. We were upgraded to meet our request. We found the condo very comfortable, clean, and well-equipped. We weren't able to take advantage of much of that in just the one night we were there but could see that it would be great for a longer stay.

Some things to know... the condo is uphill from the coast 6 miles. Not a bad drive though. There is not much going on in the immediate vicinity but we have a good pizza and salad at the Island Lava Java a walk away and the market there was very nice and would certainly meet the needs of anyone staying there.

One downside, while we asked for a condo in one of the front buildings for the view, it was quite noisy. We had windows open for the air and there was much road noise and lights from the neighboring streets. I would go for one of the back buildings next time. There also seems to be potential for extra fees - like air conditioning. So be sure to ask to avoid surprises.

Room Tip: Unless you really want a view to the coast, choose a back building for quiet. Upper floor recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here a week in September/October 2012. The location was great for us, as we put over 1200 miles on our rental car traveling all over the island and found this centrally located. The condo was clean and very comfortable. If it was stuffy when we returned all we had to do was open some windows/doors to get some cross ventilation. The wind helped with that. Staff was friendly and helpful. Mahalo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZenaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

While the accommodations and staff are quite nice, the wind whistling (sometimes roaring!) through the unit was unbelievable!! Four kids and two adults went in mid August and were quite comfortable in one of their 2 bedroom units. We did have a delay in check-in of about 2 hours, but the front desk gave us a pool key and we were able to hang out there and also go to the local grocery store for supplies while we waited. They have reasonable rates for their rental beach equipment and very nice rental staff. We had two incidents with the unit which were quickly resolved by the maintenance staff - 1) the microwave door latch broke & 2) the master bedroom curtain rod came out of the ceiling because of a huge gust of wind!! I'm not sure if our wind problem was due to the building we were in, but I don't think I'll be returning to this property on my next visit to The Big Island.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a unit in a building that is less susceptible to the wind noise, if that is poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
4.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
5.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
23.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
4.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.9 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paniolo Greens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paniolo Greens Resort

Property: Paniolo Greens Resort
Address: 68-1745 Waikoloa Rd, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paniolo Greens Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Big Island’s captivating mountains as a backdrop, Paniolo Greens is a lush tropical retreat deep in the heart of Hawaii's Big Island. Settle in to spacious, fully furnished villas tastefully decorated in keeping with the area’s rich heritage. Relax in your own private lanai, enjoying the cool breezes and warm Hawaiian sun. Paniolo Greens is centrally located for day trips to the North Shore, Waipio Valley, Volcano National Park and the waterfalls on the windward coast. Tee off on one of ten world-class golf courses located just minutes away. And dining, shopping and entertainment are conveniently located. Paniolo Greens is the perfect place for romantic getaways, family vacations, reunions and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Vacatia, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paniolo Greens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paniolo Greens Hotel Waikoloa
Paniolo Greens Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing