We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paniolo Greens Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Topanga, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and accomodations”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here a week in September/October 2012. The location was great for us, as we put over 1200 miles on our rental car traveling all over the island and found this centrally located. The condo was clean and very comfortable. If it was stuffy when we returned all we had to do was open some windows/doors to get some cross ventilation. The wind helped with that. Staff was friendly and helpful. Mahalo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZenaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    329
    82
    28
    22
See reviews for
302
288
21
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

While the accommodations and staff are quite nice, the wind whistling (sometimes roaring!) through the unit was unbelievable!! Four kids and two adults went in mid August and were quite comfortable in one of their 2 bedroom units. We did have a delay in check-in of about 2 hours, but the front desk gave us a pool key and we were able to hang out there and also go to the local grocery store for supplies while we waited. They have reasonable rates for their rental beach equipment and very nice rental staff. We had two incidents with the unit which were quickly resolved by the maintenance staff - 1) the microwave door latch broke & 2) the master bedroom curtain rod came out of the ceiling because of a huge gust of wind!! I'm not sure if our wind problem was due to the building we were in, but I don't think I'll be returning to this property on my next visit to The Big Island.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a unit in a building that is less susceptible to the wind noise, if that is poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The staff was very friendly and really made you feel welcome at check-in. The view of the golf course and the countryside was beautiful. We had everything we needed including all appliances and a very nice washer and dryer. The suite was very spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable, TV worked well, and the unit was decorated very tastefully. We totally enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimK3233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was not my first trip to the Islands, but I wanted my wife to see everything in her first visit. She wanted a first floor suite and the rooms were excellent. The wildlife around the doors (turkeys, and Nene) were fun to watch. The view was outstanding and central location to Hapuna State Beach, and Anaeho'omalu Bay a plus for fine sand beaches. A 96 mile trip south took us to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, and sights you will never forget from 4,000 feet above sea level. To top all this off we traveled over the top of the Island on route 19 all the way around to Hilo and saw two waterfalls in the rain forest. Tip: rent a car at the airport, and explore this vast sightseeing jewel from your quiet suite. Good food and night life is but a short hop from Paniolo Greens, down the road.

Room Tip: The cool down at sun set makes A/C unnecessary. Rooms on the first floor, expect the sound of little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitchell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise_GM, General Manager at Paniolo Greens Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Mahalo, Mitchell, for your excellent review of our wildlife, outstanding view, and central location. What a wonderful way to make your wife’s first visit to the island memorable and to encourage other travelers with your tips. Thank you again and aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Me and my family recently spent a weekend here, and I can honestly say that it was one of the most amazing experiences I've ever had. We had a two bedroom suite which was unbelievably comfortable, so comfortable that it was hard to leave. The suites are beautiful, simple decor done right, the staff couldn't have been anymore friendly, and the amenities were great. I was very pleased with my experience here. I loved the suites, the staff and all the amenities like the pool, spa, fitness center, grills, golf course etc. Having such luxuries and services as the ones provided by Paniolo Greens can be quite dangerous because you'll never want to leave. The suites are by my definition fully capable, meaning they are equipped with a full kitchen, dish washers, dishes/cookware, ice maker, washer/dryer and pretty much everything else you'd have at home. I'm a chef so the kitchen was a huge selling point for me, and I must say though small, the kitchen was great, and having a grocery store literally a minute away was awesome. I could go and on about my experience here, but that would take days. I don't know what else I could possibly say to express my respect, gratitude, and love that I have for this fine establishment. I was only here for three days, but those three days were some of the best I've ever had. This was my first stay here, but definitely not the last. PGR is now a staple in my life, and I can't wait till my next stay. I already miss waking up to the panoramic view of the Kohala montains with the sun rising beside it, and the sound of golf balls flying through the air and bacon frying in my kitchen lol. OK now I'm just rambling but take my word, you'll love it here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkuoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise_GM, General Manager at Paniolo Greens Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Ramble away with such an amazing review. Mahalo and we’ll look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My Ohana absolutely loved this getaway from Hilo. We had a wedding to attend at Waiki'i Ranch and didn't want to drive all the way back to Hilo so a friend suggested this place to us. I'm so glad I listened because the room was wonderful. At check in, an upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite was offered so I took it and was sooooooo happy I did. We were on the 2nd/3rd floors with a beautiful view from our bedroom and living room balconies. We woke up to views of the golf course, Haleakala in the background, and the Kohala mountains. We enjoyed breakfast on the lanai while watching the many golfers and turkeys cruise by us. The rooms, baths, and kitchen were fully furnished and included a washer/dryer. We opted for the Go Green special and was more than satisfied with the daily fresh towels and trash removal (daily housekeeping was not needed at all). We also learned that the grocery store, 5 minutes away, was stocked with everything we needed for our meals. Every staff member (front desk, security, housekeeping, groundskeeper) we dealt with were friendly, courteous and helpful. The pool and jacuzzi were wonderful and we plan to use it more on our next visit. We also noticed barbecue units available at every building and will definitely use that on our next visit. We are already in the process of planning our next stay for October 2012 and are excited for that adventure. Mahalo for a wonderful experience at Paniolo Greens!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise_GM, General Manager at Paniolo Greens Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Mahalo nui loa, Lori, for your excellent review! It is wonderful when one of our local neighbors are able to enjoy their stay as much as our timeshare owners. We’ll look forward to seeing you and your ohana again soon. A hui hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We traded our timeshare 8/24/12-8/31/12 and made the longggg flight from SW Florida. Funny how the jet lag really doesn't bother you on the way there. Only on the way back! The hotel was wonderful. We originally obtained a ground floor suite but noticed the pitter-patter of feet above us almost immediately. Experience taught me to go back to the office and beg for a second floor apartment (2 bedroom). No problemo. And it was wonderful. Balcony overlooking the golf course, two spacious bedrooms and baths, and comfortable furnishings throughout. The amenities were great: workout space by the pool and hot tub, ping pong and tennis, wild turkeys and birds galore outside our living room. Day trips were wonderful, no more than a few hours' drive to anywhere on the island. Went Kohala Ziplining, saw the gorgeous Akaka Falls, the Mauna Kau and Mauna Loa mountains, gorgeous snorkeling sites up and down the coast, the Volcano National Park, Hilo and its tropical flora and fauna. Snorkel Bob's is the BEST rental place! Bite Me is a great seafood restaurant. Costco in Kona is a great place for a cheap lunch!! Farmers' Markets are a great place for plants and food and entertainment.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the upper level unless you like to listen to pounding feet above you at all times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise_GM, General Manager at Paniolo Greens Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Mahalo for your excellent review. Your compliments and how Paniolo Greens’ central location makes day trips “wonderful!” will surely be beneficial to those who want to visit the Big Island and Paniolo Greens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
4.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
5.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
23.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.0 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
5.9 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paniolo Greens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paniolo Greens Resort

Property: Paniolo Greens Resort
Address: 68-1745 Waikoloa Rd, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paniolo Greens Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Big Island’s captivating mountains as a backdrop, Paniolo Greens is a lush tropical retreat deep in the heart of Hawaii's Big Island. Settle in to spacious, fully furnished villas tastefully decorated in keeping with the area’s rich heritage. Relax in your own private lanai, enjoying the cool breezes and warm Hawaiian sun. Paniolo Greens is centrally located for day trips to the North Shore, Waipio Valley, Volcano National Park and the waterfalls on the windward coast. Tee off on one of ten world-class golf courses located just minutes away. And dining, shopping and entertainment are conveniently located. Paniolo Greens is the perfect place for romantic getaways, family vacations, reunions and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paniolo Greens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paniolo Greens Hotel Waikoloa
Paniolo Greens Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing