We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a whale of an adventure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Sports Snorkel Adventure

Ocean Sports Snorkel Adventure
Book In Advance
Book Now
Certificate of Excellence
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It's a whale of an adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We went out on the morning tour when the whales were most active and the water the calmest. We saw many whales including a calf and mother. A continental breakfast is provided. We all were VERY surprised when two whales were under the boat and suddenly came up for air right next to us. No one expected that and no one had their cameras at the ready. They have a microphone which they lower as we drifted. What a symphony of sound!. They made the trip informative and fun. Don't forget to get your "Passport" signed. A signed passport provides discounts at many restaurants and on additional Ocean Sports tours. See their website wwwhawaiioceansports.com and click passport rewards for details. .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Marketing Consultant at Ocean Sports Snorkel Adventure, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your Ocean Sports Breakfast with the Whales Cruise. We're really happy you got to see (and hear) the Humpbacks! Sounds like you had quite the experience when the whales decided to do a little "people watching"...and thanks for the reminders about our Passport to Adventure Rewards Program We participate with more than 20 vendors on the Big Island, offering discounts on all kinds of merchandise, activities and meals.
We hope to see you both again soon on another adventure with Ocean Sports!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    14
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a Way to Spend a Wednesday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

From the moment we stepped onto A'Bay and took a look the Sea Smoke anchored out in the water, we knew we would be in for a lovely experience. We were not disappointed! On Dec. 18, while friends and family back home were digging out from another snow storm, we set out on a beautiful snorkeling trip with 20+ other adventurers and a crew of 3 or was it 4? young men. Fruit juice was served to us as we left the bay, and yogurt, pastries and soft drinks were available to anyone who needed more energy. After a beautiful trip south toward Kona and a briefing on the fish we would be seeing, plus snorkeling instruction for those who needed it, the anchor was set and we were given at least an hour to snorkel about the reef off of Kewaikiki. The water was clear and warm, and we spotted many fish that we had not seen anywhere else during our week on The Big Island. When we realized that we were the only two still in the water, my husband and I returned to the catamaran for our all we could possibly eat deli lunch with several types of meat, cheeses, sliced tomatoes, two salads, chips, salsa and, most importantly, all we could drink cocktails! We each had a couple of "pink parrots (or was it pirates?)" and three "blue whales", a new creation that day. Ahhh, were we blissfully happy or what? My husband had all of his unusual questions answered during a conversation with our captain, and we helped the bartender extend his creativity. The sun was warm, the breeze was velvety, and the views of the mountains from the sea were beautiful. It was simply a magical day!! Thanks, Ocean Sports!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Marketing Consultant at Ocean Sports Snorkel Adventure, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us and the Trip Advisor Community with such detailed (and may I say, poetic) feedback about your Snorkel Adventure with us.
We're very happy you could join us, and we're also very happy that you got to enjoy the beauty of the reef, the island and our legendary catamaran, Seasmoke.
Our crew also appreciated your input in the creation of our newest cocktail, the Blue Whale!
We hope to see you and your husband again on another cruise with us next time you're in our neighborhood!
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“A-Bay Snorkel Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I highly recommend this snorkeling excursion! The service was outstanding- Special thanks to Kane, Captain Jeff, and Ikaika for making my (sometimes grumpy) grandparents feel comfortable and ensuring their satisfaction with the trip. The snorkeling was really great, I saw a variety of fish, coral, and a Hawaiian Sea Turtle! The crew was very helpful with educating us on what we'd be seeing under the water as well. This was definitely worth the money and I'll be sure to use Ocean Sports again on my next trip to Waikoloa! :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErinKatie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Consultant at Ocean Sports Snorkel Adventure, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent Snorkel Cruise with us. We're really happy you (and your grandparents) enjoyed the trip, the marine life, and the crew. We'll pass on your kind words to Captain Jeff, Kane and Ikaika too!
We look forward to seeing you again on another adventure with us next time you're in the neighborhood!
Mahalo,
Hoku
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Trip When You Go Off-Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Many thanks to our catamaran crew Patrick, Ryan, Angelica, Kane! They were outstanding tour guides - very informative, friendly and attentive. After the snorkeling and time on the Black Sand Beach, Capt. Patrick took us for a beautiful sail along the coast. So peaceful without the sound of motors and good music on the radio. One thing that made the trip really nice was that we were only 18 people on a catamaran that is allowed to take up to 49. Imagining 49 people on that boat, I think it could rapidly become like being in a sardine can so you may want to schedule your trip during the less busy seasons.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank drf1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Consultant at Ocean Sports Snorkel Adventure, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha and thanks for taking the time to provide the Trip Advisor Community (and us) with feedback about your recent Ocean Sports Snorkel Adventure. We're really glad you had a good time...and we agree that Captain Pat, Angelica, Kane, and Ryan are great people!
Our legendary catamaran Seasmoke is a fun boat to sail upon when there's just 18 guests aboard...but we think you'd be surprised how spacious she is even when we host 49 people!
We hope to see you again next time you're on the Big Island (regardless of the season)!
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The crew was great, they told us all about what we would see, what to be careful of, and just added alot of fun in the day. If this is your first snorkel trip they will help get you comfortable so you can enjoy it.
We will be back every trip!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rsimon321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Consultant at Ocean Sports Snorkel Adventure, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experiences on the Ocean Sports Snorkel Cruise. We're really happy you enjoyed the cruise and the crew, and we hope you will be able to join us again next time you're on the Big Island!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Sports Snorkel Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Sports Snorkel Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing