We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, Great Beach, Thin Walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2011

The flight from Kauai landed at 10:00AM, we were at the hotel before 11:30PM, check-in was at 3:00PM and there was at least one convention going on. We weren't expecting much more than a place to put our luggage until check-in, but were pleasantly surprised with what we did receive. Beau was beyond helpful - said he had a room available, but that we should wait and he would put us in a better room. He also gave us pool pass, towel vouchers, and drink coupons.

When we got into our room it was on the north side of the north building - with a slight view of the ocean - better than expected - more view than many other "garden view" rooms I have experienced. The room was a good size, more to the point, the space was used well. The decor seemed like it was recently updated and the bed was very comfortable. The mini-fridge was nice to have. On the down side the bathroom was small and the walls seemed thin, we got to hear coughs, urination, and sex - not all from the same neighbor.

The pool is a great asset to this property, and its open 24hours (apparently this makes a pool view room not always a good thing). The waterslide was a lot of fun and would be great for most ages. It was never over-utilized. The infinity pool is warm and relaxing, to go along with at least 3 hot tubs. There is also a shallow sandy bottom kids pool.

The Beach is nice and there were plenty of lounge chairs. The outer reef protects the beach from any waves to speak of, and the water is a wonderful aqua marine color you don't see on the other hawaiian islands. Snorkeling turned out to be wonderful - our first attempt we didn't go out far enough, and there was not much visibility. Later in the day I went out further and just as visibility started to clear a turtle swam right in front of me, then fish, and more fish, and more turtles as I followed the reef.

The food and drinks are good but not great. Happyhour brings price back to a more "normal" level for food and drinks. The service is very good at the bar and out by the pool.

Sunsets were beautiful every night.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,939)
There are newer reviews for Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,084 - 2,090 of 2,939 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2011

We were guests for 7 days at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort. The entire visit was very pleasant in every respect. Great property for couples or for families. We will definitely return to this well placed location. The sea turtles and the whale watching were extras that made our trip very enjoyable. And the sunsets were Hawaiaan perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gapcmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

rooms are beautiful and the beds so comfortable! Bar was very sociable and a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights at the end of our Hawaiian vacation. It is a lovely resort. Our room decor was oriental with a different layout from most hotel rooms. You could lie in the comfortable, therapedic bed and look out the sliding glass doors. (Our room #206 actually had a small view of the ocean--quite an unexpected treat!) The dressing area was large with a refrigerator. The room was immaculate except for the dead roach I found the day we checked out. The public spaces are open to catch the breezes and view of the ocean. The pools were awesome; one had a waterfall. The sand beach was a treat considering some of the rocky ones we had encountered. We snorkeled and saw lots of fish and turtles. The $20 resort fee (which I hate) included beach towels, 1/2 day snorkeling gear and self parking. The food and drinks were extremely expensive--we only had a beer and pizza at the bar. We went out to the two shopping areas nearby for our other meals. We were disappointed the last night because we wanted a mai tai in a pineapple and the bar had run out of pineapple and bananas! Service was friendly and efficient, especially at the desk. There is a computer in the lobby where you can check in for your flight free of charge.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Once again, it was a pleasure to stay at the Waikoloa Marriott. We were last there two years ago, in the midst of the economic downturn, and it was noticeably busier this time, with only Garden / Mountain view rooms available at the time of booking five months ahead of our stay. It transpired that a major building company were having a conference there (600 guests) and this was to be followed by another (by an internationally recognised leisurewear company.) No real problem, the hotel is large and spacious enough to handle it and I must congratulate both the builders and the hotel .. we never felt crowded and enjoyed our stay very much. We went down for our obligatory peek at the Hilton and although i am sure it is very nice indeed, we were very happy with our choice, since we're not keen to travel by monorail or boat to our rooms!

We ate at the hotel once (buffet night, good value) and dined the remaining evenings at the nearby Merrimans Market Cafe (excellent - our favourite!)

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
Thank balmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

The best feature of this hotel was that it was nice, close to the beach ( right infront of the hotel), close to shopping, had a heated pool with jacuzzi and pool slides. There is a restaurant on the property which have different specials each night which was really nice, so we could have ate there every night if we wanted to and not feel restricted but, there are 2 shopping centers walking distance ( within a 1/4mile) or you could catch the shuttle. Golf course is just across the street. The grounds of this property is well kept and clean.
They do have a convention hall for meetings, and business office if you need to still communicate with work . Staff from valet, front desk, concierges, housekeeping and restaurants were very attentive and responded right away. Most memorable staff member was concieges Shirley who made sure we had reservations for restaurants and got us to where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattlesBest40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We took our daughter's family to Hawaii for Thanksgiving - a wonderful trip! Thanks Marriott for the service, hospitality and keeping the grandkids busy! Snorkeling in the bay was super with the tropical fish and turtles! Morning walks up the coastline, tranquil! What else can you ask for.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SierraGulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: $255 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing