We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but spectacular” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice but spectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

Quite a nice hotel. Half an hour's drive from the airport. Cool pools. Good and competent staff at the reception.
Clean beach and beautiful sunsets.
Nearby heliport. - Helicopter tours are very expensive but worth to see the entire island - beautiful waterfalls, volcanoes and lava fields from the air. Impressive.
The hotel also offers once or twice a week show dances with a local buffet. In my opinion, completely unnecessary expense.
Overall, I spent a couple of beautiful days there - shedding daily tours of the island

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JarekB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    1,110
    382
    132
    60
See reviews for
730
1,386
76
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

We checked in to this resort for our 30th anniversary and it was "paradise". We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to stay here. We are loyal Marriott Rewards members and we used our points to stay here. We were upgraded to an ocean-front room. The balcony had wonderful heavy wicker furniture to enjoy the view. Sunsets on the beach were amazing! The bed was extremely comfortable. It was a very quiet room and we could not hear anyone around us. The pools were fabulous and the service was excellent! There were specials at the restaurant every night and the food was delicious. Towels are provided for the beach, pool, or even if you are going to another beach on the island. You can just check them out and return them! No need to pack your own! Shopping is close by with the King's Shops and the Queen's Market. They have wonderful restaurants, grocery/markets, gift shops, high-end shopping (Tiffany"s, etc.), as well as a Food Court. All of these are within waling distance, but we had rented a car to be able to drive around the island. There is also a place at the King's Shops to rent bicycles and mopeds. The worst part of the experience here was having to leave!! I loved every minute of my time at the Waikoloa Beach Resort and Spa!! The staff was amazing!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paradise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

The location of this resort is a little out of the way, but they definetly make up for it in other details. Its about a 15 minute drive north of the Kona aiport or 25 minutes from Kona itself. There are shops and restuarants around the resort, but most are spendy and don't open for breakfast. Unless you want to spend $23 (USD) for a breakfast buffet, plan ahead or bring something to eat, otherwise plan to drive 10-20 to get a morning meal.
The hotel itself is open and airy, the staff were gracious and the room was great! We had a king size bed in a "garden view" room. It was the plushish and most comfortable I've ever slept in! Really! And talk about pillows, there were at least 5 pillows of various shapes and sizes for my husband and me each! Plus you could spot the ocean a little bit from the room too.
And the bathroom was set up great too. The sink and large countertop were set outside of the tub and toilet which were in their own space behind a door. The lighting was great and not only was the mirror large above the sink, but a full length mirror was also on the bathroom door. The towels were placed under the sink, so don't forget to grab one before you head in the shower.
The beach is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, but the landscaping and paths they have are beautiful to look at. The pool and hot tub are open 24 hours there too, so that was another great plus!
Overall it was a great place to stay and would definetly consider it again! Only downside was the location, which can quickly be forgetten once you arrive.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagottschalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed on 2 other islands and this one was by far the best. The beach is the best I have ever seen. You can drive everywhere easily. 2 hours to Volcanoes National Park, but what a beautiful drive. Be sure to get the breakfast included option. The breakfast is awesome. the other resort areas get lots of rain. No rain here, actually at this resort it is sunny 350 days a year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckrogerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

Shelly H. Michigan
Just returned from 5 wonderful days on the Big Island. I am a very picky and selective traveler. I researched for months reading reviews, magazines and online comments about the best places to stay in Hawaii before settling. I must say that The Waikoloa Marriott Beach Resort & Spa was an excellent choice. The grounds were immaculate and the resort very peaceful. The location was just perfect offering all the expected amenities and desires of a vacation experience including a private beach, beautiful pools, and direct across the street access to two shopping areas that included a mini Macy's, Louis Vutton, Coach, general store , several restaurants & etc...

Our king oceanview room was clean, updated and nicely appointed. The staff very friendly and provided the Aloha experience you would expect in Hawaii. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone but especially couples desiring rest & relaxation from the stress of city living. I did not mind the $20 resort fee that included self parking and internet access. Paradise is worth the premium especially when you expect it... I appreciated the fact that there were not many children at all. The facility is not as large as the Hilton down the road where most of the kids probably were but it is definitely large enough.
My husband and I were able to just relax and enjoy being in Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life...There is not much night life except for a great Luau, but that is not what I'm looking for on an Hawaiian Island.... I want peace, beauty, tranquility and the ability to just relax and enjoy God's creation...plus water activities, golf and eating. This resort area offered all of this and more.... I was torn btwn the Big Island and Maui, but after this trip I will definitely return to this hotel on the Big Island the best choice in the area by far......

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howardm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

I think about this hotel quite often. It was our honeymoon. We came here after just an ok experience at the sheraton maui. We were on our honeymoon so we splurged a lil more for the marriott on big island and we absolutely LOVED it! They upgraded us bc we were on our honeymoon and were just so welcoming. It was so peaceful and relaxing i wish i can return at this moment. The rooms are pretty and the beds were heaven. I cant even ask for more! i thought this place was perfect for a honeymoon and also the walk to the nearby shops wasnt bad either. the pool was awesome!!! the beach was small but with the awesome pools i didnt even go to the beach. i would totally recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mslinh210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

The hotel has several saltwater pools with water slide, nice beach access- you could see turtles swimming in the morning sun, friendly staff. Luau was fun, food was good, but not authentic like other luaus(Old Lahaina on Maui). Our room had an ocean view with king size bed and double sleeper sofa with fridge, coffee maker, double sinks in bathroom. The bathroom was very clean, but the room itself was dusty. As the air conditioning ran during the night, we all had a difficult time with allergies which is why I rated sleep quality lower. The location is perfect and within a short walk to both Kings shops and Queens shops with great restaurants and stores. Overall, the hotel was a great value for our family of 3.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getoutofAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing