We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$417
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$300
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$359
$329
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$327
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$442
$429
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
$373
$332
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,110)
Filter reviews
3,110 results
Traveler rating
1,246
1,221
427
147
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,246
1,221
427
147
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresort feeinfinity poolhawaii callsthe big islandocean viewcorner roomglass bottom boatfishhotel restaurantpools and hot tubsking's shopsopen hourscabana roomsea turtlesself parkingfood courtbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
2,677 - 2,682 of 3,110 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2005

Stayed at the Waikoloa Marriott for 5 nights with our one year old daughter. Facilities were very "baby friendly" including complemetary crib and toddler swimming area. Nice rooms (we has ocean view) with large veranda. Food was good...the resort fee is a very good value...snorkel gear, two free drinks, parking and broad band internet all included. Very nice beach with coral areas with lots of fish and turtles. Try Roy's and Chinese restaurant in the Kings shoping mall next door (easy walk from Mariott)

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JimKeith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2005

We stayed at the Waikaloa for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. The pools were amazing, the beach was within walking distance, the sunsets were beautiful, the sea turtles were everywhere, and the staff was very friendly. The hotel renovation wasn't a bother at all. In fact, we were never charged the $15 resort fee and we snorkeled everyday, drank our Mai Tais (you can get a Pina Colada or Lava Flow instead, just ask).

We recommend that if you go to Volcano Park, spend an extra $100 and stay the night so you can really see it. We left early Friday morning and drove north and stopped at all the waterfalls, caves, and had lunch in Hilo. Then we drove the Crater Rim Drive and found a B&B (Lokahi Lodge) in the town of Volcano. Thai Thai in Volcano had excellent Thai food! At sunset we drove to where the active lava is flowing into the ocean and stayed there 'til dark. We would have been too tired to drive all the way back to the Marriott - makes for a real long day. The next morning we hiked the smaller Kailua Crater and Thurston's Lava Tube (so cool), make sure you brink a flashlight and check out the second cave. The we drove back, stopped at black sand beach, and Kona for lunch. You HAVE TO GO to Aloha Angel Cafe. It was the best. The best snorkeling was at Kaihula and Hapuna Beach is great for swimming. All in all the Big Island is the most relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank FourP2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days in October and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our kids (6 and 8) loved the pool, the slide and the beach. My husband and I were able to relax at the poolside grill/bar while they swam and played. The marriott, in my opinion, is one of the best places on the Big Island to view the sunset - you can sit on the beach, the bar or most rooms and watch the sun slowly sink into the ocean.

The marriott is an older hotel currently undergoing a massive renovation but the construction was not disruptive at all. We were made aware of this when booking and the hotel was very clear on what areas would be under construction during our visit. Based on the condition of the newer rooms and the plans posted in the lobby, I think this hotel will be gorgeous when things are done.

We were given an upgrade to a cabana room when we checked in - the room was huge and included a refrigerator which was nice. The decor was ok, it was obvious the room was older (80's?), but the beds were comfy and we had a private lanai for which to view the sunsets. Room service was speedy, I would recommend ordering off the kids menu because the portions were exactly the same as the adult item (kids burger and fries were the exact same as the adult burger and fries but half the price). There is a coffee shop on site and a grill/bar by the pool for inexpensive/kid-friendly snacks and meals.

We ate breakfast at the nearby Kings Shops at the Big Island Steak House - it was very, very good - Moco Loco, pancakes, omeletes. Lunches were eaten by the pool and we traveled throughout the island for dinners. The hotel concierge was wonderful in getting us reservations to the Harbor Grill and Merrimans - she was very knowledgeable and had the clout to get us reservations at the last minute despite everything being sold out due to the iron man event going on.

Service was warm and gracious - I felt completely pampered - and I would return in a heartbeat, just not during Ironman week. I was disappointed with the behavior of some of the guests - a few were rude, condescending and disrespectful to the staff - for minor issues that we witnessed. (screaming at the waitstaff for adding ice to the water glass, creating a scene for not getting a room upgrade even though they were silver members, that sort of crap). Oh well, guess you will always run into a few idiots, even in paradise. The service we received, from check-in, concierge, cleaning, valet and check-out was all wonderful.


Red Sail sports docks their boats at the marriott beach and they did really good dives each morning with small groups and fun dive masters. There is a beach house at the entrance to the marriott beach with towels, sunscreen, boat rentals and snorkel equipment - it was very convenient. We only snorkeled one morning but saw quite a few fish. If you snorkel toward the stone pier (by the volleyball) you will most likely see sea turtles - I never realized how big they were. Lastly, The location acrss from the kings shops is perfect - it was nice to stroll there in the afternoon when it started to feel pretty hot. Quite a few nice shops and restaurants as well as local entertainment each evening at the center pavilion.

In all, a great, relaxing vacation for both the parents and the kids. We will return here.

Stayed: October 2005
11  Thank patswamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Scottsdale, Arizona
436
Reviewed October 21, 2005

We stayed at both the Hilton and the Marriott Waikoloa during the same week in September. The Marriott has a good location in Waikoloa - nice beach on the property and just a short walk to the Kings Shops. There was also a pleasant petroglyph walk on the property, but it you want to see petroglyphs there are a huge number on the trail just west of the Kings Shops (you have to walk a good distance from the start of the trail).

We had an oceanview room with nice mountain views and a small slice of ocean. The room was clean with a small fridge and coffeemaker, but was very downscale compared to our room at the Hilton. Our room included breakfast at the Marriott, and was the same price as the Hilton room (breakfast not included at the Hilton). The breakfast buffet was okay; really about the same as the Hilton buffet (which cost about $25). I did enjoy the koi pond and feeding the birds at breakfast...very bold little things, ate right out of my hand.

I also really resented the $15 daily charge, which was required for parking (we never drank our Mai Tais, which might have made it more palatable). I'd much rather pay $10/day for valet parking at the Hilton voluntarily than to be stuck with $15 for parking etc at the Marriott.

It really is nice to be able to walk to the Kings Shops. Merriman's Market Cafe is great (but not to be confused with Merriman's in Wailea which is fabulous) as is Roy's and there's a food court for the kids. Make sure you MISS the Big Island Steak House...awful food and dirty too. I wouldn't eat at the Marriott with the other choices so close.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hawaii
16
Reviewed October 19, 2005

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Had an ocean front room that was nicely kept and cleaned daily. Heavy curtains gave us the option to block the sunrise out in the morning or let the sun in.

Staff was very friendly and polite. They made us feel very welcomed and we were greeted by the front desk staff as well as the maids in the hallway. Room was cleaned very well each day.

Service at Nalu's is questionable. Some days they waitresses there were friendly and other days the service was very slow. But all in all a good experience.

There is a $15 resort fee that will be charged to you daily. It is not optional and basically what this gets you is parking, a free mai tai, 6 free hours of snorkel time and access to the business center... also a free child's meal if you are traveling with children. Like I said, this is not optional so be aware that you will face extra charges.

Overall a really nice hotel. Very relaxing hotel with a nice atmosphere. Not overly crowded and is nicely located near to the King shops across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews