We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights during a recent group business meeting. Overall the word acceptable comes to mind. Although full the common areas did not seem crowded at all. The servers were all very attentive and personable at the group events.

My reasons for a middle rating are: rooms, could have been any Marriott Stateside (and dated), buffet meals were so-so...certainly edible but not spectacular.

The wifi (and support) was completely unacceptable. Sporadic at best and even after spending over 1 hour on the phone with their tech support nothing came from it. Ironically, the next morning there was a planned wifi update that did not show any noticeable improvement. Oh well I guess you go to Hawaii NOT to work on your computer in your room. Bleah.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MASSWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie T, Executive Administrative Assistant at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. If you would like to discuss any of this further, please contact our Director of Events at 808-886-6789. We take all feedback seriously and are always looking for ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    1,111
    382
    133
    60
See reviews for
732
1,387
76
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Nice resort on the dry side of the island. Nearby attractions within walking distance are the King's and Queen's Shopping areas. Island Gourmet Market at Queen's is probably the best place to find hawaiian souveniers to bring back home. Everything on the property is relaxed and easy going. Definitely on island time. Look for friendly service and cheerful staff across the hotel, especially the coffee bar, whenever it's open. Party-wise, the bartenders provided for the corporate event were tolerant of and patient with the overly loud mainlanders who made up the majority of our group. Weak points included the age of the property and food food service which starts closing down 15 minutes before closing time and snatching your plate from under you even as you pick up the last bite. Room service ends at 10, so make sure to pick up something for your room at the little gift shop around the corner from check-in, closing at 11pm sharp).

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nat55nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Waikoloa Marriott in January 2014 for five nights. We found the room, bathroom, and lanai large enough for the two of us and all of our belongings (plus a dive bag). We were upgraded to a partial ocean view which was very nice.

All staff that we met were attentive, prompt, friendly. Upon arrival we noticed that the mini refrigerator was not cooling. Within 10 minutes it was replaced. Having the mini fridge is nice to be able to store beverages and fruit that we bought at the farmer's market.

Every morning we enjoyed walking along Anaeho'omalu Beach either heading north towards the Hilton or south taking in part of the Alu Kahakai National Historic Trail and pockets of small beaches.

We enjoyed the pools and hot tubs, especially the infinity pool (beautiful view from the pool looking out towards the coconut palm lined beach).

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whalesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel was just great. We had the best holiday!! The staff was fantastic and they had the best service. There were loads to do on the island. The welcome was really warm, and we will definitly recomend it to our friends and family. Hope to revisit this lovely place. The volcano was spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olgaprins_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Had a wonderful time. Stayed for 11 nights. Got a great deal with Travelocity for airfare/hotel for 2 ppl. Hotel was very nice, easy and beautiful beach access, with Ocean Sports available on site.

We asked for a King bed, and they booked us a double. Had to wait about 4nights until King bed opened up. Otherwise rooms were great.

Drinks and food are WAY too expensive, but that's what you get at resorts. $12-14 a drink, and I'm a picky drinker so my drinks were pricier than my husband's.

Room Tip: Call a week or two before you arrive and make sure they hold the bed request for you beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tylen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Had an awesome week stay here. Great location for sightseeing this end of the island. Had an oceanview room on top floor, lots of chairs poolside and at the beach. Very few umbrellas if you need shade, go early. Great location with Kings and Queens Market right behind hotel. Very clean, friendly staff, and yes, a resort fee of $25.00/day. Loved the luau as well. Only complaint was the noise of the elevators and we were at the opposite side of them. Most comfortable bed ever!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nips7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, ok
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed there Jan 25-Feb 1, 2014. It was our second stay--first one was August 2010. The resort was more crowded due to Winter vacationers, but the service was still good in every respect. Windy weather and threat of rain cause the Laua show with the fire dancers to be moved indoors, but they asked us to step outside later in the evening for the fire part. It was spectacular, and the roasted pig was very tasty (they had other dishes too). This resort has a beautiful beach on a quiet cove with plenty of palm trees for shade, and free use of lounge chaises. Water sports are available from a shop on the beach. We ate at the hotel restaurant and one at the bar--good quality no matter how busy. A lot of the wait staff are older, say 60's, and don't move too fast, but we didn't mind because the dining is outdoors and we reserved dinner at sunset. This is not a mega-resort, a bit quieter. If you're used to going to Maui, staying in Waialea, then it's proabaly too quiet for you.

Room Tip: ocean view nearly as good a view as "ocean front", at a huge savings. If you are planning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwhite101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
20.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing