We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Waikoloa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2008

This was a great hotel for our first trip to the big island... We ended up booking a cabana room, which is located in a smaller building closer to the ocean, but for the price you pay to stay in this building, its NOT worth it. If we ever went back, we would stay in a regular room in the main building- you really don't spend much time in the room anyway! Couple of notes- the rooms are great, they have been recently renovated, so no old and dated hawaiian prints here... Skip the hotel restaurant, unless you are in the mood for a breakfast buffet...which is expensive, but worth it since its all you can eat! The regular restaurant menu is really basic, and not very good- so head over to the Kings Shopping center for restaurants...Merrimans is really great- I highly recommend it... Also, Roys is always a good choice. The main pool was really great- the view of the beach was enough for us this trip- we didn't feel the need to hit the sand at all... even though it was highly accessible- and it's open all night, which is awesome- having late night beers out at the pool/hot tub was great fun!! Take a day trip to the volcano- you won't be disappointed! Also, if you've never been to one, hit up the Luau they have on property- its kinda fun!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank tammigop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,370 - 2,376 of 2,958 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at the Marriott Waikoloa for the 2nd half of our honeymoon. It is a solid choice. The hotel is located on the Kohala coast within walking distance of luxury shopping and several good restaurants (Roy's is a must try!). The hotel is about 30-40 minutes north of Kona airport. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and parking was a breeze. Self-parking is included in the $20 daily resort fee (which also includes internet access, snorkeling equipment, and 2 mai tais...a good deal compared to other resort fees that don't really get you anything), or you can valet for an additional fee. The rooms are a little on the small side but it was fine for just the two of us. The bathroom (shower and toilet area) was a bit cramped and dark. Otherwise, the rooms are very tastefully decorated and clean. The carpets in the hallways outside could have used a cleaning, but inside our room was fine. The bed was super-comfy and we are picky about that. We appreciated the mini-fridge and the bathrobes. We had a deluxe ocean view which was really outstanding. We were overlooking the pool area with the fish ponds and "A Bay" ahead. The pool area is out of this world!!! There are three pools, three hot tubs, and even a waterslide for the kids. It was never too crowded there or on the beach either, especially in the evenings. One slight negative was morning noise from the pool area...just kids having fun, but they started their fun a little early for our taste. Also, there was a little boat traffic in the bay...we had to get out of the way for them occasionally. There seemed to be only one restaurant on the hotel property. We had lunch there twice and both times were good but nothing extraordinary (recommend the flatbread pizzas and the mai tais.) All the staff that we encountered were very accomodating and pleasant. All in all, it was a great stay. If we return to Big Island, we'd probably choose to stay on the Hilo side, but otherwise, we would definitely stay at the Marriott Waikoloa again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TSprinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We stayed 14 nights in August 2008 in this hotel and we enjoyed very much the excellent location of this hotel. The beach is very nice, you will see turtles and manta rays when snorkeling not far from the shore line.
Service at the hotel is good and hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room, it was a cabana beside the main buildings, was located near to the beach and was big enough for us three. Cleanliness of the cabana was average.
Pool area was very clean and big enough. Breakfest buffet was nice and service there was fast and very friendly.
There was construction work near to our cabana, starting at 08.00 in the morning, on two days and there was no information from the hotel management in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Thosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Overall, my husband and I enjoyed this hotel. We stayed there for four nights during our honeymoon. Our stay included a free breakfast buffet, which was great. HOWEVER watch out for the dive bombing birds! By the fourth morning, we were sick of the birds. We had to keep swatting them away and many times we saw them get into food and also other guest plates.
The infinity pool was wonderful, as was the beach. One thing to note - the beach was normally very quiet and not crowded. However, there was one day during our stay where the beach was unusually packed. We found out later that one of the big cruise ships had an excursion to the marriot's beach and hence why the beach was so busy.
But all in all, we enjoyed our visit. It was a really nice place to stay for our honeymoon. Since there are so many nice hotels in hawaii, I am not sure if we would go back. I think we'd probably want to try another hotel first before going back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DLee1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We spent five days at this hotel with our thirteen year old granddaughter. When we arrived, we noticed the room was very warm and called maintenance. They told us they would work on it and we should go out to dinner and see how the temperature was when we returned. Three hours later, there was no change in the warmth in the room. At ten o'clock our room was finally changed. The manager was professional and cordial and we were changed to an equivalent accommodation. Although this was handled fairly well, we were disappointed in the attentiveness of the staff in general. Rooms were not cleaned until later in the day; restaurant staff attention at breakfast was erratic. The positives included lovely accommodations ( we used points but paid extra for the larger room), a beautiful outdoor negative edge pool, separate water slide pool and separate children's sandy bottom pool. Chaises were plentiful and cabana rentals were reasonable at fifty dollars per day based on our experiences with other facilities. The negatives included poor service at the 'only show in town' for breakfast and for dinner. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and service was horrendous because there was a convention being served on the beach that took priority over the guests in the restaurant. We waited one hour between our salads and entrees and although the restaurant manager admitted the convention was the reason for the delay, she did not do anything to correct the condition. I have to assume this happens with some frequency since this is a hotel that books many conventions. Although the pool area is lovely, the beach was not. I had read many reviews of A Bay beach and was anticipating a wonderful experience. To my surprise, the beach was strewn with seaweed and ocean debris. We basically stayed at the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JanePNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Let me start by saying overall, we had a very enjoyable trip to the Waikoloa Marriott Beach Resort. My wife and I left the kids behind and took a weeklong stay with just the two of us. Our arrival in to KOA Airport was interesting. The landscape was not what we expected, and the Hut style airport terminals were charming. We picked up our rental car and headed straight from the airport towards the the city of Kona to pickup some groceries before we headed to the resort. We were looking for Wal Mart, but after sitting in miserable Saturday afternoon traffic, we decided to run in to K Mart because that is what we came to first. Smart move, they had a modest selection of groceries and booze, but at reasonable prices. They also had good prices on souvenir items, beach items, anything you might need for a stay on the island. We then headed North towards the resort. The terrain on the drive up to the resort resembles some sort of weird martian landscape made from lava, but awesome in a way. About 35 minutes later we arrived at the resort. The entrance to the resort area is beautifully landscaped and exactly what you picture for Hawaii. We easily found the Marriott, and we parked the car in the circle drive where the Valet kept the keys while we checked in. We had to wait a few minutes to check in because one of the other guests had a problem with the pricing their travel agent had given for their stay(another reason I stay away from agents).
Once freed up the front desk staff was very warm and accomodating. They made us feel welcome from the git go. We were provided a complimentary ocean view upgrage because I was platinum using points for the stay. They also said that because I was platinum I had the choice to pay the $20 resort fee or just parking. I felt the resort fee was reasonable, as it includes self parking, internet, a one time coupon for 2 mai tais($20 value) , and 1/2 day snorkel rental for 2 every day. I felt having the internet was worthwhile, as we used it to look up things to do and to make dinner reservations. I have a sprint air card so theoretically I could have used that, but when I tried it the connection was slow. The hotel internet was faster than most hotels I stay at. Once checked in, we parked the car in the self parking lot a short distance away. Parking was not an issue the whole time we were there. The only issue we had with parking was that they had tons of parking in the valet lot that was always vacant.
The Room- The room was cozy. with king size bed, fridge, safe, tv. Nicely decorated and clean. Had a patio with a beautiful view of the grounds and you could see A' Bay. The temperature was comfortable, even though there was some direct sun in the evening. We did use the AC most of the time we were there, because it got a little toasty. The maid service was prompt, and they took care of the room well. They did nightly turn down service, but one night they got behind and came by at 9:30 which was a little invconvenient. The room was adequate size for 2 adulys, any more would have been cramped. We enjoyed sitting on the lanai each morning eating breakfast and drinking coffe.
The Resort Amenities- The grounds were beautifully maintained. The lobby area was beatiful, and often had a nice breeze blowing rthrough. There is a laundry room that is well maintained and clean, I recommend getting up early and starting a load to avoid the lines. The pools were awesome, clean and well maintained. The water was always cool and crisp. Enjoyed the jacuzzi a few times. There is even a water slide. The pool house staff were courteous and we never had trouble getting clean towels.
The restaurant and bar- Not really impressed with either. We ate a very overpriced resort meal of fresh Mahi which they way overcooker. The menu options for lunch and dinner were way too expensive for what you get. I have no problem with resort prices if they deliver product or food that is as high in quality as it is in price, but they did not deliver the quality food they should have for the price. The bar made good drinks, but they were pricey and there was limited and somewhat sporadic cocktail service poolside. Our solution to the meals and bar was this:
Breakfast- Brought cereal milk and fresh fruit from the grocery store. Bought some locally made pastrys from starbucks a few morning s before we realized the coffee shop at the hotel had very reasonable prices and some great pastries. The Macademia nut sticky buns and chocolate croissants were great. the Kona coffee they served was great. Breakfast cost the two of us $10-$12 as opposed to $28/pp. Lunch was a little trickier and frustrating. The second day we were there we drove to Waimea and had lunch in a neat hole in the wall coffee shop that served sandwiches and wraps. The wraps were great. If you are looking for traditional fast food at or near the resort you are limited There is a food court up the road that has Arbys, Subway, DQ, some fast food chinese and a place for burgers. Nothing in between. There is a small Grocery store up the road a few miles north in the Maune Lea resort that had a bunch of premade salads and sandwiches that I would try next time. Dinner we tried a variey of places. Merrimans near the resort was ok, pricey and they overcooked the fish again. Very frustrating to have 2 places in a row ruin the local fish. We ate in Kona at the Kona Brew pub twice. Very good pizza, service beer, about 40 minuts from the resort. Probably our second favorite place. The place that we really enjoyed the most was Ruths Chris in the Mauna Lea resort. The service was impeccable, so much that we requested the same waiter, Jon on our 2nd and last trip up. Jon was friendly, professional, and gave some great tips on places to visit, sites to see and even other places to eat. The first trip out my wife had filet and I had the fish special of grilled blue marlin. Go figure the steak place would know how to cook fish better than others. The value you get for your money at Ruths Chris is exceptional compared to what the resort and local restaurants near the resort provided.
We visited the Hilton while we were there, and the Marriott and Hilton are in two separate categories. The Marriott is simple luxury, and the Hilton is luxurious, disneylike and unique. Ienjoyed visiting, but was glad to return to the Marriott. The beach at the Marriott was beautiful, and the grounds overall were serene. We did not attend the luau, but it seemed pretty popular.

We got a chance to talk to many couples about their stays, and there were some common themes-
The food is way overpriced- people would rather eat cold meals in their rooms than pay the prices. There were limited low cost lunch items on the resort menu
The bar either needed to service the pool area better or set up a bar near the pool. People did not feel comfortable going through the restaurant in swimwear where people are fully dressed eating $28 breakfasts.
There are alot of kids at the resort, but the Hilton looks more fun for kids

Great propert, lots of fun. Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank jamlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

My wife and I spent seven very relaxing days here. We were very happy with our stay. Our rate was, at minimum, $50 to $100 less than other Waikoloa large hotel properties. We booked directly through Marriott online. The property is very well maintained. There is a very nice pool area (3 pools), and a nice beach just beyond the pools. These are both a close walk from your room.

We reserved a "garden view room," which was on the second floor, and it turned out to view not only an attractive garden, but also the pool area and the ocean! This appeared to be the situation with all the garden view rooms above the first floor. Our room had plenty of space for two (who spends their "Hawaii time" in the room, anyway?), a sitting balcony for two, was very clean, well maintained, and comfortable. The staff in all areas was very friendly, prompt, and accommodating.

Food in the restaurant is very good, but as with all other hotel restaurants in Waikoloa, it is pricey. For an economical breakfast at the hotel, visit the fruit / pastry / coffee bar just off the lobby area. The comparable food items cost less than in the restaurant. You can start the day off there for less than $10 a person. Take it back to the room, or eat in the adjacent open air lanai area with the great view.

In recent years, 2 very nice small shopping areas have been built within a 5 to 10 minute walking distance of the hotel. If your trying to keep spending within reason, one even has a food court containing a variety of fast food outlets.

If your not familiar with the Kona Coast, just be aware that the drive into Kailua-Kona for more restaurants, activity, & shopping could take up to 45 minutes due to road construction delays.

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank enso-circle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: $279 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing