We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a lot of bells and whistles, but a lovely place for a family visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We met here for a family reunion around Christmas 2013. The hotel was just right for us. Although it did not have the super high end appearance and amenities of some resorts, it served everyone's needs and allowed us to have a nice time relaxing and enjoying the big island. The pool is beautiful, with a water slide and a heated infinity pool. The pool did not seem crowded. There are kids here, but not as many as I have seen at other resorts. The sun is very intense and the pool experience would be improved with more umbrellas or canopies to provide some shade.

The lobby and the lanai are spacious and did not seem crowded even though the hotel was at capacity while we were here. The gym was crowded most mornings and early evenings. Generally there are enough machines, although there was often a wait for the elliptical machines.

The beach was pretty, with turtles coming up now and then. The shave-ice vendor was nice.

Food in the one on site restaurant was "ok." Specialty dinners were buffet style and very expensive and nothing special. Other local dining options are available. Make sure you rent a car. The coffee shop was open only for a few hours in the morning. Cheap take out options are available at the Queen's Marketplace, which is a short walk from the hotel.

The overall decor at the Marriott is nice. The hotel is not brand new or the latest designs, but nothing really to complain about. The guest room TVs were excellent--large screen and full HD picture. Wifi worked well enough, but was spotty on occasion.

This hotel would benefit from more planned activities like hula classes, lei-making, etc. The classes are offered, but they filled up quickly and were not available on most days.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 20,488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 2,996 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

Excellent location, enjoyed my pool view room. Wonderful king bed. One problem was the 24 hour access to the pool. There was a very load group of people one night (early hours of the morning). Security didn't move them on until guests started complaining. Great restaurants within walking distance, especially the atmosphere of the Lava Lava Club, where you can enjoy a great sunset. Don't need to go on a snorkeling tour. There were more fish swimming directly infront of the resort than on the snorkeling trip. You will need to hire a car if you wish to do your own exploring. Concierge were very helpful in organising trips for us especially Rebecca Frack from Expedia. The least helpful person here was the the Hertz Car Hire person, unfortunately I'm not sure of his name.

Room Tip: Be aware pool view rooms are great, but there might be some noise due to late night revellers. Perh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineS848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Not as keen on this stay as last year. No updates to hotel. Hawaii calls restaurant has limited menu, ate the Happy Hour pupu platter. Disappointment. Consisted of 5 onion rings, 3 chicken wings, and 2 pork and cheese quesadilla slices. Not worth $13.

Kid friendly. Pools and slide are nice.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoulderBayandSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Upon arrival this is a high end area of hotels and shops. There is a free shuttle to drive you around the immediate area.

The front desk staff was limited, slow and unhelpful. We requested and paid for a specifc range of rooms with ocean front pricing. We were given a room with a limited view of the ocean set way off the beach. We had a lovely view of the restaurant roof.

Upon complaining and seeing several choices of rooms we finally had to accept the best of what they had to offer. Luckily we had printed off their website the different color coded levels of rooms and ours was clearly not the level we booked. The front desk staff argued and even tried to say we were in a different room until we pulled out the property layout.

A manager was unavailable to help us until much later and eventually and adjusted the price to garden view after much discussion and investment of our time.

The property is large and nicely laid out. There are plenty of pools and whirlpools to choose from. The beach is large and mainly unused. There were salt ponds built around the volcanic rocks filled with a variety of native fish. There were many signs to identify the different species.

The luau was close to the pools and was loud. Prior to the luau we got to see them prepare the area for the pig to be buried in the ground for the evening dinner. We heard a conch shell horn but did not realize this was to alert people who wanted to go watch. We just happened upon it but got to see most of it. The two young men doing the hard labor were informative and interesting and answered all our questions. They even let the small children help do some of the digging with shovels.

The room was spacious, however, the decor was strange for an island feel. Crushed velvet is not what I would have anticipated. The cushions on the couch were uncomfortable and needed updating. The balcony was adequate but not huge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Spent a fabulous 6 day vacation on the Big Island with the Waikoloa Beach Marriott as our home base. The hotel is bright and airy with spacious lobby open to pool and ocean view, and convenient to an upscale shopping district with plenty of food options beyond the hotel restaurant which is quite pricey, though daily dinner specials make up for that somewhat. We found the service just fine, better than some of the comments I'm seeing. The internet connection was very problematic, sometimes ok but pretty much every day there was a problem that required spending several minutes on the phone with tech support to reboot and get you a connection. The hotel managers very quickly waived the daily resort fee ($25) as soon as we brought it to their attention, which was the right thing to do and softened the inconvenience somewhat. Only other annoyance to us (though apparently not to other guests according to staff) was that soundtrack in the lobby featured non-stop American Christmas carols throughout our stay. We love Christmas as much as anyone, but didn't come to Hawaii to have American pop music follow us. Ironically, before flying out we listened to a great soundtrack at the airport which featured Hawaiian Christmas music, a unique and pleasant sound. That would have made our Marriott stay much better. Overall though, we had a very good experience at the Marriott and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days. As a preface, we came here after 6 days at the Fairmont in Kohala. We were on our honeymoon and hoped to receive some kind of upgrade of some sort but tried to no avail. Staff overall at the resort was not particularly friendly or helpful. The bright spot at this resort is Chad and Peter at the pool bar; they are great guys and was the best service we had at the resort.

The beach here is subpar - there is a huge rock shelf not 20 yards out that will chew you up. Not the white sandy beach you find at Hapuna or the other beaches down Highway 19.

Service at the restaurant was not good and the food was expensive and mediocre. Save your money and go outside of the resort.

Given that this hotel is 200ish a night, you do get what you pay for, and that is the location. It is not the Fairmont or the Mauna Lani, but you are paying 1/3 of the cost.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cancunradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

As a frequent Marriott visitor, I had a few expectations for my stay in Hawaii. One was cleanliness and the hotel certainly met my expectations. Unfortunately, this was the only expectation that was met. I was here mixing business and pleasure and after 5 days, wireless internet is still not working (they continue to tell me that they are working on it). I printed a 5-page document in their business center and was charged $19.95 as their printer continued to jam and I was charged for the "up" time. The total charge remains on my bill even though management told me they would decrease it. Platinum status does not matter; one evening of my week-long reservation was booked with rewards points and they are requiring I move rooms for one night even though my other 5 evenings are booked at ocean view rates (very high!). I spent a total of 48 minutes being transferred and put on hold in order to be told this information by a "manager". And one tip about "ocean view"; it actually is not "ocean view"; it's partial ocean view as I can see a sliver of the ocean if I look hard. I am very sad to say that this has been the worst vacation stay; I have consistently chosen Marriott as Platinum status usually means something, but do not expect that here at the Waikoloa. Customer service is inconsistent and in many cases, non-existent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clarice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: $283 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing