We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Property, good location, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Property, good location, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Was caught between the courtyard more in town .vs. this resort Mariott and selected this to have a little more comfort (and a beach). Glad we did, its a great resort.

As many have said, everything is expensive in Hawaii it seems, but while we first balked at the 30$ breakfast buffet, we ended up getting a discount as elite members .. (and usually ate enough to skip lunch ;). Perhaps they have packages with breakfast included that give you even better pricing. Be prepared to pay a lot for food no matter where you go, when you have that in perspective, the hotel pricing is not that bad, and the food and service is great.

While we didn't try the spa, the hotel itself was nice. Rooms clean, nice pools, good beach, restaurant, a few shops, expedia travel group (helpful folks) in the lobby...

I considered giving 4 of 5 stars because for the last 4 days (despite opening tickets, and asking many times at the front) we were unable to connect on WiFi in the tower section. They did send someone once, and did try and fix it .. but it never worked and in the end we gave up and I was using my celular plan instead. Hope I don't get a huge bill now :) I realize that this was probably just a glitch (it worked fine the first week).. and in the end they didn't charge me the whole 'resort fee' that includes internet so it's cool ...more of a message to the staff that every little thing counts.

I would stay at the Marriott again, and I do recommend it. 1/2 hour from the airport, good central location to explore the south side of the island.

If I were to do it again, I would probably opt to stay a couple of days in Hilo instead of driving there and back from Kona. (they don't call it the big island for nothing). Even with the saddle road, if you go when the days are short, you miss out a good part of the day with the 2.5 hour (3.5 along the coast) drive each way.

Mahalo to the Staff at the Marriott

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower if going for ocean view, it's facing the ocean, while many of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natandjaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    1,109
    382
    132
    60
See reviews for
729
1,386
76
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

After deciding to come to the big island, we chose Waikoloa Beach Marriott to stay. What a great place. The location to Kailua-kona is a bit far; roughly 20 miles north of the town. First and fore most the staff here are all welcoming and friendly. They make you feel like it is ohana. The hotel has a wonderful pool set up, one infinity pool and two smaller pool with one having a beach setting and the other with a water slide. It is a short walk through the hotel grounds to the beach. The hotel does have a restaurant/bar but never ate their so I can not review that part. By the look of it is great looking and has plenty of seats. Marriott does have a coffee shop which has a good variety of drinks. A bit on the high side of price but the coffee they use makes up for it. The coffee shop is only open half day, make sure you get your caffeine fix before 12pm. The room we stayed in were very clean and spacious. They have a mini refrigerator and mini coffee maker in the rooms, beds are nice but the pillow are bit too soft for me. Bathrooms are in good and clean working order with ample amount of towels. The Lanai(balcony) is nice to sit relax, the view we had was over looking the pools. Once you open lanai door the A/C automatically turns off. There a two shopping areas next to the hotel; queen's market and kings shop, great option to eating at the hotel. If I were to come back to the big island i would most definitely stay here again. Mahalo Marriott.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pilot814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a vacation on the Big Island. Even though we have friends who live there, we preferred the privacy of a hotel. I researched several hotels along the Kohala Coast (within a short drive of my friend's home), and was surprised to hear the reviews of the Marriott. Others sounded equally intriguing, but we chose the Marriott, and were glad we did.
From the moment you arrive on property, you are greeted in true "aloha" spirit.
That spirit never goes away, and is evident on every level. From the guy who pushes the broom to the managers, everyone is friendly and helpful.
Some of the reviews I read mentioned that it isn't as nice as the Fairmont or Four Seasons. Not much is. However, for the price (and nothing is cheap in Hawaii), there is equal value.
There are daily buffet breakfasts and dinners, which are delicious. However, there is a market within walking distance that has precooked meals or groceries if you prefer to make your own meals. There are also nice restaurants within walking distance, but again, nothing's cheap in Hawaii. You won't find a fast food joint anywhere, so don't even bother looking.
It is not "on the beach", but is within walking distance, and the beach feels as if it is on property.
Once on the beach, you can walk undisturbed in either direction for miles, or take a nice run.
We went for an anniversary trip, and would go back in a heartbeat.
One final tip--they do have a shuttle from the airport, but rent a car. The shuttle is $50, and you are going to need the car while on the island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here as a 'mini-getaway' and we had a lovely experience. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and pleasant and I mean everyone! From the front desk staff, the concierge, the room attendants, the bar staff and the poolside waiters...all were so helpful and gracious. The rooms were clean and comfortable (with an ample quantity of pillows!) and the towels were fluffy and decent in size.

The restaurant seemed a bit overpriced, but what resort restaurant isn't? Many people seemed to enjoy the hotel's food, but we enjoyed the option of taking a short walk to the King's Shops (across the street) or Queen's Shops (about 5 minutes down the road) and found plenty of dining options that suited our palate.

Every morning we swam the reef, which was beautiful (it's a bit murky by the shoreline, but if you swim out a bit farther it gets much clearer as the ocean floor drops). Their infinity pool was lovely and refreshing and they have a slide that satisfies the kid in all of us. The pool area is large and spacious and provides a comfortable lounging area to enjoy a book or take a catnap.

I'm not one to typically write reviews, good or bad, but after having a terrible experience at The Royal Kona Resort (to sum up: resort prices with budget motel quality. Dingy rooms, uncomfortable pillows and bed, noise pollution until the wee hours of the morning and tiny, rough towels after a terrible night's sleep. We couldn't check out fast enough. The only upside was the location and being able to walk into town.) I felt compelled to write what a good experience should look like, which is exactly what we had at the Waikoloa Beach Marriot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank befitz812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I’m a very deep sleeper and generally don’t wake up at night, but I could not sleep even with earplugs because of the loud noise coming from both the large industrial fan adjacent to the Ka'ahumanu Wing and periodic screeching noise coming from the vent in the bathroom. I could not relax on the patio or even keep the sliding door open because of the loud humming noise from the industrial fan. The rest of the property seemed fine.

Only stay at this hotel if you are guaranteed a room in another part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the Ka'ahumanu Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank payitforward2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Currently staying at the Marriott property. This is a nice hotel, but really is a stretch to call it a resort. The rooms are all the same, and very small. The two bed rooms have just enough room for the beds, one sitting chair and the desk with the television on it. There is about 22" between the beds and the desk/television. We have a "pool view" which includes a glimpse of the ocean, but basically you are overlooking a huge roof. It is not a room that you would want to spend more than a couple of nights in. I would agree with other reviewers that the mattresses are back killers. Room has small frig that works well enough to keep drinks cool, but not food. No microwave in the room. The rooms have small balconies just large enough for two chairs and a small table.

The bathroom is very small with outdated regular bathtub shower.

The property does have very nice pools (unheated) and 3 Jacuzzi areas. The property does have a beach area (the Hilton does not) but the snorkeling is not good near the hotel because of the murky water. If you wanted to sit under canopies near the pool to avoid sitting in the sun
you have to RENT them, For this privilege you will pay $50 per day! I think that is really cheesy,,,,,,,

There are two nice shopping areas within walking distance and several decent restaurants. There is a shuttle available between the Marriott and Hilton and shopping areas and restaurants for $2.

Staff is very nice and grounds are clean and well kept.

If you stay here, just do not expect it to be a "resort".

Room Tip: The "ocean View" rooms are farther down the hallway than the "pool view" rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KimSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott 4 nights as part of a 15 days trips to Hawaii. This hotel was exactly what we were looking for.. located on the best stretch of sand in Waikoloa. We are budget travelers more interested in the location of a place than its amenities, we got a garden room in the west wing of the hotel with a view of the gardens and the lava fields behind it and we loved it. The bed was huge and very confortable and we enjoyed the lanai. We didn't try the food at the hotel since we used to buy fresh fruit and pastries at the local farmers markets for breakfast and have lunch out or on the beach. Grounds are spectacular, very well maintained but still unspoiled (it is aprotected area). The first day at the hotel we walked to the nearby Hilton and we spotted several turtles taking naps on the beach at the A bay area. The beach area at the Marriott is so much better than that of the Hilton, they barely have sand on that side. And on the south side there is the Lava Lava beach clus which we visited several times during our stay (see separate review) for drinks and dinner. Staff is very corteous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KikiJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing