We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott at Waikoloa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Highland, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Marriott at Waikoloa”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort for a weekend in mid June 2013. We had previously visited the Waikoloa area a few times, but had never stayed in any of the resorts there.
I felt somewhat isolated, but if you are looking for a destination resort this will fill the bill. The Marriott has a great pool area and beach and there many shopping and eating opportunities at the King’s Shops and the Queen’s Marketplace.

We had a great time there. The food at the resort was excellent and there were plenty of activities at the beach and park just South of Marriott’s beach. I especially enjoyed the fish ponds and springs between the resort and the beach.

The room was nice but it was bit small. I am not sure how long has had this property, but they did not have it renovated quite up to what I have come to expect from Marriott.

Overall we had great time and plan to come back on a future trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mckima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    1,135
    396
    138
    61
See reviews for
769
1,417
78
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Thank you to Mr. Salat and all those at the Waikoloa Marriott. The staff was amazing, friendly, accommodating, and just great!! Upon arrival I was hungry, the restaurant was closing so I went up and ordered room service which I must have read wrong or something from being 4 time zones off. What I got I did not like and by the next morning it had been taken off my bill. That is an example of just how much these folks want you to have a good time and enjoy yourself!!

Thank you all again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pico Rivera, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my first time to Hawaii and glad I stayed at the Marriott. The staff was amazing, great service from the bell hops to the waiter at poolside, Rey. Best poolside service I have ever had. He remembered our drink orders from the first day we checked in. The views are amazing. Our room was beach view and it was beautiful. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Made to order omelets, fresh fruit it was great. The lunch & dinner menu was also superb. Not far from the airport about 20 min drive. The luau was amazing worth the extra $$ I paid for the preferred seats. The resort is located in a secluded area off the main highway. It is definitely a family oriented hotel. I plan to return to the big Island and stay at the Marriott it was great. Can't rate the spa because I ended up cancelling my appointment. (had too many activities planned)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a great place to come to relax and recharge the batteries. The whole place has a laid back aura. The hotel is not too big so the pool area is never crowded. There's no getting up at 7am clambering for a sunbed like you do in Europe. There are plenty available. It's on the beach too...well separated by a small (interesting and unique) lava field and a couple of (again interesting and unique) ancient fishponds. As you enter you pear right down to the open ended non walled lobby and the pacific ocean beyond. There's a really nice relaxing area with sofas and comfy loungers with no loud music or requirement to buy drinks, just you, lava fires and views of the ocean. Downstairs is the Hawaii Calls restaurant and bar. Breakfast is very expensive and you'll easily burn $30 on just two cereals, coffee and OJ. Food seems decent at the restaurant but nothing to write home about.
The waiters/resses serve the pool area which is great when you're lying in the sun, having them bring you pina colada. It's happy hour 3-6!
Every member of staff (bar one breakfast waitress) was extremely friendly which is great for an 11 night stay.
The rooms are nice but a little dated. Tube (non flat screen) TVs with cable and older slightly chipped units. Bed was very comfy tho and plenty of pillows. Shower was a little weak. As we were on our honeymoon reception kindly upgraded us to an Ocean Front room (up from an Ocean View) and two glasses of champagne on them.
The views from the balcony were amazing especially the sunsets. Make sure you watch a sunset over the fishponds and palm trees...perfect.
5 mins walk and 10 mins walk respectively you have the Kings and Queens shops, where there are nice shops (some of them designer) a supermarket, and fancy restaurants that'll keep you going throughout your stay...Sansei's and Roy's are the best.
Good location (as long as you have a car) to explore the island. 30 mins to Kona. 45 to the ranches and Polulu Valley. 1hr to Waipio Valley, 2hrs to Hilo and 3 to the Volcanoes NP.
Tip: for superb secluded white sandy beaches, hit the beach turn left and follow the bay round for 10 minutes and you'll be totally on your own except for the many sea turtles at the shore.

Room Tip: Try to get an Ocean Front room. Warning some Ocean View rooms have only partial views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martl_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is located right near A Bay, a lovely beach on the Kohala coast, famous for its sunsets. Most rooms have a good view but remember that the pool facilities and fishpond stand between the hotel and the beach. Our room had a nice balcony that was a good place to sit in he afternoon. The hotel restaurant is also in a great spot, with friendly staff. The Kings and Queens marketplaces shopping centers are in walking distance as are several restaurants other than that, the Waikoloa area is a resort area on its own and a good twenty minute drive back to Kona. The hotel is a standard Marriott with decently sized and clean rooms and very comfy beds. There is no wifi in the rooms and everything is extra, parking, Internet access, even the shade around the pool. Why is it that the more expensive the hotel, the more you pay - hate the resort fee but it seems a standard thing at most of these establishments. Get a package if you can.

Room Tip: Upper floors are probably better...staff work around the pool at night and if your doors open, you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RipleyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time at Marriott in Hawaii and we were not disappointed. The hotel was open and fresh. We got a room upgrade with a fantastic view of the ocean. We can not say enough about the positive service received from all levels including valet, maids, front desk and hospitality. Rooms were nice and large with balcony. If you are also looking for the best luau on the island - try the one at Marriott Waikoloa. We would very highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoergensenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azusa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Let's just say they won me over from out first steps into the receptionist desk. We booked our trip through Costco Travel and felt we got a good deal. We knew we were going to have to pay the $25 a day resort fee per room. We booked two rooms so we knew we were going to pay another $250, we were happy that the fee included parking since we did have a rental, but it was a bit steep, but to our surprise the receptionist was very gracious seeing that we my husband and i were traveling with our three girls 17, 12, &9 that she waived the second rooms resort fee!!! Wow I couldn't believe it. From my experience and several hotels/resorts, they all nickel and dime you. Well this was not the case here. I was ecstatic and off to a great start. The resort is clean and beautiful. Great views lovely beach , but know that there are a lot of lava rocks in the shallow beach area highly recommend water shoes. And we were also told by the beach staff that there is an small ocean creature that has many spiky needles with poison, which would be equivalent to bee stings, so watch out.
The staff is amazing, great customer service, asked for extra towels and they were up immediately. We had buffet breakfast every morning, included in travel package, well worth it.
The only down side is that their wifi did not work in our rooms and was very weak in the lobby. We had no access around the pool area which was a really bummer since we brought our iPads to read. If they get this fixed which shouldn't be hard or expensive. This place would be perfect.

Room Tip: We got the ocean view room facing pool and it was perfect. No need to pay for ocean front, our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing