We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We came to Kona 2 days early for a "business" event and wanted to stay close to the Waikoloa area. We picked this hotel on the advice of our travel agency and the room rate was reasonable for this area. The staff was friendly and the check in process was a breeze. We didn't get a room with ocean view but it was clean and tidy. Though I must say the bathroom perhaps needed to be updated with newer faucets and decor as it is showing its age. This hotel is sitting right on the edge of the beach and what you get is an amazing view from the lobby. They have pools and outdoor facilities next to the ocean that are just wonderful for relaxation. Though the Marriott Waikoloa is located in a secluded area it is within walking distance to the nearby Queens Marketplace and Kings Shops where you can find nice gourmet restaurants and do some souvenir shopping at the same time. The only major complaint I have about this hotel is the lack of wifi in the room. To get wifi access you will need to be in the lobby and the coverage is spotty at best. They should include guest-room wifi as part of the $25.00 resort fee that they tag on your bill daily. BTW the resort fee includes onsite self-parking and free long-distance calls to anywhere in North America whether or not you use it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,734 - 1,740 of 3,025 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ocean views, historic fishing pond views, great infinity pool, three hot tubs, water slide for the kids, well appointed fitness center.

This hotel sits back from the ocean, the fishing ponds are between the hotel and the ocean. The hotel is well staffed and the staff is lovely. Very friendly and accommodating. The fishing ponds were built for the benefit of Hawaiian royalty and are still full of fish and eels. A number of signs describe the fish and how they are captured. We saw a variety of fish and eels, the eels are plentiful and amazing up close! Snorkeling is easy in the bay as it is protected from ocean currents. We saw several turtles. The glass bottom boat is highly recommended as well.
The King's highway is easy walking distance from the hotel. This historic trail was built over the lava flow by prisoners as well as native Hawaiians as a means to pay off taxes. The easy access makes it well worth your time. There are also some very nice petroglyphs by the King's Highway.
On property, there is a great trail that runs along the ocean, great for spotting whales, turtles and dolphins.
The pools are very nice and include a beautiful infinity pool, a kids pool with a sand beach, a separate waterside for kids, and three hot tubs. Staff circulate around the pool and offer food and beverage poolside.
Shops across the street offer dining options. Merriman's is good and the Queens shops offer some budget friendly options. There is a grocery store in the Queen's shops, easy walking distance even for short legs. Grocery store prices are not outrageous, much better than hotel pricing. Local supermarket is a drive up the hill.
HIGHLY recommend the helicopter tour of the volcano, best views and well worth the time and money.

Room Tip: Worthwhile to upgrade to oceanfront, we spent quite a bit of time on our balcony admiring the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoulderBayandSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Marriott Waikoloa is a nice resort for families. My 3 boys, ages 5, 9 & 13, had fun playing in the HEATED pool and 3 hot tubs. There is a slide that empties into a very cold pool but with the heated pool right across the pool deck that wasn't a problem. The resort sits on A-Bay so you also get a beach to hang out on. We saw several sea turtles sunning on the beach every day. There are plenty of chairs by the pool and on the beach. The food at the resort is okay. The breakfast buffet ($29 adult/$15 kids & 5 & under free) is tasty and plentiful except when busy the waffles aren't. We didn't do the dinner buffet but we saw plenty of people enjoying prime rib and crab legs one night. We drove into Kailua (Kona) a couple of times to eat at Kona Brewing Co. Excellent pizza, sandwiches and beer. We went to the Hilton to eat at the Kamuela Provision Co. one not and it was excellent. The fresh fish can't be beat anywhere on the island. We took a sailboat out of A-bay and saw whales. We helicoptered over the active volcano and saw red/orange magma in the crater and going into the ocean making Hawaii grow even bigger. Overall an awesome Hawaii island vacation with a real laid back feel.

Room Tip: We had two 6th floor rooms, garden/mountain view over the front door facing south. When we sat on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunandfunseakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Marriott may be the first to agree, but this is a property designed for people who want to stay and enjoy the resort. Location is not convenient for a business traveler; it's quite secluded. I stayed here because hotels in Kona were full. The room was very nice and comfortable. The fitness center has good equipment.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was here with the family and truly spent a relaxing quiet time. Their pool and outdoor facilities are amazing! the beach front is also one of the best I've seen. The rooms are a bit small but still well worth it. I recommend this to anyone looking to have a relaxing time at a nice location.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are well worth the $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UndrCvrTalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas having spent the week before at a Hilton Grand Vacation Club in the village. We were disappointed by the standard of the room and amenities compared to the Hilton and shocked by the lack of wifi in the rooms and poor wifi in the lobby. The Hilton was streets ahead of this Marriott. The pool area was a plus. As Marriott Gold members we expected better.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElenaHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We got our room for less than half the Garden/Mountain view rate by bidding on Priceline. We got a huge3rd floor room with a king bed facing the pool. Maybe we were there when the noisy crowd already left, but there was no rowdy late night pool noise as others on this site warned.
Easy walk to the Kings' Shops and Queens' Marketplace for shopping and dining. The property had a short walk to the beach and fish ponds. More shopping and dining can be found at the Hilton Waikoloa a quarter-mile walk away.
Loved and hated the seclusion. Loved it because it felt like a getaway from Kailua-Kona. But that made it a pain too when we needed to sightsee since the hotel was a 20-30 mile drive away from anything. But overall a great stay.
btw, remember to leave the cabinet door of the fridge open. with the door closed, the heat is not released and the fridge does not get cold.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, you might want to request any room except the ones facing east. The sun ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spdrmn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: $363 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing