We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th floor ocean view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level Contributor
204 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“4th floor ocean view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I wish there was a rating between average and very good. Opening the door you got a whiff of the bug spray. The door opened to the closet and the narrow entry made it a one person at a time ordeal. The entry hall was narrow and led past the bathroom to the bed. There was an even narrower area at the foot of the bed where the desk/dresser was. Our 4th floor ocean view room was 12' X 15'. The king bed was too close to the wall. The closeness made getting up from the low bed extremely difficult and you could easily get in a bind quickly. The bathroom was much more spacious. There was an older CRT non HD TV. Sometimes we got cable and sometimes not. There was no CNBC for market freaks like me. The 12' side of the room was the balcony. The sliding glass door and the remaining glass wall made it a beautiful view. The grounds are impeccable and the many pools made it stunning. When we decided on the full ocean view we didn't consider the walking that it was going to require. But it was still a delight. To have internet access in your room you need to have a device that will accept an Ethernet plug. Otherwise you need to be in the lobby area for the wireless. The business center is available for a fee. We used the self parking and the back door by the tennis courts was convenient. We were unimpressed with the luau. Paul at the concierge's office was good help. The housekeeping crew were fast. Towels were plentiful and good. During our 4 nights we had one bug on the pillow and another on the floor. Also a small lizard on the ice bucket. I wouldn't pick this hotel for a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    1,110
    382
    132
    60
See reviews for
730
1,386
76
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Well this is an upscale Marriott and with the daily room rate we expected no flaws.

They stand up to the reputation.

Room was not very big but good enough, it was clean, hotel is very well located, nice pools, restaurant and lobby.

We were surprised to had fruits and flowers in our room.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
992 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 762 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My partner got an amazing deal for this hotel, otherwise we wouldn't stay here. We are reluctant on splashing out on hotels when we can be spending the money on exploring the island and sampling good food. I was excited about staying here. The staff at check in were great especially Debbie, she was good fun. we were upgraded to an Ocean front room. The room is clean and the bed was so comfortable so we always had a good nights sleep. Location wise, I found that most hotels on the Kona side are a bit far from everything, so you do need a car. However within walking distance from the hotel, there is a few restaurants, and a supermarket. So you can easily stay around the hotel. I would stay here again, because the hotel is peaceful and the staff are great. You are also on the beach which is a bonus. The only thing I wasn't keen on were the cocktails served at the bar. But that is just a minor criticism.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a higher floor. Also tell them if you are celebrating anything for a complimen...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saintlysinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were using our Marriott Rewards for our Garden room on the 3rd floor for 3 nights. The 4th night we were upgraded to a Pool view on the 5th floor, due to a Tsunami warning. While the pool view room has a nicer view, we preferred the King bed to 2 doubles, which make the room somewhat crowded. So if you are paying, get a King bed with a pool view if you can afford it. Otherwise, the garden room is pleasant enough, but 2 beds make the rooms crowded. The beds are VERY comfortable.
The self parking isn't a very far walk, so unless you have mobility problems, don't pay for valet parking. The internet access in the rooms is not wireless, but requires a provided patch cable. This means you have to work at the desk, and cannot sit out on the balcony, in the comfortable chair, nor the bed to use the internet via wi-fi.
The pools are nice, and it wasn't very crowded this week, since Ironman was over. No problems in getting a chaise lounge around the pool this time of the year.
We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel, having bought various items that we could store in the refrigerator in our room. We did eat at Dave's, up the hill at Waikoloa, but were not terribly impressed with it. Dinner in the one restaurant at the hotel was satisfactory, but nothing special, although the onion soup was yummy. They have specials- 1/2 price entree's, $22 lobster, and $40 buffet's that help to keep the price down.
We went to the Charleys Thai restaurant in the Queen's Marketplace, which was excellent.
There isn't a lot for kids to do, unless they are happy with the pools, which makes it a delight for couples without children.

Room Tip: It is a long walk to many of the rooms, so if you have mobility problems, ask for a room close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Marriott Waikoloa was a great resort for exploring the west side of the Big Island. Our room was on the corner and one of the bigger rooms we've stayed in. Room was clean and never had any problems. Only had ethernet connection so we couldn't access the internet with our ipad but otherwise it was fine. Staff was fantastic, we were always greeted by name and with a smile. Everyone gave us great suggestions for activities to do around the island! The restaurant was average and a bit expensive, but we enjoyed having a late night drink and appetizer by the pool. We had breakfast included and we really enjoyed always having a huge relaxing breakfast after an early morning walk or swim. However, if it hadn't been included in our hotel package then I don't think we would have spent the money on the breakfast buffet. The pools were great and never crowded. Also enjoyed Ocean Sport's Aloha Fridays were you get unlimited rentals and glass bottom boat rides for $25. The snorkeling isn't fantastic since it gets pretty cloudy, but if you go in the morning its not horrible. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Marriott and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merideen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Quick 3 night trip for business and pleasure. Have stayed several years ago in the front large beachfront units...however this garden room was quite large and very comfortable. I would not pay the extra money to stay in the beachfront units again as these rooms were more than adequate.
Check in was quick and easy. Room was clean and well stocked. Bathroom a little dated (tub/shower area) butclean. Mini fridge was a nice addition.
Only problem was ice machine not working so we had to go up a floor...no big deal, but a few years back, same issue so they must struggle with keeping those things running.
Access to beach nice walk through the ponds, plenty of beach chairs (mind you, this visit was in October-less crowded).
There is a new beachside grill, Lava Lava to the left on the beach that is fantastic! Check it out! Marriott was fine, but pricey. We did not buy the package with the breakfast as there is a great little mart up the road that you can get anything you need....prices were not bad either. Very comparable to what I paid, if not cheaper than my shopping in Kona. We did have the buffet one morning and it was super!
Turtles always somewhere on the beach, especially just past the Lava Lava--one time we saw 9 basking in the sand. Beautiful!
You can now walk beach front to the Hilton. We were considering that for our next trip, but way too big! We will be back to the Marriott.
No wifi in room, ethernet, but worked, not happy being charged for it however.

Oh, and with a late flight, they allowed us to check out at 8pm! Check ahead. I know they do typically charge for it, but I think because we are Marriott members they may have waived? Either way, a great perk if they are not full.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKintheNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The friendly and helpful staff and beautiful manicured grounds brought this disappointing Marriott Resort up to the average rating. Room 6141 overlooks the pool and beach. Make sure you book an ocean view room or you may be overlooking parking lots and bare lava fields. The room also gives a great view of the Luau from the small balcony. The staff was helpful and friendly except the rude young man and young woman who worked at the beach water activities hut. I don't think they were Marriott employees. I"d especially point out "Gail" the hotel operator and the girls from Waimea who operated the pool towel hut for exceptional service and follow up. The bell staff was also very good as was "Beau" at the front desk. The room was very small. But, if you liked antiques, you'd love the period cathode ray tube television without high definition. The toilet paper in the small bathroom was what I'd expect from a primitive latrine in a National Forest not a relatively expensive Marriott Resort. So, bring your own or go down to the Kona Costco and buy a roll of decent paper. The beach was course and gritty sand, There are better public beaches nearby. You might try the small black sand beach at Mauna Lani. The breakfast buffet was good but expensive. Try the pineapple pancakes. Bottom line - I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher room have better views and less noise from the pool which is open 24 hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing