We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN OVERALL GOOD STAY BUT HOTEL SHOWS PREMATURE AGEING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“AN OVERALL GOOD STAY BUT HOTEL SHOWS PREMATURE AGEING”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I returned to this property based on a former pleasant stay 10 months ago.

Pros :
Polite, serrvice oriented staff
Beautiful location and grounds, resort style
Comfortable, clean and nicely decorated rooms with free wired internet access
Excellent beds.
Silent central A/C.
Nearby shopping centers with supermarket.

Cons :
Old fashioned low quality CRT TV set, NOT LED, no flat screen !
Very expensive MANDATORY daily resort fees at USD27 like in most Hawaii resorts
Hotel beach may not be the best of the island with coral and rocks but boasts beautiful sunsets.
The beautifulm carpet is stained here and there and wall papers are peeling off in some areas giving a feeling of poor cleanliness and unmaintained hotel which I assume is not the case.
This deterioration took place recently as it did not show up 10 months ago.
Demanding upscale guests may also not like the very middle class clientele on a package and families with noisy kids especially around the small but beautiful infinity pool.
In house restaurants are a little bit overpriced for what you get.
Some foreign housekeepers don’t speak understandable English and regularly leave long black hair in the bathroom.
Although it was not a problem, bathroom amenities and towels were never arranged the same way during our stay.

In this price range on this part of the island the only competitor is the neighboring Hilton but this huge resort looks more like a Seaquarium or a local Disneyland than a tranquil resort.

This is why I will return soon for a third stay before this Marriott needs some minor renovations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HOTELLMEMORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    1,118
    387
    135
    60
See reviews for
746
1,396
76
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I just returned from two weeks at the Marriott Waikoloa, September 2012 and we really enjoyed our stay. Here are a few key things we noticed about this hotel:

Pros:
-Great location on A-Bay Beach! Beautiful beach and wonderful sunsets. The Hawaiian fish ponds were also very neat and you can see eels up close without getting wet.

-Right next to King and Queen Shops: the two malls, so you have immediate access to coffee shops, restaurants, grocery store (island gourmet) and other shops. It was awesome to be so close and to have such good selection in a resort area.

-Simple and elegant hotel with nice rooms, beds and bathroom amenities. Always lots of beach towels and chairs available.

Cons:
-No real concierge at the hotel. What we thought was a concierge turned out to be a travel agency- Local Expedia Travel. They really just want to sell you excursions instead of being a concierge. My first time encountering such a set up at a major hotel and I was thoroughly dissappointed. It is ok to have a travel agent at the hotel, but don't pretend that it is a concierge.

-Cleaning of the hotel rooms was not the best. My impression is that they changed the towels and sheets, emptied the garbage and that is about it. I would typically expect better from a major hotel chain.

Despite the lack of concierge and not the best cleaning, we had a great time and would recommend this hotel. I hope the Marriot improves these two aspects to make people's stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The pool is open 24hrs so if you are concerned about noise, don't get one close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank catVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stay frequently with Mariott and loved this place. Our room was comfortable with a nice balcony and large bath. The pool area is gorgeous. There is an infinity pool, a kids pool with water slide, and a sand-bottom pool as well as several hot tubs. The walkway to the beach goes past tide pools and a fish pond. The beach is a sheltered bay with salt and pepper sand. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parishes654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

There a was a problem with the first room I was given at check-in, in terms of cleanliness. I was immediately assigned a different room, which was better, but not to the standards I expect. The linens were worn, the carpet was stained, and the bed was somewhat creaky. The rooms need updating, and more attention to detail. Housekeeping did not replenish the towels one day, yet it was immediately done when I notified them of the oversight. I did not turn on the TV once, but it was strange to see a CRT type TV. Each room has its own lanai.
The majority of the staff were friendly, polite and forthcoming.
The hotel is about 19 miles north of the airport, with 2 shopping centers within walking distance. Self parking ($18) is included in the resort fee. It was very easy finding a parking spot when I was there. The beach is very nice.
The Big Island is beautiful. However, I have been to much better, and cleaner Marriott hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SEETHEBEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was in Kona for a month staying at my kids house. My friend lives in Oahu, she came over and we stayed at the Hilton. A great place, definitely geared for families with the water accommodations. The food was good although a bit pricey. I wish there was a real beach, that was my only drawback. Would definitely go again, relaxing and easy to get around on the teams and boats.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ocean towers....birds were a bit noisy. If you are not a sound sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toodles57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon
Level Contributor
363 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

well manicured, nice amenities. Pool area very nice. Rooms good, housekeeping excellent. Every encounter w staff was positive and friendly. Food was very good, but like much on Hawaii very expensive. Walked the beach and saw seven turtles resting in lava rock outcropping. Somewhat isolated, but water activities we well represented. Golf nearby and kings and queens shops.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you want to stay in the Waikoloa area, with a nice snorkeling beach, beautiful pools, comfortable and clean rooms, in a casual atmosphere, at a reasonable cost, then the Waikoloa Beach Marriott is your place. We stayed there for 8 days with our 2 college age kids and had a great time. We had an ocean view room with a small lanai, and nice view of the beach and the pool area. The sunsets were amazing. We enjoyed the beach and pools. The cost was reasonable compared to many other hotels. The beds are good quality, but a little soft for my taste. Onsite food options are limited: one restaurant and a starbuck's type coffee area that has very limited hours. There are other restaurants in the two shopping centers in Waikoloa including Roy's Waikoloa and Macaroni Grill. Roy's was very good, but pricey. Macaroni Grill was average. Other dining recoomendations: Dave's Place and Coffee Shack in Waikoloa Village 6 miles up the hill from the Waikoloa resort has great breakfast and lunches at reasonable prices, in a very casual atmosphere where locals eat; Blue Dragon 15 minutes up the road was fun with good food and live dance music with a great local band, Lorenzo's Army; Sushi Rock in Hawi, 30 minutes at the northern tip of the island has excellent sushi, one of the best meals we had; Da Poke Shack in Kona has great fresh fish and rice for less than $10; and the Kona Brewing Co. has excellent beer and decent food, definitely worth the trip. For great snorkeling, drive 5 minutes up the road from the Marriott to the public beach access at the Mauna Lani Bay hotel for some great snorkeling. You can rent the the gear at Snorkel Bob's at Mauna Lani shopping center. It's a 3/4 mile walk from the parking area to the beach, and worth it. Beautiful coral reef, schools of fish, sea turtles and calm protected waters.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank patcheyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing