We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip, great cap and crew!”

Adventure X Boat Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dolphin swim and snorkels, Whale Watching, Night Manta snorkels! Located in Puako, Hawaii, minutes away from Waikoloa resorts. Looking for a fun and quality trip? Look no further than Adventure X Boat Tours.
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent trip, great cap and crew!”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

When we first went out on the whale-watching trip, we didn't see a peep of a whale. It looked like one of those unlucky days. But the cap and crew were optimistic and kept searching around -- eventually after the first hour we had gone very far from shore and caught up to some whales, then some more, then a competitive pod, a whale swam under the boat, a couple whales breached... it was awesome!

It's clear these guys are the first on the water for whale-watching and make it easier for the slower catamarans who leave later in the day (who just have to go to where these guys are to find whales). Since you're in a fast zodiac-type boat (much faster than the catamarans) you'll get to keep up with the whales. Also, the boat is safe and a pleasant ride -- not a worry at all.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    19
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Incredible Day, Great Way to See the Whales and the Coast”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

What can I say... Perfect. Off the beaten track so no crowds, lunchtime departure so an easy start to the day, great service and lots and lots of whales with excellent commentary.

Small vessel which means everyone has a great seat, Yummy snacks provided and overall the best thing we did on the Big Island.

Loved it. Please do it :)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MLH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable and memorable morning of whale watching”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We went out for a morning of whale watching with Captain Casey on his boat, which leaves from Puako. The concierge at our hotel recommended this particular company over the larger ones, because Captain Casey is local, has a smaller boat, and she said it would be a more intimate experience. She was right! Casey was very knowledgeable, he made us feel very safe, and it was a wonderful experience. We saw lots of whales, unfortunately, we did not have any come up really close to the boat, but overall, it was a beautiful morning we will not forget. The crew provides snacks and drinks, we ate a big breakfast first. Bring a towel and your camera!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jtreby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Whale watching”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had a wonderful whale watching trip with an extremely warm and friendly crew. We'll definitely use this company again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing whale watching experience!!!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

There is no way to describe the feeling of seeing humpback whales and AdventureXRafting is the best way to experience it!!!! The crew is fun and extremely knowledgeable, the boat was comfortable and the snack were yummy. Best of all they know where to go to look for whales.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank thwerner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure X Boat Tours also viewed

 
 

Been to Adventure X Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing