We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME time!! Sailing, Cocktails, Food, Sunsets, Whales...”

Ocean Sports Sunset Champagne Sail
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Saugerties, NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“AWESOME time!! Sailing, Cocktails, Food, Sunsets, Whales...”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We did this on our last evening in HI and we couldn't have chosen a better send off! We were staying at a rental house in the Kawaihae area so the shuttle pick up at the Ocean Sports store was just a few mins away. Very convenient. The Ocean Sports crew is SUPER accommodating. They make sure you have full drinks at all times (MAI TAI's anyone?) and they don't skimp on the booze. They put out a nice spread of food which was actually delicious (the garlic mashed potatoes were particularily good!), they tell you to relax, take off your shoes if you want, and they just make darn sure you're 'happy'. All the crew was great, but Ryan stands out since he was the bartender (ha!) on TWO of our excursions (Black Sand Snorkel was also excellent!). The sunset was beautiful and it was a memorable evening. We actually chose to do THIS instead of a Luau as part of our 16 day trip and we made the right decision! We also appreciated that the catamaran wasn't overcrowded; we had plenty of space to sit and move about. Thanks OS!! P/S: We tipped well, these guys deserve it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank UpstateNYGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super time”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great crew - couldn't do enough for you. Food was actually great - didn't expect a lot from a buffet on a catamaran on the ocean but it was delicious! Thanks for a great time!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank keresssler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“10am Whale Watch was AMAZING...”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Highly recommend this company for any tour. Very professional and fun. I went on the 10am Whale Watch tour (guaranteed to you see whales or go go again) out of Kawaihae Harbor. They offer shuttles from the resorts or you can drive yourself. I recommend driving yourself. The trip is 2hours and they offer a snack and drinks. the cost was 97 but they offer a local discount with resident ID of 20% percent so don't forget if you're kama'aina. We a saw over 18 whales and 8 full breaches. We saw momma and baby whale together and they followed us for at least 30 minutes. it was amazing. all you need is a camera and some money for a tip at the end. great crew. Aloha.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SourD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really fun and a great meal”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

They pick out up, which is recommended cause there is a an open bar on the boat. Our cruise was pretty windy but fun to get out on the water . Many folks on e boat are repeats on every trip. We will definitely do this again. Saw some whales breaching and the crew of young men do a fine job.

Helpful?
Thank Piper0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable and picturesque evening sail”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We were picked up at the Waikola Village Resort and quickly delivered to dock. This meant no driving for anyone in our party, so all could relax and enjoy the evening. The crew was very entertaining and helpful throughout the evening. The meal was average fair but very tasty. The sunsets and views are amazing. We would definitely do it again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Sports Sunset Champagne Sail also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Sports Sunset Champagne Sail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing