We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”
Review of Banjy's Paradise Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Banjy's Paradise Bar & Grill
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family Fun restaurant and Bar nestled at the foothills of Mauna Kea and tropically edged to beautiful Waikoloa Village Golf Course with spectacular views! Open 7 Days a week 11am-11pm. Happy Hour 7Daya A Weeks 4pm to 7pm with Thirsty Thursdays All Day and Hump Day Wednesdays 9pm - 11pm. Banjys is so good they built a village around them!
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Poor and inattentive service. Barely a greeting. We were going to order food, but because the drink service was so poor. We paid and left. Watched server behind the bar struggle to take care of other guests while it appeared a manager and other employee sat at the bar. Had the bartender been friendly, attentive, perky or even asked us where we were from...we would have stayed and had lunch. We will not return to Banjy's on our next visit to the big island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jws1957, Owner at Banjy's Paradise Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Aloha,

Please accept our apologies on not meeting your dining expectations. We truly want to make it a fun and a relaxed atmosphere with exceptional service for you! Recent changes have been made and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity.

Mahalo, Jim and Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    49
    25
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad Attitude! Poor Service!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We know you make money off tourists... But you will not make money off us again... We will not be back.... Asked for a pitcher of beer and told you don't do pitchers... And sit down to order.... Pitcher was brought to the table.... And charged $25. Rude to other guests who wanted to put tables together.
NOT a pleasant expirence !!!

Sorry I cannot rate your food very high as we would not order any!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tablover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great choice for our family”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our dinner a few days before Christmas at Banjy's...needed someplace relaxing and fair priced. The sports bar atmosphere on a golf course was great and it was good to go somewhere other than the beaches of Hawaii. Our meals were delicious and generous.. the fish tacos were especially delicious. Our waitress Jory was really friendly and told us about the history of the area and made some good recommendations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelwith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice but not so special.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went to Banjy's our first late afternoon in Waikoloa Village to have a couple of tropical drinks and a bite to eat. The drinks were OK - we were too early for "Happy Hour" and the food was forgettable. I think it was some sort of fried fish, but I honestly don't remember. The best part was one of locals struck up a conversation with us and eventually sat down and told us a lot about his life before he arrived in Hawaii and his life in the Big Island now. Fascinating. Made it worth our while.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ysp-ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and beer!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Close to Paniolo Greens where we stayed, owner was exceptionally friendly! The prices were fair and the food was good. The beer was excellent! Mostly a bar for the locals, but an eating area available for families. They have live music many nights. Hit happy hour for sure!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank b21nck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banjy's Paradise Bar & Grill also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing