We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spectacular tour with Shane!”

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters - Waikoloa
Ranked #1 of 16 Tours in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A spectacular tour with Shane!”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We took the Blue Hawaiian "spectacular tour" around the Big Island. It left from Waikoloa and covered a large part of the island. There was a brief re-fueling/bathroom stop in Hilo. The name of the tour doesn't even come close to describing the experience! Shane was our pilot and did an outstanding job of showing us the sights and educating us about Hawaii. We've taken many helicopter trips, and this was by far and away the best ever...right down to Shane's choice of music over the headsets. He ensured we saw the "important stuff" by making several passes over Pu'u O'o, the active crater we visited. The tour isn't inexpensive, but it was worth every penny.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    965
    82
    30
    16
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awesome”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I took the Big Island Spectacular tour that left at 12:15. I am an airline captain for a major airline based in Chicago. The ground support staff was friendly and attentive. Safety seemed to be a very high priority. The helicopter pilot was very friendly and informative. The aircraft was clean and well kept with the latest radio and safety equipment. The our itself was very exciting and professionally conducted. It was by far one of the highlights of my vacation here on the big island! Thanks for the great hospitality!! Nice Job!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best helicopter”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Our pilot Dave was fantastic. Navy Coast Guard trained provided an excellent safe trip. He was very attentive to everyone's needs. He showed us great sights ...lava , waterfalls, and awesome scenery. Great background music selections were added to our ride. Ask for Dave and have a great trip . It is worth the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank neuhoffk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, VT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ride of a lifetime!”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

One of the most expensive trips on the Big Island, but well worth the money and 2 hours of time. Noah was an excellent pilot, the views of volcanic flow, rainbows flying through clouds, and flying near to cliffside water falls - totally magnificent! It's a shame they charge an additional $25 for the DVD of your flight (could leave "a bad taste in your mouth" for the experience).

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank msscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We took the Big Island Spectacular on the Eco Star Helicopter and it was worth every cent!This tour was without question the highlight of our vacation. You get to experience the beauty of the island in the most captivating way - from the air. Seeing the Kilauea volcano with lava flowing into the ocean was amazing. Flying deep into the valleys of the Kohala Mountains with beautiful waterfalls cascading thousands of feet is the most captivating experience you can ever imagine! We will never forget it!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hawaiian Helicopters - Waikoloa also viewed

 

Been to Blue Hawaiian Helicopters - Waikoloa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing