We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews Misleading”
Review of Anaehoomalu

Anaehoomalu
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.94*
and up
Glass-Bottom Boat Cruise from Waikoloa
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
“Reviews Misleading”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I think that some of the reviewers are getting this beach confused with others. This beach that is located by the Kings and Queens Marketplace is alright, but there are many more beaches worth your time. The sand here is more coarse than other locations and it can get busy from resort guests. Many other beaches on this island that are worth your time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsNeher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    199
    90
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, California
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A-Bay Beach Truly One of the Best”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

For most people visiting the Big Island and choose the condos and hotels in Waikaloa, the A-Beach is a walk. The crescent moon shape of the bay makes this fairly shallow-beach quite habitable for a lot of people. Our very first night we walked to the beach as the sun was about to set, and the pictures of both the beach and the sun setting were spectacular, complete with one turtle onshore, in the waves. If you get there early enough (lots of parking) you could get use of some lounge chairs. Otherwise, towel on sand and all is good. There is a (sort of) sand volleyball court, but the small lava stones hurt. There is indeed an area dedicated to turtles and there is a very good shack, where you can rent water equipment and get food and drinks. Oh, the vistas from the beach are truly incredible. You can easily get lost in the endless blues of the sky and water.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank man-knee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Snorkeling, Suntanning and Whale Watching”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This beach is located adjacent to the Wiakoloa Village Beach and was recommended for snorkeling. Unfortunately when we tried snorkeling we found that there were to many waves, which was making the water turbid, so we were not able to see the reef and fish. But we were fortunate to come in December at the beginning of whale season and got a great show from the beach. Whales jumping out of the water were about a mile off shore and great to watch. Since the snorkeling conditions weren't great we decided to just lie on the beach and soak up the sun. There is plenty of beach for that also. While we didn’t take advantage of it there is plenty of shopping nearby also at the Kings’ and Queens’ shops.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank FHLEnterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Really?”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I don't understand what the great reviews are for. There is a rental place for stand up paddle boards, kayaks (no windsurfing or kitesurfing gear though) but the water is green. Tons of beautiful beaches along that coast so let's just say this one won't be on my list again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Between the reviews on here and the description in my guide book, I expected more of "one of the island's best beaches." The shoreline is a bit rocky in parts, and the beach was very crowded with tourists and lots of kids. Not a peaceful, tranquil location. I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to visit this beach.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BN712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anaehoomalu also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Puako, Kohala Coast
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Anaehoomalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing