We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky but beautiful”
Review of Anaehoomalu

Anaehoomalu
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.94*
and up
Glass-Bottom Boat Cruise from Waikoloa
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
fort worth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Rocky but beautiful”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

You can often see sea turtles resting in the sand or swimming along this bay. Ocean Sports is located here for easy, no drive tours. This is a good area for whale watching. Sand is a slt and pepper color with a grainy texture. There re lots of tide pools with urchins and fish to see . I advise water shoes to this beach. The kings mullet ponds were pretty neat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank slev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    190
    86
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the best beach...”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We rented a condo at the Kolea complex in Waikoloa Beach resort. We had a five minute walk to A-Bay, but preferred to drive to Hapuna Beach or Mauna Kea. The shore is rockier than the other beaches, and the view is obscured by tour boats coming and going. We did enjoy the shave ice on the beach and if it had been less windy, we would have rented a stand up paddle board. We also enjoyed the walk to Lava Lava and watching the sunset.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vicandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“its ok”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A bay as the locals call it is close to the marriot property the water was is murky and can be really rocky in spots. we much prefer hapuna or kaekea kai beach

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dvziola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great close beach”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A-Bay as most call it has received a lovely facelift w improved showers, restrooms, beach area cleaned up and the Lava Lava Club right next door! SO convenient!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank klb208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A-BAY as the locals call it - MUST DO!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lovely beach! We walked a short trail (half mile tops?) from the Marriott to the Hilton right along the waters edge and through the lava. Partial shade - felt like a mini adventure and the whales were out!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelToSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anaehoomalu also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Puako, Kohala Coast
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Anaehoomalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing